We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but expensive”
Review of Sokha Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sokha Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, very nice hotel, beautiful garden and beach good breakfast.

Ideal for a few days chilling at the beach. Only 1 minute with shuttle or tuktuk from reastaurants.


Minor points: I hurt my foot at the beach because of all the trash coming from the sea (although maybe 4 full time employees cleaning the beach). Everything is very very expensive (room prices, food, shop, transport arranged by the hotel,..). But you can buy everything nearby for 2 or 3 times less the price. Shuttlebus only until 19h or so...

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trilok N, General Manager at Sokha Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Marius S,

Greetings from Sokha Beach Resort, Sihanouk Ville!

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to note regarding your appreciation of our team members and the resort, buffet breakfast, garden & the beach. We really try hard to keep the beach clean at all times as you did notice during your stay. We feel sorry that you hurt your foot because of the trash coming from the sea sometimes.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back at our resort.

Yours sincerely,

Trilok Narain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 616 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had high hopes for the Sokha Beach resort, however there were a number of areas that let it down quite badly.

On the plus side, the beach and pool are very good (in fact, a reason to visit on their own) and the breakfast is comprehensive. The mini-bus service into town was also a nice offering. Dinner and/or cocktails at the Deck (particularly at sunset) are very memorable (the 3 pm to 6 pm happy hour with drinks 50% off and food 20% off is also good). All the hotel's staff are keen to help and enthusiastic.

Cambodia isn’t particularly renowned for its beaches (Thailand and Vietnam have much more to offer in this regard). However, after visiting Phnom Penh and Siem Reap, we wanted to finish our trip with a few lazy days of R&R. The Islands seem to be very basic, so the choices seemed to boil down to Sokha Beach or the Independence.

Our gripes with the resort were as follows –

- The first room we were shown to smelt very smoky and musty, so we asked to be moved.

- The second room smelt better, but was not overly clean (very dusty headboard, curtains filthy). We asked three times for the room to be cleaned, though the message didn’t seem to get through (the room was cleaned each day, but the specific areas we asked to be rectified weren’t).

- Rooms are in need of a makeover, and do look a somewhat jaded. The corner of the shower was very dirty for example, the inside of the wardrobe a little dusty etc.

- The shower door oddly opens inwards, so it can be a little difficult to get out without shuffling to one side.

- Although a 200 bedroom resort will inevitably be nosier than a small boutique hotel, the hotel should put in place door closing mechanisms in each of the rooms (which are quick, cheap and easy to do). This may sound like a pedantic point, but constantly banging doors by less considerate guests at all hours does become very galling after a while.

All in all we were a little underwhelmed. The location is excellent and the beach and pool alone make this hotel worth a visit, however it certainly isn’t the 5 star resort it claims to be – definitely more of a 3 or 4 star by European/US standards.

Room Tip: The Ocean View rooms were well located with a nice outlook of the pool (but sadly not really of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adhill100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trilok N, General Manager at Sokha Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Adhill 100,

Greetings from Sokha Beach Resort, Sihanouk Ville!

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to note you really liked the beach & pool facilities, buffet breakfast, shuttle service into town, the deck at Lemongrass, Happy Hours and the helpful & enthusiastic attitude of our team members. We have also made a note of the gripes mentioned and ensured necessary corrective training action with the concerned team members.

Appreciate your constructive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back at our resort.

Yours sincerely,

Trilok Narain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We booked this hotel through online which was much cheaper than its real price. The hotel looks so huge and have a private long white sand beach which is the most important point of the hotel.
Our first room was at ground floor and we not like it, after complaining to receptionist they quickly found other higher floor room for us. We love it so much, nice view of the pool & garden. We also like the Lemongrass Restuarant ambience where you can see the sunset and enjoy the happy hour. All the staff were so friendly when you talk or ask them some thing, they keep smiling at you and try to explains what you need to know about the place & some information of interesting places. Overal of our stay was fantastic with good memorable holiday experience by the beach (quiet, blue sky & sea).

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trilok N, General Manager at Sokha Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Tony H,

Greetings from Sokha Beach Resort, Sihanoukville!

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to note that you have had a memorable holiday with us and particularly enjoyed the beach, Lemongrass restaurant during sunset happy hours and the friendly services of our team members.

Really appreciate your feedback and looking forward to welcoming you back at our resort for another memorable holiday.

Yours sincerely,

Trilok Narain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

When we first arrived at the hotel I was disappointed as it was so big but the lovely , well trained staff changed my mind very quickly. Lovely clean room with bedding and towels changed daily. Although breakfast was very busy the staff always found a table for us very quickly. Lovely choice on buffet. Life guards on pool and lifejackets available for children. We had an amazing meal on our last night. The people who complain about prices need to compare similar hotel sin Europe which would be much more expensive and the service would not match up to this. A beautifuil meal , well presented , two lovely courses plus coffee , wine and beer for two people for less than £30. This country is relatively new to tourism and yet they could teach Europe and in particular the U,K, a lot in terms of service and quality. Thank you so much to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: A seaview room is a must. Room 322 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazeroodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trilok N, General Manager at Sokha Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Mazeroodles,

Greetings from Sokha Beach Resort, Sihanouk Ville!

Thank you very much for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback and on behalf of the entire team would like to convey our gratitude to you for recognizing the spirit of Cambodian hospitality.

Please do drop us a line at gmsv@sokhahotels whenever you plan your next visit to Sihanouk Ville. We look forward to welcoming you back at our resort soon.

Yours sincerely,

Trilok Narain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed at The Sokha Hotel in March 2014.
We didn't pay an exuberant rate, so I wasn't expecting a high end resort, which it isn't.
The rooms are basic and a little bit worn, but comfortable enough.
The view from out little balcony was of the pool, which was nice, but full of kids.
The breakfast was o.k, just passable really. Not a lot of choice and the coffee was undrinkable.
Our phone in the room wasn't working, and the water pressure in the bathroom was non existent.

The best thing about our stay here was the gorgeous private beach and our last meal at Lemon Grass, one of the Hotels restaurant , on the beach.Superb food and very good service.

If you are looking for a 5 star resort, this is not it.It's a comfortable, adequate, resort in a great location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sienna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trilok N, General Manager at Sokha Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Sienna T,

Greetings from Sokha Beach Resort, Sihanouk Ville!

Thank you very much for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to note that you enjoyed the Sokha beach and the Lemongrass restaurant. We have made a note of the points mentioned in your feedback. While we are a family friendly beach resort there are parts of the beach and accommodation facilities which are away from the children's pool.

Thank you once again for your review. we look forward to welcoming you back at our resort.

Yours sincerely,


Trilok Narain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Nice resort and great beach. Overall clean and well maintained but a bit too expensive for what it is worth, particularly the restaurants. Staff is friendly but a bit slow and not very fluent in English. Swimming pool is lovely.

I would have put a higher rating, but we booked an 'Ocean Wing' room, which turned out to have a great view of the parking lot, but no ocean to be seen. When we complained about this, the staff laughed and said everyone expected an Ocean view, but the Ocean Wing was just a name, and not a promise of a sea view.

A bit cheecky. Anyway you are warned. Stay away from the Ocean Wing (unless you like to see a parking lot) ;-)

Room Tip: pleaése ask for an ocean view if you want one - don't book the 'ocean wing'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trilok N, General Manager at Sokha Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear LukeM,

Greetings from Sokha Beach Resort, Sihanouk Ville!

Thank you very much for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to note that overall you have enjoyed the resort, beach and swimming pool and found it to be well maintained and clean. We have made a note of your constructive feedback regarding ''Ocean Wing" term and the training need for better fluency in English level and will certainly address the same with my colleagues.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Trilok Narain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We booked an Executive Suite for three nights at a total cost of $888 paid in advance. I was astonished at checkout to be presented with a bill that included the full cost of the rooms. I explained that I had already paid for the rooms and the clerk mumbled an apology and showed me a revised bill without the room charge that they just happened to have already printed and had put on the counter. This was such an obvious scam and the kind of thing you might expect at a grubby backpacker hostel but not at a supposedly 5 star resort.

This was, though, not unexpected. The resort had already had to reprint bills for us when they did not include happy hour discounts - which seemed to be quite a pattern. Of course, the hotel said that these were all "mistakes - so sorry", but even if that were true (which it wasn't), you would expect such an expensive hotel to get things right.

The hotel also showed no flexibility over checkout time, refused to book us external transport to the airport (they would only help us with their own mega-expensive transportation); did not sort out the air conditioning in one of our rooms despite repeated prompting; and seemed unconcerned by the power outages and internet outages.

The hotel boasts four restaurants - although at least two are identical. They are all ruined by loud music. The Deck, for example, advertises a romantic atmosphere by the ocean but rather than the sound of waves, you get the sound of Khmer music blaring at high volume through the loudspeakers. And the central restaurant is "entertained" by a live singer amplified so loud that it drives people away also from the nearby outdoor pool.

The hotel lacks any air-conditioned lounge space and the resort as a whole has little in the way of activities other than the pool and the beach. There was a kids playground roped off with signs saying closed for maintenance and there was a fitness centre. There was also a spa and guests are repeatedly exhorted to buy sessions there; and there's a rather sad looking casino.

The private beach is not really very private with day guests allowed and trespassers ignored. There are not enough sun loungers and they are not well shaded.

The rooms themselves were OK - large, bright and well furnished. However, the showers lacked power and the lighting system was odd, requiring the master switch to be on to light individual lights. That means if you use the master switch to turn off bedroom lights at night, you can't operate the bathroom light without switching on the bedroom lights. The minibar prices were exorbitant, but the tuktuk drivers outside the front gate will happily run you to the supermarket to get drinks at a fraction of the price.

For all the expense of the hotel, it should be better. And there's no excuse for trying to rip us off by $900.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Quelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.5 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#10 of 78 in Sihanoukville
693 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#2 of 78 in Sihanoukville
549 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 78 in Sihanoukville
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 78 in Sihanoukville
399 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sahaa Beach Resort
Sahaa Beach Resort
#5 of 78 in Sihanoukville
396 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 78 in Sihanoukville
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Beach Resort

Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat 4, Mittapheap Dist., Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#1 Casino Hotel in Sihanoukville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $112 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Beach Resort is set amidst 23.5 hectares of beautifully landscaped beachfront and garden with its own 1.5 kilometer pristine white sandy beach. Voted amongst the Best New Hotels in the World in Condé Nast Traveler Magazine's Ninth Annual Hot List 2005, this resort is certainly a top choice when vacationing in South East Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sokha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Beach Hotel Sihanoukville
Sokha Beach Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing