We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay in Sihanouk Ville!!”
Review of Sokha Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sokha Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was impressed by the size of the private beach the hotel has. Restaurants, spa, kayaks, very friendly staff, delicious breakfast, a very short tuktuk ride to the busy dining and drinking Ochheuteal beach!! I would stay there again!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HunterBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

800 - 806 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

The beach is lovely and worth paying a premium, but so many things are lacking at this hotel. Rooms are spacious but cheaply decorated. Housekeeping never made it to our room before 3 pm, sometimes after we had returned from the beach for the day. We were in an executive suite so would have expected better service. Internet reception and water pressure were nonexistent, a 5* resort could figure this out. Service is spotty and lacking. Breakfasts were fine but they were slow to replenish items that had run out, tables were never cleared unless asked, and key items just missing (syrup with pancakes and French toast). The front desk were the worst, pretty girls but few spoke English well enough to be upfront at a 5 star resort. They quoted me $170 to kep, I was able to arrange it in town for $40. Food at the restaurants was expensive and not very good. The Christmas Eve Gala at $60/person was the cherry on top. The hotel flew in a terrible NYC rap duo who proceeded to serenade my young children with swear words and other adult themes. We spent here weeks in Cambodia and this was by far the worst hotel, it has huge potential but management need to get a clue. I could overlook the facilities if the service was better.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank majurormi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Average experience I would say, for such a luxury hotel and expensive price that I paid. We stayed at a waterfront bungalow. The hotel room is fine and clean with nice decorations. What annoyed me so much was the very poor Internet reception. The hotel's explanation was - there are too many guests! This is really unacceptable! In the end we couldn't make our trip to Koh Rong Island or the Ream National Park as we couldnt make a booking through internet in advance. I would expect that for such a luxury hotel who bought the entire beach should at least maintain good facilities such as basic Internet connection. But this might be a good place for family who just want to stay at the resort with no need to chill out and Overall - not very good for young people....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I_X_XBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed four nights at this hotel! By far, the best thing about this hotel was the beach! It was gorgeous, never crowded, and there always seemed to be enough chairs.
Compulsory Christmas dinner was great in food, but the entertainment was shocking and NOT family friendly. They had some Rap singers flown in from NYC,fair bit of strong adult language and adult topic. That was disappointing as I was sitting there with my small children and after their performance some local school children came and sang.
Rooms were spacious, plenty of hot water. Pool is nice. Overall, just lacking a bit in service for what your paying for the room.
Spa was great, tried out a few services and enjoyed!
Breakfast good, would have liked to have seen a better variety of fruit.
Overall I think it's probably the best beach and hotel in the area, and we were happy with our stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sfinsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Can't fault anything with the Sokha Beach Hotel - the lobby is impressive, the service is impeccable, the rooms are amazing with great views - at least my suite with the sea view! Fantastic breakfast buffet, swimming pool, new and well equiped gym, private beach with service and no hassle from hawkers and beachboys. BUT it has a tacky Ls Vegas neon casino attached to it, it is owned by the richest man in SE Asia, and it is at least a 20 minute walk from the closest restaurant/bar if you want to get out of the hotel. We ended up taking a tuk tuk to Otres Beach every morning, and moved to a more central family hotel after a few nights. So if you want luxury and relaxation, by all means spend your money here.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny - with three balconies and sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moffedillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for five nights over Christmas and apart from the very expensive Christmas party $60.00 per person which was compulsory, the service was first class, great pool and beach and close enough to the chaotic Serendipity beach for a quick visit, it's pricey for Cambodia standards but well worth it, rooms are large and airy, I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrownNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

At the end of a 2 week tour of Cambodia this was definitely the place to relax. The rooms were spacious, the staff helpful and the pool was lovely. The private beach was stunning with plenty of space between people. We went in November and the whole hotel felt peaceful. The downside, if there was one was that you had to get a Tuk Tuk to the nightlife..... Well worth it for 2 dollars!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.4 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 75 in Sihanoukville
658 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 75 in Sihanoukville
500 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#2 of 75 in Sihanoukville
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 75 in Sihanoukville
384 reviews
4.4 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#8 of 75 in Sihanoukville
189 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 75 in Sihanoukville
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Beach Resort

Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat 4, Mittapheap Dist., Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Sihanoukville
#2 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $82 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Beach Resort is set amidst 23.5 hectares of beautifully landscaped beachfront and garden with its own 1.5 kilometer pristine white sandy beach. Voted amongst the Best New Hotels in the World in Condé Nast Traveler Magazine's Ninth Annual Hot List 2005, this resort is certainly a top choice when vacationing in South East Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sokha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Beach Hotel Sihanoukville
Sokha Beach Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing