We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Tamu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at Tamu for 3 nights. We were greeted at reception with refreshing drinks. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff nor management, who were always helpful and courteous. Excellent location, lovely hotel, exceptional staff, 10 out of 10

Room Tip: Room no. 4 perfect location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Charmaine,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel.
We will share your very good comments to all our staff. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

very kind regards
wish you the best!

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 763 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time at Tamu on our trip to Cambodia in mid-March - definitely the highlight of the whole trip for me! They greeted us with a tasty welcome drink, and everyone was so friendly the whole time we were there. The whole property is beautiful - relaxing, lovely rooms (and nice bathroom), a nice pool area, beach-side restaurant, and an excellent beach. Very comfy chairs both beach and poolside, with thick cushions that make it comfortable to spend all day lounging! The AC in the room worked really well, and there was also a nice ceiling fan. The breakfast was really good, a nice continential set-up with different breads/toast, jam, cereal, several different fresh juices, plus you could order something off of the menu (I had the veggie fried rice both days, very delicious!). This part of Otres beach was very quiet, although there were still plenty of other places to walk to for food/drinks if you wanted a little more activity. The hotel also arranged for transportation for us from the Sihanoukeville airport as well as to Phnom Penh when our stay was over, which was great. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a classy place to relax in Cambodia...my ONLY regret is that we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Lin T,

All our team joins me to thank you for your amazing review.
We are really delighted that you enjoyed your experience in our hotel and it is a great reward that you share it on Trip advisor.

We hope to see you again in TAMU,

Very best regards

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights in this wonderful hotel! The owners are very nice, the staff is great and the service is wonderful! The food is delicious. The wine is perfect and the rooms are clean, bright and comfortable. Well, you name it. And the site is gorgeous. They deserve 5 stars!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Derk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Derk B,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking your time to do it!
We hope to see you again in TAMU, it was a delight to have you as guests.

Wish you the best

best regards

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Tamu for 6 nights as a part of our honeymoon trip to Cambodia. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. We were welcomed with a mango tea drink and smiles. The staff we all very friendly and accommodating. The owners were regularly around which was nice to see and the were also friendly and said hello. The manager was lovely and when she heard it was our honeymoon she organized our room to be done up with swans kissing as our towel and frangipani leave over our bed, even using the petal to spell "honeymoon" and a complimentary bottle of wine. They also arrange a candle light dinner right on the beach especially for au the following night. Made us feel very special. The food was great. Breakfast is made to order and a continental breakfast buffet supplied. The juice is more of a purée, to thick for my liking but lots of people enjoyed it. Coffee made to order as well espresso, cuppa chino or latte or hot chocolate. The beach is peaceful with the odd lady offering massage. The rooms were large and nice, the showers had great pressure which isn't often available in Asian which made all the difference. We hired a scooter from the hotel which made traveling easier as tuk tuk a add up if u want to travel into town each day. The only down fall was that everyday we had to fill up the tank as someone was driving it at night or steeling the gasoline. Over all a awesome time spent here.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your lovely review on our hotel. It was a pleasure to make your honeymoon special during your stay and we are really glad that you enjoyed the romantic dinner set up on the beach.

We apologize for the issue with the gasoline and thank you for reporting it. We are now "investigating" on this matter to find out what is going on and to make sure that it doesn t happen again.

Wish you all the best,

best regards

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stunning, simple architecture. Sand floors in many areas which can be a nuisance. Could easily be solved with more water bowls to rinse feet. Good lap pool. Rooms spacious and comfortable (we had sea view from upstairs) but bathroom too dark and always wet as wet-room approach didn't quite work. Dressing gowns would be a welcome addition. Great restaurant area by beach with super-friendy staff, the best place to eat. Beach gorgeous and great trees for shade. Comfortable loungers, often being used by non-residents which the hotel needs to resolve. Many passing hawkers on beach but generally friendly. Owners went out of their way to a Sihanoukville pharmacy for us which was great service.

Room Tip: Upstairs have sea views if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjp_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear guests,

We really appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you to review us on trip advisor!
We note all your valuable feedbacks on your experience in our hotel and we take seriously your suggestions to improve ourselves.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again!

Very best regards

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

It was my first time to Cambodia and I stayed at Tamu for a week beginning of March . From the moment we arrived the staff were so helpful and this continued right through our stay . The rooms are good sizes - I had a standard room and my friend a superior room which came with an outside shower - both great . you were provided each day with mosquito coils which do keep the mosquito's at bay . The hotel does have sand in a large amount of the outdoor spaces so my advice is to just bring flip flops if at all and they do provide flip flops in the rooms as well . Over the road from the hotel is the restaurant which we went to every day to use the beach . This was great with the beach being swept every day and the staff again so friendly and helpful . My friend and I also took advantage of the yoga on offer each morning held on the beach , which is a must if you are into that sort of thing . They do also organise horseriding on the beach and boat trips as well but we decided we were happier taking advantage of the beach each day . This hotel is a must if you have never been to Cambodia - I didn't want to leave .

Room Tip: I had a standard room and my friend a superior room - both great . The main difference is she had an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Philippa,

All the TAMU team wants to thank you for your lovely review on our hotel.
We are really glad that you enjoyed our beach and all the facilities of TAMU.

We hope to see you again!

Wish you all the best,

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at Tamu for 4 nights in February. The professional photos are an true representation of Tamu. We stayed in Unit 1 which has a private courtyard entrance facing out to the beach and were treated to a beautiful sunset on our first night. Most of the common areas are sand (even reception and entry to our room) and the floors are concrete so generally no shoes required! Rooms are minimally furnished, beds are large and comfortable with an outside bathroom. Although I read that mosquitoes are a problem we only had a few in our room and a mosquito coil is provided. If you want to spend some time in your room relaxing and get out of the sun for a while there is a TV but no channel reception so DVD's are provided. For English language there are a few but a tip would be to bring/buy some. Magazines and books are offered for borrowing. We found the breakfast and other meals eaten at the beach restaurant were of a decent quality. It's a new hotel and most of the staff are new and still learning English but we had no trouble in communicating as mentioned by other reviewers (their English was far superior to our Cambodian and we are visiting their country!) being on holidays we were fairly chilled and happy with the relaxed atmosphere offered by the friendly staff. The beach is very clean and pristine with only a few beach sellers / masseurs. They respected your refusal or were happy to come back for massage later in the day or the next day. We were staying in Asian that's part of the tourist culture and I find it odd for people to complain about this - it was in no way intrusive to us laying on the comfy beach chairs. A tip of staying here there are no shops, chemist or ATM with only a few options of other resorts to enjoy eating elsewhere so bring snacks and all supplies. A $15 return Tuk Tuk ride and you can be in the main area of Sihanoukville which we visited for an afternoon and to be honest it was an afternoon too long. Should have spend our time and money enjoying an island trip. A walk along the beach to eat and see Otres 2 took about 45 minutes. A private car was organised by the hotel for our journey onto Phnom Penh for $60USD for the 4.5 hr trip into the city. Tamu is a bit more expensive than most places but for the tranquility, relaxed atmosphere and beautiful beach staying in boutique hotel was a nice experience before we traveled onto Phnom Penh to continue the tourist part of our holiday.

A tip for transfer from the airport.... take the offer of the private transfer from the hotel ($25USD) if more than one passenger. There appears to be a 'cartel' for transport at the airport and we paid $6USD each for a ride into Sihanoukville to get 'dumped' on the roadside with other passengers and then mobbed by Tuk Tuk drivers whilst retrieving bags. The cost to Otres 1 is about another $8-10. I also think for any other transport apart from the bus you have to walk with your bags out of the airport to the road - approx 200m at a guess but better than the 'bun fight' on the bus.

Room Tip: Number 1 was a secluded room that doesn't have other guests walking past (see hotel photos) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkl3128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre T, Owner at Tamu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review us on Trip advisor and for sharing your experience in our hotel and all your tips.

We share all your comments to our team. We are glad that you found the level of english of our staff correct and that it was easy to communicate with them. It is a great reward for them as they are progressing everyday and try really hard to improve their english and also to learn new languages.

Very best regards

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#2 of 79 in Sihanoukville
550 reviews
6 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 79 in Sihanoukville
694 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#8 of 79 in Sihanoukville
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 79 in Sihanoukville
431 reviews
4.6 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 79 in Sihanoukville
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#13 of 79 in Sihanoukville
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamu Hotel

Address: Far End of Otres Beach 2 | Marina road, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $87 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamu hotel is inspired to be a chic haven with style and sophistication to enjoy the end of Otres Beach, redefining the "barefoot chic" spirit. We offer our guests an affordable luxury and a charming retreat on one of the most beautiful beaches of Cambodia. Unwind, discover and enjoy valued leisure time. Escape to tropical paradise islands just off the coast. Amaze your friends and family with your Khmer cooking by joining traditional cuisine classes in Sihanoukville (downtown). Start your day peacefully with yoga along the beach with our yoga instructor and much more In our Beach restaurant: For non-resident hotel guests, please be informed that our sunbeds are reserved for our hotel resident guests during high season. Thank you for your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tamu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing