We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Place to Unwind” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Secret Garden at Otres Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Unwind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

After the hustle and bustle of Saigon and Phnom Penh we were in need of some well earned relaxation. Otres 2 beach is the perfect place and The Secret Garden the perfect place to stay.
The rooms are well appointed and clean, ours had an al fresco shower which was a nice touch. We spent most of our time relaxing by the pool but the beach is idyllic with clear, luke warm seas and golden sand. The expert massage ladies help dispel any lingering signs of stress.
The owners and staff are super friendly and attentive and the food was excellent and very fresh (particularly the spring rolls).
The extended family of dogs and cats led by Monster, added to the charm of this wonderful hotel and any pet back home who thinks they lead the life of Riley, hasn't seen these guys!
There is absolutely nothing to do in Otres 2 other than relax, which is perfect during the day, but if you are looking for a bit of night life, Otres 1 is just a short Tuk Tuk ride away.
We would definitely come back and look forward to Ken opening his cricket bar!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lornaspyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    108
    36
    11
    8
See reviews for
76
183
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We did not stay at The Secret Garden for our one week stay in SihanoukVille but we sure hung out here a lot. We stayed a few properties down on Otres 2 but everyone at the Secret Garden was so friendly and welcoming. The food is wonderful, taken from their garden and cooked fresh. Hanging out in the bar is so relaxing, they play great music at a perfect level and the owners and staff are great to socialize with. We were greeted by name every time we visited and felt so at home. The beach is spotless, kept clean all day and the cushions for the lounge chairs are brought in when it rains so they are not soggy like other places in the area. They have great bathrooms right by the bar with a lovely sink and towel for easy access for guests on the beach and at the bar.

Mama Claire nursed my husband back to health (he got food poisoning before we stumbled across The Secret Garden) with fresh coconuts for breakfast daily. If we had our way we would have never left!

We will definitely be staying at The Secret Garden the next time we are in SihanoukVille.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lornbugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Although it was a bit over-priced the nice, laid-back beach was worth it. I never made it to the other beaches in the area, so I'm going from what I heard. Staff were definitely on beach time, so don't expect anything too speedy. It was very quiet at night. Food was good and reasonably priced.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Life1is2short
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Lovely views but lacking the attention to detail that it drastically needs (ie, Sheets and Towels very threadbare). Bedding as requested for extra children not set up. Owners very much keep to themselves, but their Cambodian staff are very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool and its views into the beach are delightful and enjoyed two delightful meals at the restaurant. Would I go back mmmmmm doubtful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The beach setting is perfect- very quiet, the bungalows very nice and the pool also nice - however, for Cambodia the resort is very overpriced. The staff seemed a little gloomy also and not as welcoming as you'd expect. Attention to detail would also have been nice for the price we paid - it was my birthday and my fiance sent an email for something special to be done - even a complimentary fruit basket would have made it special, but nothing was done. For the money we paid, I would have expected them to go that extra bit further.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sianstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

great bedrooms, very clean and well done!
lovely swimming pool, nice bar area and fantastic beach.
stay away from town as its pretty grubby, but staying here you need need to go into town.
great food and very very friendly staff.
The owners keep themselves to themselves - in a good way, to allow you to relax and enjoy your holiday. But when asked for advice our future travels, they couldn't have been more helpful !!
All in all , if coming to the area, then definitely stay here. Looking at a few in town and at otres beach 1 ( this is at otres beach 2), they do not come close to the secret garden.
After staying here, get a boat over to Koh Rong Samloem and stay at lazy beach for a few days - a prefect isolated retreat!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
284 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Pristine beach with unspoiled views in a very relaxing environment. The bungalows are modern, clean and very comfortable. The staff is very friendly and service oriented. The breakfast included with the room is good as is the lunch menu. My suggestion for improvement is to re-work the menu to make it simpler and to provide a better breakfast selection. The staff needs training in the food and beverage area to improve the level of service expected in this type of setting. However, the owners are friendly, very approachable and went out of their way to help offset any shortcoming. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay in a bungalow towards the center of the compound. I stayed at the rear of the compound during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottAfghanistan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.0 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
4.6 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#3 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#7 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sahaa Beach Resort
Sahaa Beach Resort
#5 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mary Beach Hotel & Resort
Mary Beach Hotel & Resort
#12 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Garden at Otres Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden at Otres Beach

Property: The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
Address: Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden is located at the secluded end of Otres Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia. Our resort is designed to maximise the privacy of our guests, with detached bungalows set among lush gardens. Our bungalows are all equipped with A/C, free Wifi, minibar, and in our double bungalows,an attached jungle shower. We also feature Otres Beach's most beautiful swimming pool with kids' pool attached. At our beach bar & restaurant, you can relax and enjoy one of our signature cocktails at sunset, and try our great selection of Asian and Western cuisine. Happy hour specials every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Secret Garden at Otres Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing