We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-So Golden” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Sea Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Sea Hotel & Casino
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So-So Golden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

This hotel was hard to find by the tuk tuk driver. He actually showed us the entire city before getting there and he did not ask for more money. I felt bad for him so I gave him a few dollars more. It was a decent hotel, next to the beach but it takes a 200m walk instead of 10m like it was mentionned in Hotel.com website. The room was adequate with a small fridge and safety box.

The western breakfast at the hotel is not great but the khmer food was quite acceptable except the soup which tasted like water.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
8
18
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Sihanoukville. We read all of the reviews on this area and were slightly nervous about our decision to stay here. Unfortunately we were proved right. The area we chose was Victory Hill which is miles away from anything and you are totally reliant on the tuc tuc drivers with their thuggish attitude which we encountered as soon as we got off the bus. We chose the Golden Sea Hotel and on arrival the bricks and mortar looked fine; that is where it started and finished. We had ordered a room with a balcony and were told by the junior management that they had no balconies. We were offered an up-grade with a view from the window of a red tiled roof of the restaurant. After much arguing we were told we could have a room with a balcony but it would cost us extra and as I had pointed out previously we had ordered a room with a balcony. The sheer argumentative attitude of these managers was unbelievable. We finally decided on a room for a few days until we could obtain a balcony on the 8th floor. The room, or all of the rooms, had bars at the windows making you feel trapped in for which I aptly named it Colditz. The hotel rooms and the housekeeping were fine but the English language was a big problem and this was portrayed at the pool area when the boy was asked for 2 beers. He had no comprehension of what we asked for and went to get assistance from one of his colleagues. I have travelled the world and this is the only hotel I have ever been in which I hated so much, together with Sihanoukville where not only did I get food poisoning but I was robbed of my bag by motor bike snatch boys. I would like to tell all self-respecting people not to go to Sihanoukville and one may say that I am a moaning minny, but in my defence we met so many people who also had had a wholly distasteful experience of Sihanoukville. Unfortunately it was Chinese New Year and I couldn’t get a hotel easily in Phnom Penh after staying for 5 days in this hotel. As soon as we could get out we did so and would have welcomed getting out on an ox and cart! The food in this hotel was a joke. At breakfast they had one cereal bowl of cornflakes which was topped up at intervals; the same size bowl for yoghurt; cup cakes were cut in half and you could have broken your teeth on the fresh bread. At breakfast time there were plenty of staff but not one had any idea of what they were supposed to be doing.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone nor Sihanoukville as an area to visit. It is the most unpleasant place I have ever been and will never, ever return. We are in our late 50s/early 60s globe trotting flash packers and would suggest people likewise have an extended stay somewhere else - definitely not here!

Room Tip: Stay in Phnom Penh!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellers5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanthy C, General Manager at Golden Sea Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear our valued guest,

Thank you so much for your comment. We are sorry that you spent five days without a pleasant stay in our hotel. Because our rooms were fully booked during that Chinese New Year so it was difficult to accommodate as per your request the room with balcony but we’ve never ever asked for extra charge as per your mentioned. We agree our room had bars at the window but it’s only for protection not the Colditz. Anyway we had a proposal to change it to our owner already and we also provided the English training for our staff that poor in English. The breakfast was before but now we changed everything to cater for western traveler. We’re afraid that you got the food poisoning from the meal you had somewhere in town. We got the food safety inspection from ministry of health with certificate as well. Victory beach is a nice little beach only a few hundred meters long but you can find variety of beachside services. You have our free transportation; it’s far from the busiest beaches Ochheuteal and Serendipity (15mn) but not far from everything. It’s a good location to reach other nice quiet beaches like Hawaii beach and Independence beach. Furthermore it’s a place where you can easily get a boat trip to Island for snorkeling, fishing, mangrove and rainforest walk along white beach. For the case you were robbed your bag we believe that it’s not only happen in Cambodia but others too. You should told us we can help to report to the police for investigation as right now our authority is strictly for the tourist safety.

Once again, thank you so much for your review and looking forward to serving you again.

Best regards,
Cheng Chanthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sihanoukville hotels

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

A brand new hotel with ocean views (albeit obscured by bars). The "casino" downstairs are slot machines and some automated roulette tables. It has all the facilities of a 5 star hotel (by Cambodian standards), but good staff for a such a place are hard to find in a place like Sihanoukville. It is a good location if you want the expat quarter (the majority of them are French) instead of the backpacker row or the exclusive beach at Sokha (at 4-30 times the price).

Room Tip: Go to agoda! Top floor rooms with a balcony overlooking the ocean give a spectacular sunset, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

A nice hotel with modern and well equipped rooms. The rooms and the hotel itself are very clean. A very nice swimming pool is also there too as well as an enjoyable fitness room. The breakfast buffet is pretty large and offer both Asian and Western dishes. The staff is friendly and speaks average English. The hotel has a small casino but nothing great. The only downturn is the location. Without a vehicle, it is very inconvenient. You have tuk tuks around but few and they will overcharge you. The Victory Beach is not so close and around 15mn by walk. Overall and despite the location problem, a pretty good value in Sihanoukville.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arvifr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at this hotel, after reading some of the previous reviews on here!
We paid around $35-$40 AUD a night here and believe it was really good value for money. Room was large, clean & included all the little things (Electronic safe, hairdryer, good tv channels etc) There are bars on the window, but to be honest we really didn't care. Staff were friendly always, especially the young guy who works in the pool bar, he was awesome! The pool was nice, and the sauna was also pretty good! Breakfast was good, fair bit to choose from, we pretty much always had eggs, toast & tea - always good. The restaurant itself for other meals wasn't too crash hot, I'd avoid ordering room service and go exploring, there's great food across the road, or up on victory hill.
The main downside to this hotel was the location, it's close to Victory beach, but most days we got a tuk tuk to Serendipity Beach, for $1 each, each way - (there were 4 of us) It was worth the drive when we saw what some of the other resorts closer to the beaches looked like, we were always in comfort at golden sea!

Room Tip: If you do want a view, floors 4 & up. Also - check out the restaurant just across the road at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

I paid about 35 dollars a night through Agoda and frankly was pleasantly surprised. All mod cons including fridge, hairdryer, aircon and wifi. The service is generally friendly although some staff don't have a great deal of English. Food is average but then why would you eat in your hotel and contrary to the review below the beach is about 300 metres away. Victory beach is a nice little beach. Up the hill a bit is Victory hill which has quite a few cafes, bars and restaurants. All the action is at the other side of the peninsula but if all you want to do is get drunk, vomit and spend all day on the beach, go to Ibiza. Everywhere is about 2 dollars on a moto taxi (back of a motor scooter) which is perfectly fun and heaps of fun. I would definitely stay again. Also the bus station is 2 minutes away and you can walk to Wat Krom the nearby Buddhist temple which is lovely. Look out for the monkeys in the trees.

Room Tip: You can get a sea view but frankly why look at it through the window when you can walk there in less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

Wow, usually follow the advice of my mother, when you have nothing nice to say, don't say anything at all but I have to make an exception for this. The hotel is located in what seems like is an industrial park and no where near a beach. I booked a sea view room with a balcony and was expecting nice sea breezes and a view of the ocean. However my room near the top floor had thick metal bars on the window and no balcony at all. It felt like a prison cell and smelled of stale smoke. The breakfast was terrible and the hotel had a depressing feel to it. If you have travelled in china it is like a 2 star business hotel in a third tier city. Would not recommend at all. There are soooooo many other options in the area there is no way anyone coming for a vacation would want to ruin it at a place like this. I checked out after one night (as did two other guests who I met the day before when we were checking in) and am now enjoying a wonderful hotel right down near occhuetel beach for the same money!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcguine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanthy C, General Manager at Golden Sea Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear our value guest,

Thank you so much for your comment to bring to our attention. Sorry that your stay was not enjoyable. We would like to inform you that we have the room with balcony on 8th floor and all rooms with window can open. You can't find two star hotel in China that offer free internet wifi, free transfer, free breakfast, free gym, sauna, swimming pool, tea & coffee in room and full amenities. The buffet breakfast we offer plenty of asian & western cuisine, fruit & fruit juice, milk, tea & coffee, soup, salad, bakery station, noodle and omelet station... and more. For sure everything is ok now. We hope that we will be able to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Chanthy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Queenco Hotel & Casino
Queenco Hotel & Casino
#29 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Harbour Boutique Hotel
The Harbour Boutique Hotel
#13 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.4 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#10 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Visnu Boutique Hotel
The Visnu Boutique Hotel
#53 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bao Mai Resort
Bao Mai Resort
#32 of 72 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.4 mi away
Moon Julie Hotel
Moon Julie Hotel
#34 of 72 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sea Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sea Hotel & Casino

Property: Golden Sea Hotel & Casino
Address: Ekareach Street, Sangkat 3, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sea Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Golden Sea Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing