We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Beach Resort”
Review of Sokha Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sokha Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Beach Resort”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Good facilities, nice beach, excellent room. Stay in main hotel if you want to enjoy the hotel. Stay in Water Chalet if you want to enjoy the room. Little pricey but worth it. Do keep some time in your schedule to enjoy the hotel, the spa, the beach, the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the beach side or water chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pawan304554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    541
    283
    120
    55
See reviews for
295
681
75
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at this Hotel in December 2013. We enjoyed out time here, quality rooms, quality resort. We enjoyed the beach, great weather and just wished we could stay a few more nights. Breakfast was great and we enjoyed breakfast inside rather than the mad dash in the open air breakfast area. The food on the deck restaurant was to a good standard, the food in the main restaurant maybe was not so great (not cooked).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel was very nice, the best one around, we virtually had the place to ourselves other than 3 days over New Year's Eve, the beach and sea were stunning although very quiet but you have occhiteau and Otres beach am few Km away which has all the beach bars you could want,there are 2 lovely swimming pools, the service is excellent and the people are so friendly,we had 11 nights there and would recommend it however it can be a little pricey with $7 for a bottle of Evian an example. Sihanoukville is Thailand 30-40 years ago so get out there.

Room Tip: The main pool is the busiest but the lakeside rooms have their own very quiet pool with no more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are spacious and very clean. We were put into another part of the resort away from the main building. The pool and breakfast areas were not as good as in the main part. The sunbeds were old and very uncomfortable. The service was poor. We ordered food at the pool, then were asked to write down our order ourselves and even after that it was delivered incomplete. The reason given was because a lot of people were ordering food. Twice we went to sign out pool towels and they didn't have any. We spent New Year's Eve here and they did an amazing job with great food and a wonderful setting. It is a lovely looking resort with a beautiful beach but you are better staying at the main part.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sheilafor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

To sum up this hotel don't waste your money, we have moved rooms two times and they are the same dirty chips in cups bathroom very dirty, the staff are bordering on rude , if you are looking for peace you will NOT find it here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has ok facilities, although nothing out of the ordinary. The rooms are spacious and adequately equipped. Free WiFi is available throughout the facility, including the beach (although the connection dropped frequently). The private beach stands out and is very nice, although the adjacent public beach is almost as good. Individual staff are mostly friendly. But that is about as much good as I can find to say about this place. Pretty much everything, from food and drink to taxi services, is ridiculously overpriced. The policy seems to be to milk customers as hard as possible. Check-in was laborious, restaurant service is slow and disorganised. Staff speak remarkably little/poor english for a hotel that attracts a lot of foreign customers. This hotel seems overrated and overpriced. I dont recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Alain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Sokha Beach Resort for 3 nights and I am so glad we did!
Everything was great from the room we stayed in to the well looked after pools and clean & safe beach!
We loved the beach side although we noticed that other guest were claiming the chairs as early as 5:30-6am, put their towels down and would go eat breakfast until 10:30, meaning it was hard for us to get seats in the morning (7:30-8am) but we managed to find some a couple times thankfully with umbrellas! The staff are all very good, fast and nice! Breakfast was great and the cooks cooked a great omelette! The Deck for tapas and cocktails at happy hour was amazing!! We had such a great night watching the sunset and relaxing eating glorious food!
The hotel is indeed in need of abit of a renovation but I couldn't fault it for anything! Everything was perfect!
Best stay in sihanoukville!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paski P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.7 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 74 in Sihanoukville
360 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
699 reviews
1.4 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 74 in Sihanoukville
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 74 in Sihanoukville
463 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 74 in Sihanoukville
390 reviews
4.4 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#7 of 74 in Sihanoukville
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Beach Resort

Property: Sokha Beach Resort
Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat 4, Mittapheap Dist., Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Sihanoukville
#2 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Beach Resort is set amidst 23.5 hectares of beautifully landscaped beachfront and garden with its own 1.5 kilometer pristine white sandy beach. Voted amongst the Best New Hotels in the World in Condé Nast Traveler Magazine's Ninth Annual Hot List 2005, this resort is certainly a top choice when vacationing in South East Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Sokha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Beach Hotel Sihanoukville
Sokha Beach Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing