We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”
Review of Sokha Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sokha Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2007

I stayed at Sokha last november with 2 friends.

I read in another review that the reservation service was awful: it wasn't for us! We changed our reservation lots of time because we made a travel around Thailand, Laos and Cambodia and the hotel changed our reservation without problem everytime!

The room was very clean, new and large enough for 3 persons. The bathroom had shower and bathtube and every room had a balcony.

There are 3 or 4 restaurants: we tried only the buffet one because we went in Serendipity Beach that is close with tuktuk.
The buffet was very big and everything delicious: I'm Italian and I like to eat well...the food it was!! And the price wasn't too expensive.
The breakfast is gorgeous...there is a varied selection of different dishes.

The hotel has a beautiful swimming pool and it is very clean.

The beach is the best one of the town and it has comfortable beach-beds. The sand is perfectly clean: there are attendants who clean the beach lots of time during the day.
All along the beach there are bars and two places where you can take massages...

All the staff was amazing and speak a good english. In the hotel work a huge quantity of persons and they try to answer to every request!

The only thing that I have to complain is:
we decided to go to the Riem National park with a tour organized by the hotel, everything went well except for the lunch, only a poor sandwich..we paied 80 dollars and it's lot of money for Cambodia!!

The last thing...I would like to go there again !!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Solosamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,545 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2007

We opted to stay at the Sokha Beach Resort for the second part of our trip to Cambodia having spent one week in Phnom Penh. The hotel was gorgeous, rooms very clean and air conditioned which thankfully you could leave on all day whilst you weren't there! Many restuarants within the complex however rather pricey in comparison to outside the resort (which is to be expected). For non fishlovers like myself and my partner we found the menu in the Lotus Resturant very poor, however the club sandwich and fries was excellent. If you are a fish lover then the buffet each night looks great! The live entertainment was really nice to watch and dance along too if you felt the urge. The spa was also excellent and pretty reasonable too. As others have said the pool and beach was absolutely beautiful and make our relaxing week very relaxing as there were plenty of sunbeds, not alot of noise and very attentive staff. My only real problem was with room service, they found it very hard to understand english even though this was the main language spoken after cambodian. Twice the phone was put down as they didn't understand an order of toast and jam and a pot of tea. This was quickly resolved when taken up with the reception area of course. For the true taste of cambodian lifestyle it is worth a visit around the rocks to the other beach (I can't remember the name of it but it starts with O) You can sit on wicker chairs with the sea lapping at your feet and have a pleasant meal and a drink all night if you wish and so cheap! It is hussle and bussell and if you have had enough of the beggars and children selling their braclets then the bar attendants will keep them away from you .... probably our best evenings were spend sitting under the stars with a glass or two!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmmaRomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

The reservation supervisor was rude. She shouted to me and told lie to me. That was really a horrible experience:

Their computer system posted wrong price into their website, and I confirmed a room and received a confirmation from them. But then that Ms. Phary kept telling me that was their supplier NOT the hotel. So the agreement CANNOT be counted!! She forced me to accept the new terms and reject to transfer the telephone line to the manager.

That kind of service ruined my holiday by their rude and shouting.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank inkink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

Sorry if it has taken a long time to write this review but I feel I must. We stayed at this lovely resort over Christmas and New Year. It is situated on the best beach we have seen which is cleaned everyday and all day long by nice ladies. The rooms are confortable and clean. The food is very good but a little expensive for Cambodia.
The staff are very attentive and the manager Pierre looked after me so well when I was knocked down by a motorbike on New Year's eve. He came to the hospital and sent a car to pick me up and made sure I was confortable thereafter. Could not praise enough this lovely hotel and the friendly people of Cambodia.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Marie-Claude A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2007

This hotel has extensive facilities, a lovely beach, spacious and very comfortable rooms and a great pool for US$98 a night, including breakfast.

Staff were very professional. There was a mix up with our booking which was not the hotels fault but they upgraded us anyway.

The place doesn't have much atmosphere, but neither does the rest of Sihanoukville. The food was fine but not special, apart from a lovely meal we had in their restaurant overlooking the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JoB1Kenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2007

great room, pool, own perfect private beach with wonderful sunsets. Just round corner is hippy beach - take moto and get seafood bbq for $2 and lie sipping cocktails on sunlonger on beach with fire eaters etc

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seasone_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2007

We chose to stay at the Sokha Beach resort after spending a week touring the "must see" sights of Cambodia. Our tour operator (Kuoni) did not have this hotel on their list when we booked the Cambodia tour, but i had seen the website of the Sokha Beach and it appealed to us to stay our whole holiday in Cambodia and not rush away to Thailand etc, as seems to be the norm with most tourists. Kuoni happily arranged the hotel and relevant transfers (with personal guide and driver) and although we were slightly apprehensive on the standard and service we could expext, we need not have worried.
The hotel could not have been more welcoming. I am sorry to say that i got a bit anal about the first room allocated to us - it was on the ground floor, with a lovely view of the garden and pool. i just dont like the ground floor and prefer to be higher - to cut a long story short, we ended up with one of the managers walking around all the available rooms he had and i could choose which room I prefered. this was all done with a smile and not a hint of "eyebrow raising" and ultimately we even received some flowers and a fruitbowl. the room was cleaned promptly every morning and we received clean towels and complimentary water twice daily.
The hotel overall was kept in pristine condition, whether that was the lovely gardens or restaurants. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and yes, there was occasionally a small language problem - but no worse than we have experienced in other parts of the world. Although we did of course see plenty of the typical "I am a tourist and therfore I can shout louder and be obnoxious and demand a service and attention I wouldn't dream off in my own country" attitude. (or indeed could afford them there) Ah well, you get them everywhere!
Overall, we can only recommend ths hotel. it is of a standard we did not expect to receive in Cambodia and we certainly have not stayed in a resort where there are girls "sweeping" the beach all day long to keep it looking pristine. We thoroughly enjoyed the tranquility of the beach, the excellent food and Spa facilities. we would not hesitate to return to this resort at any time.

Stayed: March 2007
8  Thank PeggyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.5 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#10 of 76 in Sihanoukville
678 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#3 of 76 in Sihanoukville
529 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 76 in Sihanoukville
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 76 in Sihanoukville
391 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 76 in Sihanoukville
423 reviews
4.4 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#11 of 76 in Sihanoukville
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Beach Resort

Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat 4, Mittapheap Dist., Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Sihanoukville
#1 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $119 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Beach Resort is set amidst 23.5 hectares of beautifully landscaped beachfront and garden with its own 1.5 kilometer pristine white sandy beach. Voted amongst the Best New Hotels in the World in Condé Nast Traveler Magazine's Ninth Annual Hot List 2005, this resort is certainly a top choice when vacationing in South East Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sokha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Beach Hotel Sihanoukville
Sokha Beach Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing