We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sokha Hotel Cambodia at sokha beach and Sihanoukville”
Review of Sokha Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sokha Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sokha Hotel Cambodia at sokha beach and Sihanoukville”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I wish to say how wonderful the staff are and the prices for a 4 or 5 star are

excellent. I stayed nearby. I enjoyed visiting often.

Mr. Khim Sokhim who is bartender at Lemon Grass makes the best James

Bond Shake and not Stir Martini.

I wish you had a just a destination category to comment on.

Sihanoukville is not looked after by the government like Siam Reap and P.P.

Bad electricity problems along with lots of trash everywhere because locals do not

want to pay to have trash picked up so they just dump it anywhere.

Koh Kong was my last stop and they have 24 hour electricity from Thailand.

Cafe Laurant and Fat Sam's restaurants are great.

First time to comment.

Room Tip: Call and speak to the Sales Manager.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank FiredragonWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    550
    291
    122
    56
See reviews for
304
694
76
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Greensborough Australia
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, perfectly positioned, has a casino and ready access to numerous tuk tuks out the front to take you into Serrindippity Beach or the markets or wherever. A 1.2 kilometre long private beach with beach bars at either end and a magnificent pool also with a swim up bar. The rooms are great with big bathrooms and huge beds. This place of all the hotels we looked at on a very long beach walk from Sokha Beach to Victory Beach was clearly the best. But to be five star you have to be perfect and I know it's pettey but the grounds were a little run down and could use some attention.
The hotel is huge and has three different areas. The main Hotel, the villa's and the lake area. When we were there the lake area was abandonded. It is truly beautiful with brilliant facilities but it was empty, so sad to see but until the airport gets bigger and begins taking more flights there will continue to be empty hotels. Stick with the Sokha which is reasonably priced and he best of the lot. Get and ocean view or pool view room for the best outlook from your balcony

Room Tip: If you go to the casino drinks are free while you are gambling. Serrindippity Beach for dinner and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

It is a huge place and is managed quite efficiently. The property is mostly clean except for some areas in the lake which smells a bit. but once inside the room, it just does not matter. You will need to move around in a shuttle golf cart - but this is very efficiently managed so you really do not feel this as a handicap. It is little pricey but you will still feel you got more than what you bargained for. It has a private beach, children's play area and a beautiful gym. A good place for a relaxed holiday if you are here on business and don't have the time in the resort, it might sound expensive.
Breakfast is very good as well.

Room Tip: Lake view may not be a good option as there is a stink in some parts, ask a map to be sent first to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raivikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
530 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Out of our seven different hotels in Laos and Cambodia this was by far our least favourite. It was hard to imagine that just a few hours earlier we were leaving the wonderful Verandah Natural Resort in Kep - oh, how I wished we'd stayed.
Not that we didn't want to visit Sihanoukville, we did. Travelling all this way to Cambodia we felt compelled to spend at least a couple of nights here but I almost wished we'd paid a few dollars a night for a cheap guesthouse.
We arrived in the middle of a torrential downpour and found ourselves in the cavernous lobby area. Our rooms were on the second floor and, whilst large, completely lacked any character. We felt we were in a typically large sprawling resort complex. However, we had done plenty of research beforehand and intended to spend our two evenings at the more lively Serendipity/Ocheteaul beaches, only returning to the Sokha Beach resort to sleep. Unfortunately the torrential rain continued and we ended up trapped in the resort all evening.
The following day we walked along the road to Serendipity Beach and, whilst busy, had a more carefree atmosphere despite being approached constantly for the usual manicures and hair braiding.
We returned in the evening and it was wonderful to sit on the beach lined with restaurant barbecues, exploding fire crackers and general commotion - such a contrast to the sterility of the previous night.
The Sokha Beach resort wasn't all bad. The beach was clean with a crescent of lovely white sand and the breakfast at the resort was extremely good and varied, however I wished we'd skipped this last leg of the holiday and remained in Kep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I spend 9 days at the Sokha Beach resort and we can say it sure as hell ain't worth all that money. Before we came to Sihanoukville we stayed in Siem Reap for a couple of nights where we paid 38 euro's a night in a 4 star hotel and slept in one of the suites! Here we paid 110 dollars a night and all we got was an very noisy room (you could clearly here the other guests and the a/c was also making the weirdest noises) and an outdated bathroom with mold stains!The prices at the poolbar are ridiculous. For a bottle of local water (1500ml) you pay almost 4 dollar and if you want Evian you pay over 7 dollar! (in the supermarket you pay 50 cents for a bottle of local water). We asked for a breakfast box once cause we were going on an excursion and the guy behind the reception told me, since we were leaving around 9 we could get up earlier to eat breakfast at the restaurant......seriously???? I'm on holiday and I don't need anyone telling me how late I should eat my breakfast! Besides, I'm usually not that hungry when I'm just awake....the beach was beautiful but that's it. Next time we visit Sihanoukville we'll look for another place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I really don't know where to start on this one. We have lived in the country a few years and stayed at this place a total of three times. Being expats in Cambodia many regularly goes to the coast, either to Kep or to Sihanoukville. This time we had visitors from our home country and they wanted to stay at a place with a large pool. So we decided to give Sokha another chance, we shouldn't. First of all the resort comprises of two compounds nowadays, but the reception and restaurant in the far one (where we stayed) were closed. We had to go and have breakfast at the other restaurantm, that's a long walk in the heat. They did have golf carts to shuttle people but those weren't enough. The buffet wasn't enough for all those people so we ended up having some scraps that were left on the plates. Coffee was cold when served, we repeatedly asked for hot coffee and extra knives and forks without any luck. OK, that could have been a one time incident.

Moving on, the rooms are ok in size and cleanliness, but not five star as they claim to be. It's like they haven't seen a five star hotel, let alone don't have a clue what five star means. The A/C isn't enough to dry up the air in the rooms, and now it's the dry season. I can tell you it's even worse during rainy season.

The beach is very beautiful, but there is no service down there... Why?

Parking, there is a large parking lot behind the far complex, but it's almost empty as most of the rich locals wants to show off their expensive cars and importance and therefore parks right in front of the (closed) reception and ends up being in the way for people passing through and forced us that parked on the assigned parking to drive over the grass to get out. Maybe this is charming for western tourists, but this behaviour is very annoying for us that lives here.

Everything is expensive, explanation - Five star!. Well, they should have a look at Shangri La in Jakarta or someplace similar. It doesn't have to be expensive to be good.

Check in and check out doesn't work properly with lines building up very quickly.

The wooden deck surrounding the pool and also functions as walkways along the rooms is already dried up and big nails sticking out making it a hazard, especially for young children. I am sure that in other countries, this would the place to be shut down until they fixed it. They just don't seem to care about it , until a rich local gets injured I should probably add.

This place is poorly managed and it's obvious that the owner is running the place with a minimum of (untrained) staff to squeeze out as much money as possible.

No take your money elsewhere. Consider Sihanoukville to be a mid to low range resort town and book yourself into one of the very nice a and better priced family hotels that are available. Coolabah for instance. Standard there is not the best, but the service and food is fantastic and at a great value and they have a small pool also that is sufficient for children and for yourself to cool off.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AngkorTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed at Sokha Beach Resort on 8 - 10 March. I had booked a Lakeside Deluxe room. Things did not start well as I waited for 30 minutes whilst my room was readied. The "Lakeside" is not a lake but a swimming pool and quite a distance from the main hotel. The website states - " Spacious rooms sensitively furnished and decorated in modern Khmer style looking out onto the magnificent pool and lake view. Bathroom is attractively designed with separate shower stall and bathtub. It comes complete with cable colour television, individual air conditioning, in-house telephone, Wi-Fi, a kettle with complimentary of coffee and tea-making ingredients, mini-bar and personal safety box. Room size: 45 sqm." What I got was a dirty room with old faded cane furniture, chipped paint with a child's name written on the wall. I requested a new room and was upgraded to a chalet facing the water (backwater). Upon inspection this too was dirty (gecko droppings etc) and had an unused feel about it. I returned to reception and requested a room in the new hotel.

Matters improved quickly. The reception staff were professional and polite as were all the staff. I ended up with an ocean view room on the third floor. Initially I was told that I would have to change rooms for the second night (which I was happy to do under the circumstances) but this did not eventuate.

The beach and the main pool are the main points of attraction. Both are relaxing. The rooms are good but nothing spectacular considering the full price. Breakfast was run-of-the-mill and during busy periods seating is difficult to find. Despite the presence of no smoking signs people lit their cigarettes in Champa Cafe without considering other patrons. Checkout was a nightmare - waiting 35 minutes whilst the staff endeavoured to attend to two or three people at once. A better system needs to be installed or roster more staff on during check-out. This was my first Sokha experience. It will also be my last.

I stayed at Sokha on the strength of Tripadvisor. The other hotels I had viewed all rated badly. Sadly, I wasted $450 at the Sokha.

Room Tip: Stay in the new hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archiekaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.4 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 74 in Sihanoukville
645 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 74 in Sihanoukville
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 74 in Sihanoukville
716 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 74 in Sihanoukville
400 reviews
4.4 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#8 of 74 in Sihanoukville
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Beach Resort

Property: Sokha Beach Resort
Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat 4, Mittapheap Dist., Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Sihanoukville
#2 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Beach Resort is set amidst 23.5 hectares of beautifully landscaped beachfront and garden with its own 1.5 kilometer pristine white sandy beach. Voted amongst the Best New Hotels in the World in Condé Nast Traveler Magazine's Ninth Annual Hot List 2005, this resort is certainly a top choice when vacationing in South East Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sokha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Beach Hotel Sihanoukville
Sokha Beach Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing