We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay”
Review of Sokha Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sokha Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel was very nice, the best one around, we virtually had the place to ourselves other than 3 days over New Year's Eve, the beach and sea were stunning although very quiet but you have occhiteau and Otres beach am few Km away which has all the beach bars you could want,there are 2 lovely swimming pools, the service is excellent and the people are so friendly,we had 11 nights there and would recommend it however it can be a little pricey with $7 for a bottle of Evian an example. Sihanoukville is Thailand 30-40 years ago so get out there.

Room Tip: The main pool is the busiest but the lakeside rooms have their own very quiet pool with no more than...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,499)
There are newer reviews for Sokha Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

The rooms are spacious and very clean. We were put into another part of the resort away from the main building. The pool and breakfast areas were not as good as in the main part. The sunbeds were old and very uncomfortable. The service was poor. We ordered food at the pool, then were asked to write down our order ourselves and even after that it was delivered incomplete. The reason given was because a lot of people were ordering food. Twice we went to sign out pool towels and they didn't have any. We spent New Year's Eve here and they did an amazing job with great food and a wonderful setting. It is a lovely looking resort with a beautiful beach but you are better staying at the main part.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sheilafor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

To sum up this hotel don't waste your money, we have moved rooms two times and they are the same dirty chips in cups bathroom very dirty, the staff are bordering on rude , if you are looking for peace you will NOT find it here.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesley1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has ok facilities, although nothing out of the ordinary. The rooms are spacious and adequately equipped. Free WiFi is available throughout the facility, including the beach (although the connection dropped frequently). The private beach stands out and is very nice, although the adjacent public beach is almost as good. Individual staff are mostly friendly. But that is about as much good as I can find to say about this place. Pretty much everything, from food and drink to taxi services, is ridiculously overpriced. The policy seems to be to milk customers as hard as possible. Check-in was laborious, restaurant service is slow and disorganised. Staff speak remarkably little/poor english for a hotel that attracts a lot of foreign customers. This hotel seems overrated and overpriced. I dont recommend it.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Alain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Sokha Beach Resort for 3 nights and I am so glad we did!
Everything was great from the room we stayed in to the well looked after pools and clean & safe beach!
We loved the beach side although we noticed that other guest were claiming the chairs as early as 5:30-6am, put their towels down and would go eat breakfast until 10:30, meaning it was hard for us to get seats in the morning (7:30-8am) but we managed to find some a couple times thankfully with umbrellas! The staff are all very good, fast and nice! Breakfast was great and the cooks cooked a great omelette! The Deck for tapas and cocktails at happy hour was amazing!! We had such a great night watching the sunset and relaxing eating glorious food!
The hotel is indeed in need of abit of a renovation but I couldn't fault it for anything! Everything was perfect!
Best stay in sihanoukville!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Paski P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The resort is a sprawling complex, but easily walkable (or you can call for a ride in a golf cart). My room was spacious and clean. The staff are very helpful (special mention to Julia, Piseth, Rachana, and Oukdom). However, it appears that the number of guests can at times overwhelm the staff. For example, at breakfast there are not enough staff to clear and re-set tables. I enjoyed the New Year's Eve buffet and entertainment (great music).

Unfortunately, the services and amenities do not match the price you pay to stay here. In my opinion, you would be better served staying at a more reasonably-priced establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9A_J_A_Y9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We decided to stay over Christmas in this resort over other smaller places in Sihanoukville because we thought it would make for an easy, relaxed holiday. Wrong! There were so many downsides to our stay, relaxed was what we were not.
I don't think I've ever reached such a level of stress and annoyance when checking into a hotel. The check-in process took over 50 minutes and the front desk staff did not have a clue what they were doing - something is seriously wrong in the system. A hotel that is built for 1000 guests should be able to handle them efficiently, even if it is Christmas. They tried to put us in a different room than we had specifically booked (a beach front villa) and it was obvious it had been double-booked to someone else. It took a lot of direct talking to get what we originally booked.
The villa was spacious and comfortable although starting to look a bit shabby and not equipped as well as many new 4* hotels.
In booking a package over Christmas through Agoda, we were forced to take the 'gala Christmas eve dinner' at $120 per couple, which was an outdoor buffet with entertainment. Again, poorly managed, with drinks running out and much of the food cold. It was terrible to be forced to pay for it and then it turned out to be so dire.
On the plus side, the beach is very clean and there are no hawkers and urchins to bother you, and the pool/beach staff were very friendly and helpful.
Overall, a bad and expensive mistake, and very impersonal.

Room Tip: Beach front villas are big and spacious but they are still 80m from the beach, so not really 'be...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shedheadabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.4 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 74 in Sihanoukville
650 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 74 in Sihanoukville
492 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 74 in Sihanoukville
377 reviews
4.4 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#8 of 74 in Sihanoukville
182 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 74 in Sihanoukville
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Beach Resort

Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat 4, Mittapheap Dist., Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Sihanoukville
#2 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $96 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Beach Resort is set amidst 23.5 hectares of beautifully landscaped beachfront and garden with its own 1.5 kilometer pristine white sandy beach. Voted amongst the Best New Hotels in the World in Condé Nast Traveler Magazine's Ninth Annual Hot List 2005, this resort is certainly a top choice when vacationing in South East Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sokha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Beach Hotel Sihanoukville
Sokha Beach Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing