We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In with the new” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moon Julie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moon Julie Hotel
Ranked #34 of 72 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“In with the new”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Moon Julie is off to a great start in Sihanoukville. The place is beautiful with a modernist, open and airy lobby. The rooms are similarly bright and functional. The best part of our hotel stay was the help and attention we received from the staff.

Only half the rooms are open and work is continuing. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    65
    42
    29
    19
See reviews for
26
69
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed at Moon Julie after booking last minute on Agoda. Its near Serendipity beach, and as such, there are lots of bars, restaurants, travel agents within a two or 3 block stroll. The beach is a 3-5 minute walk depending on your pace. Very very accessible to the sand.
The hotel is brand spanking new (and still being constructed). The rooms are large, bright, modern, and fairly well designed. It is clear that they are going for the upmarket luxury traveller, and I'm sure once the construction has been completed and they work out a few minor kinks in service etc, that it will start to command a higher rate, as there are few moderate to luxury options in Sihanoukville, which is mainly populated by guesthouses and beach bungalows etc.
The staff is very helpful, polite, and had a reasonable command of English (and I'm guessing a few other languages). Their uniforms are stylish and added to the professional feel of the staff. Pool is large and nice. It looked as if they were building cabanas adjacent to it. The breakfast area is open air to the pool level. The only downside is that the lobby, breakfast area and common areas then get quite a few mosquitoes. As much as I know that people travel to Southeast Asia to enjoy the weather, I might recommend that they install sliding doors on the breakfast area/pool barrier to help eliminate the flying pests. It really was the only downside to the hotel that I can see.
Overall a very good value for money, a friendly staff, and a very clean and welcoming room with all of the modern conveniences that we like to see. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank premjoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

The staff and management go out of their way to be friendly and made my husbands birthday very special. The rooms are spacious and bright and very clean. Breakfast was good, again very pleasant staff who try hard. The pool is nice but the beds are so uncomfortable it's not a pool were you would hang around for long. The breakfast room does need sorting from the point of view of flys they are everywere on the food on the tables and on us. Management in my opinion should have seriously considered opening before all the noisy building work was complete. Not to bad for a couple of days just light work nr. The pool however a couple of days before we left they were using a cango drill just below our room which quite honestly was a nightmare. The manager did offer to move our room but because of the work we decided against extending our stay, in my opinion their is a level of noise which is exceptable and it did go beyound what is reasonable. If a guest is paying they want to relax but on the last few days this was impossible work was surposed to start at nine and finish at five but often work began at 7am and didn't finish till 6 30pm. We would return once the work is complete but if you want a relaxing holiday right now is not the time to go. I appreciate the work had to be done but it should have been done before guests paid to use the hotel. Having said all this I hold my hands up and say were noise is concerned I have a low low tolerance level. The reason I put terrible for value is because of the noise once complete it will be a wonderfull hotel

Room Tip: Our friends had a room that didn't overlook the pool and they didn't get the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1236Holidaysaregreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

this is a new hotel which they are still building but that didnt bother us as they started at 9-5 we still sat around the pool which is a good size but they do need better sunbeds as they are woodern with no cushions on so very uncomfortable. The rooms are very nice & clean with everything you need like safe, fridge, tea & coffee, air conditioner which was very quite. The bathroom is big very good shower but they should have put more lighting in as it is quite dark. Breakfast was ok with good choice of food but they do need fans as there is a lot of flies which is annoying when you are trying to eat. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I would only recommend staying here if you demand spotless western standard rooms. The food available at the hotel is not pleasant, and it is a fair walk or tuktuk ride to anyplace decent to eat. It is a clean, mold and bug free place. Nice but untrained staff, occupancy seemed generally low. I think the highlight is that the pool is big and well maintained.

If it is your first excursion to an asian beach town with family, it is a good choice. You can always order food in. If you are an experienced traveler, I do not recommend it, better places can be had at better value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holothurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

First impression of the exterior of the building was good, however it went down hill from there. The staff were very polite and you can tell they are really trying to makes great impression. For a hotel that is one month old, it was somewhat disappointing. The finishes weren't there, the painting of the wall wasn't done properly, the tap was not aligned to the centre of the sink, there was no where to put soap in the shower. The worst part of it was a high pitching noise that drove us crazy throughout our stay, which when it came on had to be fixed, although not before we had to complain. Apparently the high pitch noise came from the air con system that runs through the system. Every time the noise started, we had to phone the reception to send someone to stop it. Despite being told general work noise will start at 9am , drilling could be heard from around 7.30am. We had to leave the room and stay at the breakfast area for the entire morning until it was time for us to leave. Now the good part of it was the staff were lovely and the breakfast was really good. Choices includes soup noodles, made to cook eggs, congee with pickles, fried noodles, stir fried meat and continental choices. All in all it was a bit disappointing but I really hope that in a few months time when the building work it will be up to scratch. I hope people will give them a second chance.
I would question the owners decision to make a fast buck by opening so soon when the building is obviously not ready and only 2 floors have actually been opened, maybe the opportunity to make money out of customers whilst building was too good an opportunity to miss!!

Room Tip: Try to request rooms that are away from the stairs and lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sihanoukville hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I was prepared for an unfinished hotel and have to say that it didn't really effect our stay. Little things like position of toilet roll holder and need to reprint the feature wall in room 126. There's no character to the place, no art in rooms and very sterile. Other wise it's ok at the current rates. No mini bar is a down side for western markets.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DonRosenfeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
OC Boutique Hotel
OC Boutique Hotel
#26 of 72 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#17 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bao Mai Resort
Bao Mai Resort
#32 of 72 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Sand Hotel
Golden Sand Hotel
#45 of 72 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#18 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Julie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Julie Hotel

Property: Moon Julie Hotel
Address: Ochheuteal, No 23, St Tola, Sangkat 4, Khan Mittapheap, Preah Sihanouk Province, Sihanoukville 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 72 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moon Julie Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moon Julie Hotel is a luxurious 4-star property in Sihanoukville. The modern rooms and suites come with air conditioning and feature a flat-screen satellite/cable TV. A private bathroom includes bath/shower, slippers and free toiletries. A variety of Cambodian cuisine and seafood is served at the hotel’s restaurant. Cocktails, wines and local drinks are available at the Lobby Lounge and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Moon Julie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing