We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Excellent Location, Great people...an amazing experience at TAMU”
Review of Tamu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tamu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Excellent Location, Great people...an amazing experience at TAMU”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My girlfriend & I recently had the pleasure to stay 4 days in this perfectly located Boutique Hotel with an incredibly nice & helpful staff. As soon as we arrived we knew we'd be in for a treat: the first views of the "design swimming pool", Beach Bar & sea swept s off our feet and made us feel instantly relaxed & happy. We were welcomed with a refreshing welcome cocktail, while the staff helped us with our bags and installed us in our rooms. The rooms are spacious and comfortable which was well appreciated after days of backpacking. On our first evening, the staff had prepared us a special table all the the way at the sea to create a romantic atmosphere. Big compliment to the kitchen-staff as well who are doing an excellent job, with a fresh, daily updated menu (we literally tried every dish on the menu and all were as good). We have seen some of our most amazing sunsets ever from our design long chairs on the private beach with a nice glass of champagne...holidays quoi :)! Hotel Tamu over-delivered on all our expectations and we truly recommend to everybody who wants to enjoy a laid-back holiday in a classy, fresh and hip Boutique Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimitriruyssers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to recommend us on Trip advisor.
We are so happy that your TAMU experience has been over your expectations and it is a great award to read it from you.
We are also delighted that you enjoyed the Romantic diner set for you on the Beach on your first night with candles (that can be requested by all the guests to the reception or to the restaurant).

Be sure that i will share your words to our staff.

Very best regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    139
    48
    5
    4
See reviews for
110
419
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I spent a week at the Tamu Cambodia and it was Pure Happiness!!!
1. Beautiful design boutique hotel on a beautiful beach - Just the way we like it!
2. Super relaxing - the perfect break out of the city
3. Nicest Staff ever - a hotel called friendship
4. Sun sun sun - all we want is sun
5. Delightful sea and swimming pool and good cocktail - what else?
6. Yummy & healthy food - miam miam

Room Tip: And if the whole perfect experience at the Tamu is not enough…. Don't miss the morning you at 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Maudy S,

On behalf of all the TAMU team, we would like to thank you very much for your amazing review.
We are amazed that you totally enjoyed your experience in TAMU: our rooms, facilities, restaurant and the service.

We would be happy to welcome you again.

Wish you the best,

very best regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

A beautifully designed hotel. Simple and luxurious at the same time. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The hotel is designed around beach living. It's easy and enjoyable to wander around with bare feet and there are wash bowls to keep the sand at bay.

We really enjoyed the outdoor style bathroom and the simple and elegant design of the rooms. In fact I took lots of photos of decor because I was inspired by it!

It was so awesome to sit at a restaurant on the beach for all of our meals. It's so rare to sit on the sand and eat meals. This was part of what made our time here so awesome and relaxing. The restaurant service was excellent and the staff were very attentive. The meals are great and there's lots of fresh local seafood.

The hotel staff were very attentive and helpful. Email communication before we got there was fast and efficient. They helped us get an airport pick up and booking a bus to Phnom Penh. They made our stay very easy.

There is some construction going on next door. Mostly during working hours so wasn't a problem at all. We hardly noticed it but I saw that another review mentioned it so wanted to cover it off. It's honestly up to you as an individual how you would react to this. For us it wasn't a problem at all. In fact we liked hearing local voices during the day and it'll probably be finished by the time you read my review and book this hotel :)

We loved our time here and didn't want to leave. We're a couple in our 30's who like clean places with great design, at a fair price. I can definitely say that Tamu is all of these things.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Rachel T,

I would like to thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip advisor and for your lovely review.
We are delighted that you had a lovely stay in our hotel and that you appreciated the design, the facilities of the hotel and the restaurant. We are honored that the outdoor bathrooms inspired you.
I will share your nice comments to the staff regarding their work.

Thank you again for recommending us!

Very best regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed at the Tamu in May of 2014. I give this hotel only 2 stars out of 5.

Overall, at $90 US per night, the Tamu was way overpriced for what it had to offer. Don't let yourself be fooled by the description of the hotel on their website as it is somewhat misleading.

Our 'private garden' looked more like a patch of poorly maintained overgrown weeds. See pictures.

The room itself was very basic. There were no telephone or TV in the room, so forget about having any 'modern amenities` but air conditioning. It was raining when we arrived, so we had to ask for a TV, which they did bring to us, along with a cheap dvd player as there is no cable TV available. Of course, since there is no phone in the room, you have to get out and talk to staff if you want room service.

The floor of the room is basic cement, finished with varnish. No tiling or carpet. The room comes furnished with wooden benches and 'sun chairs', no real tables or cabinets. The wardrobe shuts with basic curtains, no locked doors. The bed was OK. At $90 US a night, the room was subpar at best.

The concept of an outdoor bathroom sounds cool at first. Until we realized that we could not shower in the day as there were construction workers on the roof next to our room in plain sight (see pictures). Mosquitos come out at night, so unless you want to end up with multiple bug bites, you can't shower comfortably at night either. The toilet was enclosed in a narrow outdoor room which smelled terrible. See pictures.

Tap water was tainted with rust, probably because the hotel's water pipes are rotten to the extreme. See pictures.

The hotel is located in a very remote area of Sihanoukville, poorly lighted at night and hard to access. So we were sort of trapped their. No restaurants nearby whatsoever, unless you take a tuk-tuk to downtown Sihanoukville, which cost $15 US for the roundtrip back (expensive probably because the Tamu made a percentage on the ride as they called the tuk-tuk for us).

The Tamu's neighbours are under construction, so we were located next to a construction site where pools of stagnant water are the perfect breathing ground for mosquitos.

When we tried explaining some of our issues to one of the managers (French), she was typically arrogant and could only figure that the problem was that we didn't have TV. To her, this hotel was perfect!

The Tamu's staff, however, was nice. The food was good too.

Otres beach is really nice, and the Tamu maintains its side of the beach clean. Unfortunately, you only have to take a few steps on the beach to stumble across garbage.

We were suppose to stay for 4 nights, but ended up leaving after the first night (to the Serendipity Beach Hotel, which was awesome and half the price of the Tamu). Managers discounted one night off our bill, and we paid for 3 nights in total.

Don't waste your time or money going at the Tamu like we did, and head straight to another beach like Serendipity or Sokha.

Room Tip: Avoid the 'private garden'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank V C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear guest,

We are always happy to read customers comments. However, in this case, we can see that you finally did the bad review you told us at the check out you will do as we applied our cancellation Policy (despite we made a discount to you). So, we are sad to feel blackmailed as well as we are really sad that our hotel didn’t meet your expectations and your tastes during your stay.

First, I would like to deeply apologize for the inconvenience caused of the water which is not due to rotten pipes by the way but it is due to the heavy rains we had (we are linked to a well). We are currently working on the issue. Regarding the outdoor shower and the fact that workers can see you, this issue has been solved with a extra cover behind the bamboo fence respecting the privacy of our guests.

Second, it seems that your experience in our hotel is a big misunderstanding. Did you really take the time to check our website ?
We advise that we do not provide cable TV on our website. You can see clearly the pictures of our gardens and they do not lie. It is the same for the room pictures and the concrete floor (that you qualified as « floor for the pigs »). We respect your opinion and we respect the fact that our style and choices of decoration are not the taste of everybody. But, please, everything was on the website on pictures…. So, why choosing an hotel that doesn’t suit your personal tastes of design and decoration?
Regarding our location, also it is clear on our website. You were disappointed about our location because it was remoted and too « rustic », too « rural » with the cows crossing and you told us that you expected a beach like… in North America !
So, we felt totally helpless with these kinds of complains.

By the way, i would like to clarify that WE DO NOT TAKE COMMISSIONS from the tuk tuk drivers. You could have tried to catch one by yourself, it would have been the same price. It is also really unpleasant to read these kind of statements without proof !

Anyway, we are happy that you finally found all your needs in Serendipity beach and we are deeply disappointed and sad that our hotel didn’t meet your expectations.

Best regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelfranco Veneto, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We've been at TAMU few days ago for two nights. The hotel is brand new and the position is very nice at the end of 'Otres beach'. The weather was not that good so we missed part of its 'charme' but we did appreciated very much the Cambodian staff working at the hotel as well as the restaurant, especially the receptionist!
On another note there were many things that made this hotel quite pretentious starting from its manager that was quite arrogant and absent. Concerning the rooms, there was no phone to call the reception, no black-out curtains to cover the big glass-door and no writing desk area (I needed a desk to use the laptop for a conference call and they had to bring in a table from the restaurant...which was very kind of them I acknowledge!). The pillows were also of very cheap quality (polyester?). The room we stayed in was a 'superior' but on the first morning we were woken up at 7am by some terrible noises from next door where a new hotel is under construction. We consider that we should have received this information when checking-in as just because of this the room did not worth the money! However after complaining the manger accepted to move us to another room.
Beside this, it has been the only hotel in Cambodia (of the same category and below) where they charged us the fee for paying with a credit card.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Propriétaire at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Chiara,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience on Trip advisor. And I will share your comment about the team with everybody.

We are so confused and sorry that your experience was tarnished by the noise next to our hotel on the new building. Unfortunately, we can not control this kind of negative externality and we couldn’t inform you on check-in time because it changes every day. During weeks, works can be silent in the early morning. Sometimes workers start at 7am but it is not noisy jackhammers without work and without massive construction machinery.
We don’t have a business center because most of our guests come here to have a break and relax. Actually, our front office staff did their best to set for your a "private business center" in one of our empty room as soon you requested it.

We take note of your valuable feedbacks on the black-out curtains and the pillows to improve our service.

We are sorry and disappointed that your hotel didn't meet your expectation. We do our best to offer a nice and relaxing atmosphere and good service and we really do not want our place to be pretentious.

We would be happy to welcome you again so that you would have a great experience.

best regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The TAMU hotel was simply amazing. Located around 7km or $5-7 in a tuk-tuk its close enough to the crazy night life of Sihanokville but far enough away that you can have the beach pretty much to yourself and just relax. Perfect for couples. You can hire a moto for around $7 per day. You may get pulled over by the police and pay a “local licence fee” or whatever they call it, it’s a few bucks. Staff were great. Breakfast was included but the drinks, lunch and dinner menus were good quality at a price cheeper than you would expect from a hotel of this quality. Wifi was a little slow.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Chris P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel. We are really delighted that you qualify TAMU as amazing and that you enjoyed the quality of the food of the restaurant. It is a great reward for all our team who is working hard everyday to provide the best service possible to our guests.

Wish you all the best,

best regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful minimalist hotel exactly as described and shown in pictures. Be prepared for sandy reception, walkways and restaurant is on the beach, I loved this as little need for shoes and water bowl available near pool and hotel entry so no sand taken into rooms. I think this is definitely the nicest place to stay in Sihanoukville with the best private beach. There is some building works next door, but I stayed by pool during day and did not bother me with very little noise and could not see it for strategic natural screening. You will find new building all along the beach where ever you choose to stay as it appears fast developing area. For $10 you can do yoga on the beach with a lovely instructor and suitable for beginner to advanced, this was an experience not to be missed. The waiters In the restaurant by the beach were an amazing group of polite and charming young men who could not do enough for you they really made us feel welcome and made our stay special. My one negative is the lady at reception who was quite rude and uncomfortable to be around. How ever I saw her like this with others so did not take it personally and would not change my mind about staying here, she is not there all the time and the lovely Cambodian gentlemen on the reception more than compensate. Wi Fi works in all areas but you do need to re log in as you move from place to place. If you really need it to be fast and reliable the restaurant area is best with no drop out. The breakfast was great, usual fare but well done with a few special extras and all meals had in the restaurant were beautiful and no need to eat elsewhere. It is $14 american return trip to town but no need to visit often. One trip to town was enough, the local market was good with the usual market fare and a wander around town was unremarkable. The main beach looked very crowded and did not compare to Otres. You can eat elsewhere on Otres beach but food so nice at Tamu and decent price I wouldn't bother. All in all a relaxing stay in a beautiful modern but simple atmosphere and I think it is the best choice of hotel in the area.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Propriétaire at Tamu Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Louise W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review on Tripadvisor.
We are glad that your experience met your expectations.

We are honored that you appreciate the architecture, the design and atmosphere of TAMU and above all the food in our quiet restaurant. I will share your comments to all our team and to the yoga master.

For the negative feeling you had with one lady at the reception, I deeply apologize about it. I'm sure it was not made on purpose and i will make sure that it doesn't happen again.

We hope to welcome you again !

Very kind regards,

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.0 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
487 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 74 in Sihanoukville
1,491 reviews
4.6 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 74 in Sihanoukville
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 74 in Sihanoukville
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#8 of 74 in Sihanoukville
179 reviews
6.0 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 74 in Sihanoukville
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamu Hotel

Property: Tamu Hotel
Address: Far End of Otres Beach 2 | Marina road, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamu hotel is inspired to be a chic haven with style and sophistication to enjoy the end of Otres Beach, redefining the "barefoot chic" spirit. We offer our guests an affordable luxury and a charming retreat on one of the most beautiful beaches of Cambodia. Unwind, discover and enjoy valued leisure time. Escape to tropical paradise islands just off the coast. Amaze your friends and family with your Khmer cooking by joining traditional cuisine classes in Sihanoukville (downtown). Start your day peacefully with yoga along the beach with our yoga instructor and much more In our Beach restaurant: For non-resident hotel guests, please be informed that our sunbeds are reserved for our hotel resident guests during high season. Thank you for your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing