We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, location & atmosphere!”
Review of Footprints Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Footprints Rooms
Ranked #121 of 233 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, location & atmosphere!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I really enjoyed this hostel. The staff were really friendly and welcoming. I only stayed for one night (10th to 11th April) before I headed to Koh Ta Kiev but, when I returned, the staff were happy to let me spend a day chilling in the hostel while I waited for my bus to Siem Reap.

The dorms were basic but comfortable and the fans worked well. The food was tasty, although a little overpriced.

The best thing about the hostel was the brilliant atmosphere, helped by the large communal area which was set-up with a large screen and great supply of films for everyone to sit back and enjoy... assuming you fancied a lazy day on the sofa rather than the beach which was just 30 seconds away!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    44
    20
    17
    41
See reviews for
6
42
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights is a dorm room. The room was clean and comfortable with a mosquito net, fans and lockers.

The location is great. A few km outside of the town which I consider a plus. It's right on the beach and the hostel has lounge chairs set out for guests.

The restaurant is reasonably priced and has good food. This part of Cambodia has a lot of power outages. Because of this, sometimes there's a delay on the cooking, and the wifi cuts out. Even when the wifi is connected, it's very slow.

There's a great atmostphere in this place. The show a movie every night where everyone can sit and watch on the very comfy sofas.

Overall it was a very enjoyable stay.

Sheila

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 67508387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at Footprints for a week in early March and we were not disappointed. Firstly, it is situated on Otres 2 beach which is the cleanest and quitest stretch of sand in the area. Before we booked in we had a quick look at the other guesthouses on the stretch and it was obvious straight away that the place with a real buzz was Footprints. The owners Diana and Tony were very friendly and really cared about the customers as did the rest of the team many of whom were backpackers themselves working their way round the world. The whole place had been carefully designed to cater for different budgets and the garden bungalow we stayed in was just perfect. The food quality was excellent and very modestly priced so no complaints on that front. Most evenings there was a power outage for an hour or so but this did not detract from the atmosphere of the place. Best of all though was the freindly ambience and hum of activity around the place. We will definitely stay here again on our S.E. Asia trip next year.

Room Tip: You have a choice of garden bungalows on the ground floor slightly higher priced than the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandCConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Positives:
This place is in best location in Sianoukville - Otres Beach, a quiet strip of unspoilt sand a few k's out of the main chaos.
The atmosphere in Footprints is great and the staff were very helpful even though they appeared to be run off their feet most of the time. The food is reasonably priced & of good quality - they have a pretty decent chef.
The dorm room I stayed in was great - all made of wood with mozzie nets over each bunk, it was like staying in a treehouse.

Negatives: Unreliable electricity - a power outage most nights (Cambodian standard!)
The bathrooms were a little - well - rustic. The water comes out brown and smells slightly iffy (it's fine to wash in and use to brush your teeth though, we survived!) and the drainage leaves a bit to be desired.

If you don't like pets, don't stay here - they have a couple of dogs and a very noisy cat!

All round, however, I loved it, and ended up extending my stay by 2/3 nights!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bklynyoga
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The rooms are small, stuffy and HOT. The location is great but the food here is horrible! We ordered from the lunch menu some noodles and a noodle soup. It was disgusting. None of us could eat the food. It was oily and gross. There is a Western guy in the kitchen cooking so I guess if they hire some Khmers to cook, it would be a lot better. They are also SUPER weird about who is sitting on their beach chairs and we witnessed them ask a family with small kids who regularly ate at their place, to please move off the beach chairs because they were not currently ordering food. NOT cool at all. For that reason, I would never come back or recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bklynyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sihanoukville hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location was definitely the best in Sihanoukville,quiet, with a beautiful white sand beach. Come here with a good book, sunscreen, and a swim suit. The service was very friendly and helpful - letting a group of us in late after our bus was held up in traffic. The hostel had a rugged Robinson Crusoe feel to it which added to its charm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

me and my friend stayed for two nights at footprints in feb 2012. We spent one night in a double room and one in a mixed dorm. The prices were cheap and the rooms were lovely. They were all new and fresh and clean. The food served here was amazing too especially the asian rice pudding!! Its always busy too which is a good sign and all the people who worked there and stayed there were lovely. At night a film is out on and you can all chill on the sofas. Its right on the beach too which is the best beach in all of sihanoukvill as is so quiet and peaceful. Such a great little place would highly recommend :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Otres Beach Resort
Otres Beach Resort
#89 of 233 in Sihanoukville
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harmony Home
Harmony Home
#18 of 233 in Sihanoukville
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wildside Villas Otres
Wildside Villas Otres
#56 of 143 in Sihanoukville
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mary Beach Bungalows
Mary Beach Bungalows
#136 of 233 in Sihanoukville
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Beach Bungalows
White Beach Bungalows
#64 of 143 in Sihanoukville
38 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Sam's Beach Bar & Bungalows
#109 of 233 in Sihanoukville
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Footprints Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Footprints Rooms

Property: Footprints Rooms
Address: East Otres Beach | Otres 2, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footprints is a friendly, relaxing place to come and enjoy your stay in amazing Cambodia. Please visit our Facebook page for contact info. Welcoming travellers from all over the world who are looking for good food, good service and somewhere with a chilled vibe, we know how to help you make the most of your time in Sihanoukville. Guests can enjoy our lounge to watch movies or make use of the free WiFi to connect with friends and family. We have our own bar and restaurant serving from breakfast through until late in the evening, free sunbeds right on the beach outside the entrance and a large beach hut to simply chill and maybe even enjoy a massage. We even have a gym for light workouts and can offer boxing training, just ask us! Live music events, quizzes and and games nights hosted regularly plus a list of trips and tours which we can book directly at reception. Footprints on Otres Beach has all types of accommodation available including an 8 bed mixed dorm room and private rooms for 2, 3 or 4 people. Private rooms types available are: single, double/twin, triple and 4 sharing. -Single rooms consist of one large, comfortable bed. -Double/twin rooms with one double bed or two large single beds. -Triple rooms with one double bed and bunk beds and can accommodate upto 4 people. All bed sheets, linen and towels provided. Security lockers in dorm rooms. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Footprints Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing