We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach , nice rooms , average food”
Review of Sokha Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sokha Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great beach , nice rooms , average food”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this big hotel as we could not find any smaller options in town, this is not our normal cup of tea hotel . The beach is stunning and private , food is nice at the end of the beach but bad at the main restaurant. rooms are nice .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    541
    283
    120
    55
See reviews for
295
681
75
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I was very impressed by our stay at Sokha. The rooms were quite nice, I would say equivalent to an international four star and you pay accordingly. The pool was very large and although I agree with some other reviews that the early closing time of the pool is undesirable. There is a big swim up bar which is fun. The beach in front is lovely, clean and calm. There is a good size spa with complimentary steam room, sauna & hot tub. The little casino at the hotel was surprisingly pleasant as well. Had a table with blackjack as well as roulette amongst other things. I myself didn't play but our friends did and actually made out quite well. No Internet in the room which can be a little annoying, but was available in lobby and breakfast area foc.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MongolGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Well worth its five stars. Rooms were well equipped. Food was excellent. Setting was very pleasant in both the gardens and the private beach. The staff were very good and both efficient and friendly. When I inadvertently left my camera under the table one night I was both surprised and delighted that the staff had kept it safe for me which sums up the nature and level of the genuine desire of the staff at this hotel and the Cambodian people as a whole to please and look after you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ed w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Very good hotel set on its own private excellent beach. Rooms are large and clean and the staff are all very friendly. Breakfasts are fine with a fair selection of food. Nice pool bar which serves food. We had a couple of meals at Lemongrass restaurant which provides good food on the deck overlooking the beach. Food is more expensive here than in the local restaurants. Only negative point would be that they appear to run out of certain dishes on each occasion that we visited. Lots of tuk tuks available outside the hotel gate. Nice hotel to relax in after travelling Cambodia.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteHGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I'm not a fan of large resort hotels but in truth this was not at all bad. The rooms were spacious and clean, the common areas well maintained and the staff delightful. The pool area and bar were large and well laid out and the beach again with it's bars were clean and very restful. On the negative, prices are quite high, breakfast OK only. The main restaurant area blasted every night by a questionable four-piece combo from 5.00 till 11.00 which made sitting there impossible. Lemongrass restaurant on the beach was pretty good although not cheap. Nice spa, gym and treatments areas All in all, a pleasant oasis. It purports to be 5*...I'm not convinced about that. Perhaps in terms of facilities but a couple of rough spots need polishing first.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stjSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We're not the luxury resort types but we're not really seasoned Asia adventurers either. So we savored the luxury and for $3 struck out in a Tuktuk to lap up the real life tastes and smells of Sinhanoukville.

If Sokha's really 5star - I'm not sure? It lacks atmosphere and is clearly an ethical ghost town but the calm cleanliness, great pool and pristine private beach provided all the privileged comforts we needed.

All the staff are very kind and attentive, especially the women down at the Beach Bar. Yet the real star of the whole place is Soun Bopha! We had the most increadable massages from her at the on site Jasmine Spa (my girlfriend went back to her again specifically!) An extremely caring and sensitive professional - we can't recommend Ms Bopha enough.

Stay here but spend the rest of your money where it's really needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truth24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Not to be confused with a 5-star Hawaiian resort or other such western place. There are many small issues, some more annoying like being woke up by the cleaners at 7am each morning, the pools closing by 7pm and usual reservation confusion at check in. Others are more endemic like the courtesy bus driver trying to scam you for $10 per person and a power cable at the bottom of the childrens playground slide that was plugged into an extension with the wires showing, in the wet as it just rained!!

But when all is said and done its probably the best property in Sihanouksville and the beach is the best by far. Although you don't have to be a resident to use it, being that close is nice.

Also lemongrass restaurant was worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheresmyhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.7 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 74 in Sihanoukville
360 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
699 reviews
1.4 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 74 in Sihanoukville
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 74 in Sihanoukville
464 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 74 in Sihanoukville
390 reviews
4.4 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#9 of 74 in Sihanoukville
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Beach Resort

Property: Sokha Beach Resort
Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat 4, Mittapheap Dist., Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#1 Casino Hotel in Sihanoukville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Beach Resort is set amidst 23.5 hectares of beautifully landscaped beachfront and garden with its own 1.5 kilometer pristine white sandy beach. Voted amongst the Best New Hotels in the World in Condé Nast Traveler Magazine's Ninth Annual Hot List 2005, this resort is certainly a top choice when vacationing in South East Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Sokha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Beach Hotel Sihanoukville
Sokha Beach Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing