We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ochheuteal Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ochheuteal Guesthouse
Ranked #45 of 231 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for over a week. The owner, Mike, is a super nice and helpful guy. It is quiet and only a few minute walk to the beach, restaurants and everything else. The rooms are new clean and spacious. Great staff too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ_Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    5
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
12
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 days & found it to be a friendly clean guest house. The rooms are fairly big & bathroom is quite adequate although floor mats would be an advantage so your not walking into main room with wet feet but not that big a problem. The fan & aircon worked well so room temp is always comfortable. Mike the owner is mostly on hand for any advise & any help you need & we found him very friendly & a happy person. We only ate there a couple of times & found the food excellent & reasonably priced. Your only a 2 minute walk to the beach & lots of bars & restaurants all very reasonably priced with good food & cold cheap beer. The staff at Ochheuteal are mostly friendly but found their English not so good but if you needed extra towel or toilet paper they would gladly give it to you. For $15 a night you can't go wrong at this guest house. As we where checking out early on last morning & waiting for our bus Mike even supplied us with 2 cups of hot coffee. We felt welcome & safe at this guest house.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouen, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

A very welcoming place, rooms are very clean and spacious. The owner is particularly available for its customers and attentive to our well being, at any time of the day ! The staff is also very friendly. The location of the guesthouse is very convenient: 2 minutes from the beach !

Don't hesitate, book there !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieESCSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

OVERVIEW: Mike's place is a fantastic stop in Sihanoukville. The rooms are simple, comfortable and immaculate. The bar is fun and food is delicious. It is a mere 1/2 a block from the beach but just far away enough to avoid the noise of the busy areas. Mike is an awesome host and the cast of friendly local characters who patronize the bar will make you feel at home and entertained for days. The property is quiet and very safe as there is a 24-hour guard. Ochheuteal Guesthouse is a more than solid choice for Sihanoukville. Clean, safe, fun.

LOCATION: The beach areas of Sihanoukville are heavily laden with bars, clubs and restaurants. When you check the reviews of other guesthouses and hotels in the area, a common complaint is that it is impossible to sleep because of the late-night noise. This property has the best of both worlds - close enough to walk to the action, but far enough away to avoid the noise. We did not hear a peep in our room and slept soundly through the nights. The guesthouse is right off the main road, just down the street from the golden lion monument.

ROOMS: The rooms are immaculate and simple. Fans and A/C are available. The bed was comfortable. There are not many extra frills - but the safety, comfort and space were right up our alley. Plenty of room for luggage. TV in room. Bathroom was fine, water pressure was good and WiFi signal was strong. Though basic, everything is very well taken care of and it is clear Mike takes pride in ownership.

LINENS & AMENITIES: Towels were large and soft and the bed linens were white, fresh and clean. There are a few amenities - toothbrush with toothpaste, bar soap, packet shampoo. Being female travelers, we come prepared with our own sundries but the very basics are provided for.

SERVICE: Mike is always around when you need him. His staff reflects his personality - really nice people. Everyone welcomes you right into the fold. The bar has a bunch of locals who will readily share any and every story you want to hear. They have great advice on the area and will be more than happy to give you pointers. Quite frankly, we loved spending our evenings at Mike's bar chatting it up with his friends and patrons. They were hilarious! Good people attract good people - and you will feel you have made friends by the end of your stay. The staff is very attentive and will always predict or meet your needs.

BAR/RESTAURANT: The food is GREAT here with a local and international menu. Drinks are likewise well priced and poured. We loved the bar!

At the end of your journeys, you typically will remember the people you met along the way more than anything else. Though Ochheateal Guesthouse is not a lavish indulgence, Mike will take good care of you for a great price. Cheers and happy travelling!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

They were fully booked first day we arrived and Mike, the owner drove around on his moped looking for a place for us, everywhere was booked up and as a last resort he asked his lovely daughter if she would mind us staying at her newly required apartment! A genuinely kind and very happy man who will make sure your stay is comfortable. We stayed the next 3 nights after at his guesthouse with large clean rooms with wifi and when our friend turned up he fit him into our room. Can't fault them.

Food, even though may seem a tiny bit more expensive at their restaurant, Smoky's Bar & Grill, is the best food you will find in Sihanoukville cooked by a top chef, seriously if you don't stay here, eat here!

Thank you Mike once again for all your help, you are a blessing to the world.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukeharmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The owner is a very warm hearted fellow be can not do enough for his guests. Any slight request he and his staff are there to help. The rooms are new clean aircon is fantastic and he has a generator that powers the street when most of the town has none. Which is rare in the town. It is located steps from the busiest beach shops within walking distance just a fantastic location. The rooms are reasonably priced for the standard it has a bar and restaurant attached which is well staffed lovely Khmer and western. The food is exquisite. The best I've had in Cambodia big meals well prepared and presented. Home baked bread. The British chef cures his own bacon. Homemade meat and potato pies. But the best I save till last. THE BBQ RIBS. WOW. best I've ever had! And I know my ribs. Very tender very tasty. The owner is happy to show you around guide you to the best spots he posted our post cards and even insisted on taking my friend to the Doctor when he had a nasty cut which got infected. Wish I'd have booked longer.
Highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 659HeidiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The owners and staff are very friendly and knowledgeable of the local area. The rooms have been recently renovated, there is parking, good water pressure, wifi, cable tv, comfortable beds and a great restaurant serving hearty meals for breakfast lunch and dinner. The location is in short walking distance to the beach and bars but far enough away to have some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baz870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Bao Mai Resort
Bao Mai Resort
#32 of 72 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows
Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalow...
#43 of 231 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chochi Garden Guest House
Chochi Garden Guest House
#10 of 231 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ropanha Boutique Hotel
Ropanha Boutique Hotel
#33 of 231 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
French Garden Resort
French Garden Resort
#5 of 231 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clearwater Guest House
Clearwater Guest House
#18 of 231 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ochheuteal Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ochheuteal Guesthouse

Property: Ochheuteal Guesthouse
Address: Ochheuteal Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 25 rooms with a choice of fan and aircon. The rooms are cleaned daily. We have 24 hour friendly staff. We also have a fantastic restaurant serving both International and Cambodian food. The guesthouse is situated at Ochheuteal Beach and all amenities are 5 mins away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing