We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil stay”
Review of Sokha Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sokha Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Sihanoukville
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tranquil stay”
Reviewed March 18, 2007

We chose to stay at the Sokha Beach resort after spending a week touring the "must see" sights of Cambodia. Our tour operator (Kuoni) did not have this hotel on their list when we booked the Cambodia tour, but i had seen the website of the Sokha Beach and it appealed to us to stay our whole holiday in Cambodia and not rush away to Thailand etc, as seems to be the norm with most tourists. Kuoni happily arranged the hotel and relevant transfers (with personal guide and driver) and although we were slightly apprehensive on the standard and service we could expext, we need not have worried.
The hotel could not have been more welcoming. I am sorry to say that i got a bit anal about the first room allocated to us - it was on the ground floor, with a lovely view of the garden and pool. i just dont like the ground floor and prefer to be higher - to cut a long story short, we ended up with one of the managers walking around all the available rooms he had and i could choose which room I prefered. this was all done with a smile and not a hint of "eyebrow raising" and ultimately we even received some flowers and a fruitbowl. the room was cleaned promptly every morning and we received clean towels and complimentary water twice daily.
The hotel overall was kept in pristine condition, whether that was the lovely gardens or restaurants. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and yes, there was occasionally a small language problem - but no worse than we have experienced in other parts of the world. Although we did of course see plenty of the typical "I am a tourist and therfore I can shout louder and be obnoxious and demand a service and attention I wouldn't dream off in my own country" attitude. (or indeed could afford them there) Ah well, you get them everywhere!
Overall, we can only recommend ths hotel. it is of a standard we did not expect to receive in Cambodia and we certainly have not stayed in a resort where there are girls "sweeping" the beach all day long to keep it looking pristine. We thoroughly enjoyed the tranquility of the beach, the excellent food and Spa facilities. we would not hesitate to return to this resort at any time.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank PeggyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    540
    282
    120
    54
See reviews for
293
678
74
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dalarna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2007

We stayed 6 nights here and everything was very good, from that we checked in to a beautiful room in second floor overlooking pool and ocean.Service in poolbar and resaurants are fast but ok, they dont have matches-they dont have beeropener, (now they have- we gave them 5). For beeing a new touristcountry,give them a chanse-we had smiling people araond us every time we need them. The rooms walls are thin and the doors have 3cm lost space so it is a lot of doors slamming from 7.30 in the mornings, but everything is clean and nice. Locations are perfect on the best beach in town but it is a little bit long way to town-take a tuk-tuk for 3 USD. We have been at many places around Asia and this hotel are in top rankings, staff can talk english so we can understand each outher-no problem.

  • Liked — on the beach
  • Disliked — to long to Int.airport
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Fryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2007

Beautiful beach and safe swimming.
Full breakfast in A/C restaurant - first class.
Buffet Dinner around pool - superb tiger prawns etc.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Room immaculate.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Longhaul29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2007

All the criticism of previous reviews are warranted. Fortunately, I had read them before my business trip to S'ville last week (Jan 9-13), so I was prepared for a poor experience, but was pleasantly surprised. Overall, the service and amenities exceeded my expectations and I would definitely return with my family for a relaxing and economical vacation. (we paid double the price per night at Hilton Arcadia in Phuket over Christmas, which was agreat family resort, but not on the beach and never had open lounges around the four pools.)
I was impressed with the beauty of the beach - I found the sand to be finer and whiter than that of Pattaya or Phuket and the water to be comparable to that of Kailua/Lanikai beaches in Oahu (among the best in the world!) I loved the fact that lounges poolside and on the beach were plentiful and the beach was kept pristine by workers (probably paid less than $1 a day) picking up seaweed and what not washed in with the surf.
The many hammocks were wonderful and so relaxing.
My room faced the spa and parking lot and was clean and in good condition. The TV drove me nuts as I couldn't figure out how to turn it on between the remote and central control unit that's so common in many Asia hotels. When I was able to get the TV on, the satellite would be on the blitz so the picture would go on and off. I just gave up on TV which made it even more relaxing, actually.
The walls are definitely thin and I could hear the guests next door using the bathroom early in the morning, which made me really self-concious when I had to take care of business.
The Seafood buffet was decent, though the crab was not fresh at all. While $18 is not a bad price in most resorts, it is a small fortune in Cambodia where the avg annual income is $300 or so.
The internet access was great and not too expensive by western standards, though it only costs $1 per hour out in town. Only bad part was there are only two computers and it got pretty busy during the wkend. I had to stay up late or get up early to use it during a few days.
The spa is absolutely beautiful and the package I did was a bargain again by western standards (150 minutes - body scrub, Khmer massage (Yoga massage) and then a facial. For $70). The huge jacuzzi and modern steam room are free for all hotel guests. Many of S'ville's rich denizens are members of the spa and use the services frequently.
The tennis courts are in great condition and even have night lights.
The restaurant on the beach is called lemongrass and was lovely. A bit pricey, but the food was good and the view/setting was gorgeous - very serene with no one else around.
There is a nice playground on the property and a basketball hoop (but on the grass, not concrete). Otherwise, there're no waterslides to entertain the kids.
Because the resort is a bit out of the way, you're at the mercy of tuk tuk drivers who want to charge $6 for a round trip into town. You can walk 10-15 minutes to the Golden Lion circle where there were a few roadside vendors and a hotel with a cheaper spa. Sville is growing so fast, that I'm sure the next time I go back, there will be many new establishments.
BTW - the owner of this resort owns the concession for Ankor Wat and pockets millions of tourist dollars which does not help with care of the site as most visitors would think.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank BilltheGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
117 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2007

After visiting Phnom Penh and Seam Reap we went down to Sihanoukville for ten nights. We arrived in the eavning and was stunned by the beautiful recepteion and entrance. We got our roome very quickly and the room showed out to bee very nice. It was very spacious, big beds, very clean, a very good bathroom with both bathtube and a separate shower with a glass door. We didn´t get a roome with balcony but our terrace was bigger than the balconies so we didn´t complanine, we were quite happy with the terrace that had a nice view ower the garden and the pool. We could however get a glance of the sea between the palmtrees. We loved the fact that the room had very big windows (or moore glassdoors) towards the garden which made the room very bright, also that there were wooden floor and no carpets.
Tvice a day we got complimentary mineralwater on bottle and they also chainged all our towels twice a day, what a service ! We also recieved a newspaper every afternoon.

The garden and the pool area was very beautiful but we didn´t use the pool. Who wants to spend the time by the pool when you have one of Cambodias absolutely best beaches at the hotel ?
The sand was white and soft as powder. I have never seena such a clean beach. The beach beds were very good, big and made of wood. The beach bar was also good but the menu was a bit boring, not so much to choose from.

Breakfast was perfect, we didn´t miss anything. The omelette chef made great omelettes and the noodlesoup chef made very good soup.

The whole hotel was so beautiful and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Everyone made their best to make our stay so good as possible and we really enjoyed staying at the Sokah Beach hotel.

  • Liked — The beautiful hotel, the woudnerful beach and the very nice hotel roome
  • Disliked — Mabye a bit boring meny in the restaurang
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank Mats_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2007

We stayed for nine nights after traveling further afield in Cambodia. Like others I had specified a seaview room and ended up on the ground floor with a view of the pool and restaurant. A request for a change met with no success, hotel claiming that all rooms were full (in spite of the fact that my booking had been made and paid for months in advance). This wasn't a disaster, but there was a significant mosquito hazard,
Generally, the hotel looked impressive and the beach was certainly its best feature, beautiful, clean, quiet and relaxing. While the staff were totally charming they did seem to lack any direction. Requests of any sort were met with a completely haphazard response. In fact, once one became resigned to this it provided some amusement. More than can be said for the awful row of the nightly band performance which on most evenings forced us to flee the hotel in search of some respite on nearby Serendipity Beach! What could be a charming hotel in a superb location is marred by poor management. If this sounds picky it should be borne in mind that this hotel is vastly expensive by local Cambodian standards if not by international standards. At the end I am afraid my patience ran out when the taxi arranged for our departure and confirmed with reception on three different occasions failed to show up and we were in danger of missing our internatinal flight.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank EnglandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2007

After reading some of the reviews i was a bit worried, but the hotel was great.

Beach was the best in the area, prob. the best in Cambodia.
It may not be up there with some of the best 5* resorts in the world, but you are in Cambodia, a country with no fast food chains at all or department stores.

At this price, the hotel is great value, with nice rooms, friendly staff....we had a ball at the NYE Gala Ball.

I think most people who wrote bad reviews did not venture out the hotel at all, there are some great restaurants and bars within minutes of the hotel.

Drinks were a tad expensive for Cambodia though, beach bars at Serendipity beach was much better ($1 beers, $2 Spirits)

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — Prices (given hotel is in Cambodia)
  • Tips/Secrets — Serendipity Beach for bars, Claudes hilltop restaurant for dinner.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Juzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.7 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#2 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
1.4 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#3 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sahaa Beach Resort
Sahaa Beach Resort
#5 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Beach Resort

Property: Sokha Beach Resort
Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat 4, Mittapheap Dist., Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Sihanoukville
#2 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Beach Resort is set amidst 23.5 hectares of beautifully landscaped beachfront and garden with its own 1.5 kilometer pristine white sandy beach. Voted amongst the Best New Hotels in the World in Condé Nast Traveler Magazine's Ninth Annual Hot List 2005, this resort is certainly a top choice when vacationing in South East Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sokha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Beach Hotel Sihanoukville
Sokha Beach Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing