We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive tourist trap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Beach Bungalows
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is is where the tuk tuks drop you off on otres 2. We asked for cinderella. The assistant said this was cinderella it had just changed its name. We found out the next day it was a scam as we had prebooked somewhere else. Ok mistakes happen but we were no the only one. The accomodation is $35 for a round hut and cold water shower about twice the price of nearby reputable places. Avoid like the plague.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 38 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

Never got such a bad experience with booking hotel before.
As a high season and Chinese New Year time.
I have booked this bungalow one week before, and the receptionist said that no room when I come. I have never seen the hotel which act like that.
The reason is conflict with Agoda. don no wether booking fore what?

Pay attention with this bungalow.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank LeeeWaynggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at White Beach Bungalows for 4 nights in January. We stayed in one of the upstairs fan bungalows. We had a reservation to stay somewhere else, but our room was given away. We were grateful to find a room at White Beach. It was an ok place to crash for a few days.

The bungalows are very basic. The bed had a a good mosquito net and was comfortable. The wifi worked reasonably well. Our room was cleaned everyday, and the staff were very accommodating. Breakfast was not included and was a little pricey. The food overall was disappointing--too expensive and not that interesting.

Sound carries from one bungalow to the next. You can hear the quietest conversation from your neighbors. This alone would prevent my returning.

It's across the road from the beach. Not the worst location in the world, but if you are going to Otres, don't you want to be on the beach?

Overall, White Beach Bungalows was okay, but I wouldn't return. The staff are friendly and will do what they can to make your stay enjoyable, but the super thin walls and location across the road from the beach make it less than ideal.

Room Tip: AC rooms are quieter and you can't hear your neighbors' conversations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BopperX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Ideal place for a relaxing break on the beach. Located in Otres 2, this area is away from the party scene of the other beaches, but still has enough bars and restaurants to keep you entertained.
The huts are feet away from the water, clean although sandy, come with towels and mosquito net and a strong fan to keep you cool if not cold at night! The food here is great and there is a wide variety of options.
The only thing letting this resort down is the staff. They are not enthusiastic, friendly or welcoming. Compared to the other resorts where the staff are keen to speak to you, the staff here barely say two words and don't even recognise that you've spoken to them. Very disappointing but would not stop me returning.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Just stayed 1 week in a fan room ($20) while a little pricey the room was charming and it was definitely worth it.. The local owners are new to the industry (hence maybe the mistakes on the amenities!) but are genuinely friendly and trying their best..It was a pleasure staying there and they are keen to listen to your suggestions...If your looking for a quiet, friendly retreat on the most beautiful beach in Sihanoukville (away from the crowds) stay here!!! I'll be back for sure ;-)

Room Tip: Have a talk to owner about a room discount... If you have a smile while asking i'm sure they wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cashewnut19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kong C, Owner at White Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Hello, how are you?
Did you arrive Siemreap? And how about your busseniss is going well?
Thank you for come to stay here.. And I hope I will meet you again and again.
I am sure that You will get the speciall price .

So,I wish you good luck all the time and your busseniss is very well growing .
I wished I could see you soon.

Thank you!
Chanratha Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My friends and I booked this accommodation on the basis of amenities advertised on Tripadvisor and the Sihnoukville Visitors's Guide including air conditioning, a pool, breakfast included etc.
The accommodation was extremely basic, there was no pool or air conditioning and the water coming out of the taps was dark brown! Perhaps one of the most disappointing aspects was that despite the fact we were paying a premium price of $35 a night, which was outrageous given the reality of the accommodation, the breakfast did not even include a drink - we had to pay! This is extremely poor value for money, falsely advertised and this experience unfortunately detracted from the beauty of Otres Beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My friends and I paid considerably more to stay at White Beach Bungalows based on information listed both here on the TripAdvisor website and the Sihanouk Ville Visitors Guide. Note that there is no fitness centre or swimming pool as listed on TripAdvisor and definitely NO air conditioning, DVD or even hot water as clearly stated in a number of locally printed Visitor Guide books.

On the positive, it is in a lovely secluded location - right across from the beach and the rooms were impeccably clean with comfortable, firm beds. If you can sleep without air conditioning, go for it but I still believe it is extremely poor value for $35 a night.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Otres Resort
Otres Resort
#10 of 75 in Sihanoukville
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ananas Beach Bungalows
Ananas Beach Bungalows
#21 of 237 in Sihanoukville
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Honeymoon Bungalows
Honeymoon Bungalows
#97 of 149 in Sihanoukville
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harmony Home
Harmony Home
#16 of 237 in Sihanoukville
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Sam's Beach Bar & Bungalows
#137 of 237 in Sihanoukville
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wildside Villas Otres
Wildside Villas Otres
#55 of 149 in Sihanoukville
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Beach Bungalows

Address: Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Beach Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the room with A/c is $45and the room with Fan $25 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your White Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing