We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice holiday but this resort could be slicker!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sokha Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sokha Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice holiday but this resort could be slicker!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one week at Sokha Resort in a pool view room and had a wonderful relaxing time. Our immediate impressions as we checked-in at the lobby were excellent, but on arriving to our room, exploring the resort and experiencing the hotel service, we began to find a number of things that could have been presented, maintained and offered in a more "5 star" way. Many people may have been upset or annoyed at these things (considering the cost of this resort), but we were certainly not going to let these things effect our beach break.
Rooms were comfortable (Room 162), toilet didn't flush properly most of the time, black mould in the shower, inconsistent room cleaning and supply of fresh towels etc, no TV channel guide.
Pool was lovely, complete with swim up bar, but sun lounges were at a premium and mostly reserved by other guests by 8.00am, not enough shady options around the pool area (we don't like baking ourselves to a crisp in the sun all day), staff could have been pro-active and wandering around asking guests if they would like food or drinks, instead you had to walk to the pool bar and place your order which was delivered to your sun-lounge of choice. Towels were okay, could have been bigger, we often got two each as a solution.
Beach had lovely white sand, sun-lounges needed two mattresses to be comfortable, two drink/food bars on beach but no bar service if you were more than 20 metres away. It's a private beach so no wandering hawkers at all.
Breakfast ..... arrive early! On two mornings we got there at 8.30-9.00am, the place was chaos, the staff couldn't cope with service, the supply of food or fresh crockery/cutlery. Overall, the breakfast here is not up to the standard we had experienced in other resorts in Cambodia, but they did do Espresso coffees at breakfast and we certainly never went hungry!
Lunch and Dinner, we always had good meals when we dined in the Resort. Lemongrass was a delight, as too the Seafood BBQ next to the pool, lots of choice, great wine and cocktail lists, service often a little on the slow side but we were on holidays so it doesn't really matter!
The Spa offers a good range of treatments at very reasonable prices, all well done and professional.
The gardens were disappointing, the vast lawns were brown and had not been watered, plants not trimmed neatly, dead palm leaves in the trees etc. Instead of a lush tropical paradise that we expected, our impression was that the grounds were a little bit unloved.
The resort provided a free shuttle bus into and out of town which we used a few times, then caught Tuk Tuks home again. Unfortunately no maps or tourist information was available for guests without asking at reception, even then it was a lengthy wait while they found the local Tourist Magazine for us which included all the information we might need.
Overall we had a great time, but the whole resort could be far more slick and step up a notch or two in most regards. Oh, our check out bill came as a big surprise, we hadn't held back on anything during our time at Sokha and our bill was hundreds of dollars less than we had expected! That has to make you smile!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    527
    278
    119
    53
See reviews for
288
654
74
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Cambodian honeymooners dream of coming to Sohka Beach but few can afford it. The best attraction of this resort, by far, is the private beach. Crescent shaped, well maintained and uncrowded, the beach makes a stay at this curious resort well worthwhile. The other nearby beaches, while lovely, are inundated with cheap shack-style shops of all kinds and the hawkers that go with that. For those who can afford to pay the rates at Sohka Beach, the extra money is worth it if you prefer, as we do, the tranquility of a lovely tropical beach. And the rates are actually quite low except in comparison with other hotels in the area. But no other hotel gets you access to Sohka Beach, although I've heard that day passes are available and can see that sneaking onto the beach would not present much of a challenge.

As for the resort itself, it is a sprawling complex with parts well maintained, other parts poorly maintained, and other parts seemingly shuttered. We chose a Moha Mohori Chalet unit and it was remarkable, though not well maintained. In the style of an overwater bungalow, the chalet was huge with a vaulted ceiling, enormous deck with jetted bath, ocean front and quite charming. Two small infinity pools were located within a one minute walk of our chalet, and nobody used them. The Mohori units are at the north end of the complex, so prepare to walk half a mile for the breakfast buffet and the front desk. Shuttles are available. The breakfast buffet was unremarkable. The best drinking/dining option is The Deck which is in the same lovely building a Lemongrass. This beachfront restaurant is newer and very well maintained.

Access to the many restaurants and active scene of Serenity Beach is quite easy, involving a short tuk tuk ride which will cost $3 or $5 for a round trip, perhaps less if you care to be a touch negotiator. Or you can walk there in 15 minutes. The hotel offers a few shuttles a day for free, but with tuk tuks being so cheap, that seemed the better option to us.

For those who want a higher end experience at a Cambodian beach resort, good luck. We researched our options diligently and the only better option we could find was Song Saa Resort which costs $1600 per day for their least expensive room. I'm sure it's divine, and really quiet. I doubt that I will find out for myself. Sohka Beach seemed just fine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I booked three nights at the Sokha beach resort and for the money you pay there are better options out there. We recently moved to Phnom Penh and this is our first time to Sihanoukville and I was told the Sokha Beach resort is the best there is. We ate and stayed in the resort throughout our visit. Check-in was rushed and the staff was slow and lacked polish. There was free wifi but the network does not have a secure password so not the safest wifi connection.

Positives:

-Clean Private Beach
-Nice pool but by the hotel (not the pool on the new section full of noisy tourist groups)

Negatives:

-Buffet breakfast is average and the staff don't care. It seems getting a coffee and a glass of hot water is an effort.

-Lemongrass restaurant
(We ate here for three nights and you are paying 5 star hotel prices for dinner but you receive 1 star service). The food was salty and made with no heart, no passion. We had steak, seafood and the Paella for the three nights. The Paella was the best dish. The rest average.

-We booked a romantic dinner by the beach in the morning with reception. Here are some of the unforgettable issues we faced:

1) The front desk staff did not tell us the package came with a massage and we only found out when we sat down at our table and the waiter asked if we had a massage. We then advised we did not know about the massage and asked if we can have the massage after dinner but the times given to us by the staff was not convenient so we had to have a massage at the spa the next morning rather than on the beach. When we turned up at the spa in the morning the reception staff asked if we would like to have a massage by the beach so we said ok. The staff then changed her mind and said we cannot have the massage in the morning and we can only have it at the spa. The spa is horrible (old and poorly managed and again extremely expensive) at a resort that is not even 4 star. Our massage was only very short 35 minutes. I thought massages are at least an hour.

2) When we went to the restaurant to get ready for our romantic dinner and the staff advised we did not have a booking. We told them we booked a table and the girl said your room number is incorrect and you have no booking (as if I was some random who decided to have a romantic dinner). I told her to check with reception again and confirm with me as we went to the beach to take a few photos. 10 minutes later the staff still did not respond about our reservation. I had to go back to reception and ask which they confirmed they got the room numbers mixed up. It seems as though I have inconvenienced them by having them call their front desk about my reservation that I made earlier in the morning.

3) When we got to our table there were mainland Chinese tourists sitting on our table taking photos and being plain rude. It should be the restaurant staff's job to ensure that people stayed away (this is suppose to be a romantic dinner not a photo session for tourist groups). At $80 a head it was a horrible experience for me and my wife. The waiter was very nice though and the young gentlemen tried his best to have a smile on his face given the circumstances. Halfway through our dinner my fellow Chinese tourist group of 5 decided to come and sit at the massage bed next to us and have a nice old noisy chat ignoring that me and my wife are having a romantic dinner by the beach. What the hell are the hotel staff doing? The food was ok but not $80 quality. In the end we just quickly finished dinner and went back to our room.

I would echo the previous negative reviews from fellow trip advisors. In the end of the day we are in Cambodia and the prices that Sokha commands is definitely not worth it. The resort is not 5 star and the staff lacked training and its not a overall relacing experience you would expect. You will have a better time staying at other resorts close by that are managed better and offered better service. You will need to catch a boat from Sihanoukville to get to these resorts but they will be better than Sokha.

I can now tick Sihanoukville in my trip advisor map but I don't think I will come back to Sokha resort. You can see that the staff are poorly trained and management does not care.

Room Tip: Try and get the new part of the resort but watch out for the tourist groups as they can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skye
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is the second visit to sokha beach resort,with the same problem both times. The first time we thought it just a mistake but after reading other reviews and talking to other guests we can see it is a ploy. We booked a ocean/ pool view room and paid the higher price,but on arrival we were told we have a lake view room ,most people would probably say ok but we knew these rooms are about 400 metres away from the main buildings. After first showing our booking and asking to have our original request the duty manager came and said no rooms were available and we did not confirm our room prior to arrival. After starting off being polite and not wanting to make a scene both my wife and I became increasingly insistent about our room choice ,in the end it got quite heated on both sides. (Not the norm for Asia)we stood our ground and got the room we booked. So it would seem that everyone wants the ocean / pool view rooms and instead of saying they are sold out they take the booking and then bump you to the much inferior lake view wing. Have said all that the hotel is still quite good but a bit tired and pricey. But is only a short tuk tuk ride to serendipity beach. And the hotel beach is nice with the local part of the beach a short stroll to buy snacks and drinks at a fraction of the hotel price. The hotel grounds are not maintained and grass needed cutting and watering. They need to pick their game up as the new hotels are coming . Further to room booking,we booked through expedia and on their booking confirmation it says room is booked and no need to confirm but one day before we were to arrive we received an email to say confirm your requests with the hotel before arrival. After booking six months before I would say it was a bit late.so to everyone make sure you get written confirmation of your room choice and do not stay in the lake view wing. Trust me I would like to be a doctor.

Room Tip: Get your room choice confirmation in writing and stay in a ocean and pool view room and not the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graeme t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed at the resort for 7 days. We enjoyed every minute, relaxed at the pool or walk every morning on the beach to watch the sunrise.
The hotel's shuttle bus takes you to the center of Sihanouk Ville. The schedule is available. Very convenient. You can get to town by Tuk-Tuk or take a 10-15 minutes walk.
Room: A huge room with a very comfortable king size bed , refrigerator, coffee/tea, desk, large TV screen, plenty of electrical sockets, safe, robes
Bathroom: Bath tub and a shower, hairdryer, shampoo/conditioner, body lotion
Towel supply at the pool site

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kukiline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Do not stay at this hotel. the staff might as well not be there. they definately arent their to help the guests staying there. the only helpful we could find were the pool guys. day one our room key didnt work. it took 3 returns to the front desk and a threat of a room upgrade if the key didnt work before they finally acknowledged the keys were faulty and changed them. while we were at the desk though the staff proceeded to talk amoungst themselves like we were an inconvinience. The next morning at breakfast was not much better, we waited for 15min to be asked if we were there for breakfast and after a table while other people just walked in and grabbed tables. the next few days we didnt wait for the staff either. after 30min at breakfast we gave up on being asked if we wanted tea or coffee so we just ate our food and left. over the 4 mornings we ate the breakfast only once were we offered tea or coffee and when approached the barista we were told to take a seat and he would send someone over. this never happened. the breakfast food was ok. the dinner at the main restaurant in the hotel is horrible. the food is bad. no flavour and tasted like it was old not fresh. dont eat here unless you enjoy eating stale tasteless food. the restaurant on the water was much better. the tapas food was great. again though it was let down by very poor service. reserve a table here as we found a lot of tables get reserved and dont get used so you miss out. the room was not clean. there were squashed mozzies on the walls, hair in the sink, marks on the walls. TV was broken along with the phone so we couldnt call the buggy to come pick us up to take us to the main part of the hotel. we booked a lake view room yet there is no lake here. we requested a room transfer based on this but were told no as the resort was full, which it wasnt, and that we would be charged for the marks and broken TV and phone even though we pointed this out to management within an hr of checking in. they eventually dropped the costs of these but refused to change our room. beach front rooms are set back 100m from the beach so are far from beach front. the beach is not private no matter how much they say it is. there is a village at one end of the beach and people not staying at the hotel just walk onto the beach at the other. there are no hawkers on this beach though. This is not worth what they charge. find another hotel to stay that actually wants your business and wants to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank benjaminmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways. Let's try zero. This place has reached for the lowest common denominator and has found it. Our first room smelled of must & mildew. The curtains were tattered, the lamp shade was ripped. Mold is growing in the shower/bathtub area. The artwork has come out of the five & dime. The grounds are browned off. The landscaping is ratty. Really? In a supposed 5 star resort? Would that rating have anything to do with the fact that the government owns a significant portion of it? Disorganized, disinterested, disheartening. They all apply. We were upgraded to one of their villas. Poop at any price is still poop. The rooms are dreary. The service staff have no direction. Garbage on the grounds on Day Two was still there on Day Six when we checked out. We tried to change hotels but, in the peak of high season, we could only find one other and it was worse. The buffet is unimaginative. We ate dinner at their "higher end" restaurant once and that was on our first night. The staff were disengaged, the food was thrown together, the experience was maddening. Obviously ownership doesn't care about the guest experience. They must be focused on attracting casino dwellers. Management is hamstrung. Although only ten years old, the whole place should be torn down and someone that knows what they are doing should be brought in to start over and do it right. The private beach is the only area that hasn't been screwed up (although the beach loungers are worn and the cushions need to be bleached clean). If you must come to Sihanoukville, stay in a two star guest house for $6 a night. The experience will be identical and you will get what you pay for. Unlike the Sokha.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank DougOnTheRoad67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.7 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.4 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#10 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#3 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sahaa Beach Resort
Sahaa Beach Resort
#5 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Beach Resort

Property: Sokha Beach Resort
Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat 4, Mittapheap Dist., Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Sihanoukville
#1 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sokha Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Beach Resort is set amidst 23.5 hectares of beautifully landscaped beachfront and garden with its own 1.5 kilometer pristine white sandy beach. Voted amongst the Best New Hotels in the World in Condé Nast Traveler Magazine's Ninth Annual Hot List 2005, this resort is certainly a top choice when vacationing in South East Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sokha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Beach Hotel Sihanoukville
Sokha Beach Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing