We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
Nearby Hotels
Sahaa Beach Resort(Sihanoukville)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sokha Beach Resort(Sihanoukville)
$138
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legacy Hotel & Resort(Sihanoukville)
$67
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$23
$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamu Hotel(Sihanoukville)
$77
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Don Bosco Hotel School(Sihanoukville)
$21
$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tamarind(Sihanoukville)
$22
$18
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveler rating
247
141
44
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
141
44
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerotres beachfree welcome drinkbar restaurantfish tacosindividual bungalowstuk tuklaid backrainy seasonexpensive hotelother placesnearby islandsother resortssun loungershotel guestsgreat cocktailsconstruction site
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 453 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had 3 nights with our 4 children here and despite being rainy season and they were having unusual amounts of rain, accommodation was good, outdoor showers lovely esp in rain bungalows clean and spacious and serviced daily. Happy hour every night, in bar/restaurant right on beach, food in restaurant pretty good.. Beach in front of Secret garden clean, raked daily but beyond that, filthy, never seen so much rubbish on a beach but told a lot comes in from the sea at this time of year, such a shame. A new resort being built right next door. Is 20 mins tuk tuk from Sihanoukville, they arranged tuk tuks to meet us off the bus. Service pretty good, staff friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hewittsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

At the end of Otres Beach you will find the Secret Garden bungalows. Location is great, very relaxed atmosphere and quiet beaches. There is a kayak rental nearby where you can rent kayak or katamaran sailing boat for just a few bucks. Food tastes good and cocktails are very good. The accomodation however is a lot more expensive than other accomodation nearby. And the service does not really compensate the price difference. Nonetheless had a relaxing time at Secret Garden, what about an open air shower in your bungalow!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I thinking ti's the best place to be. The owners and staff try to do everything for you. Theo Can arrange trips and bustickets. The rooms are keepend very very clean. The restaurant part is on the beach. There you have your breakfast. The Nice thing is the shower. It's outsider your room bit Total secluded. The pool is clean and pritty. The distantie to town is only more than that II expected. They keep the beach clean. If you like à quiet place than the Secret Garden is the best. If you want many bars and go out late, than take à place closet to town .

Room Tip: Get a tuktuk threw the reception. It's 5$ one way, but you never have to pas more and the driver Will wait for you.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misterBigP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Despite sihanoukville being my least favourite place I visited in Cambodia the secret garden is most definitely my favourite place I stayed. It is at the quiet end of the beach and the owners keep the sand raked and clean.

The bungalows are spotlessly clean, have fan and aircon, beautiful big beds and luxurious jungle showers. The laundry service is cheap and efficient.

The pool was beautiful as was laying beside it getting a massage. There are no hawkers up this end too so you can truly relax.

We spent every night down at the beach bar and restaurant. Its about 30mins by tuk tuk back in to town. there were other beach bars nearby but we didnt try them. Started with happy hour cocktails to watch the sunset and then a nice dinner. We were pleasantly surprised by the abundance of good veggie food there too.

The staff, both Khmer and western , are lovely and welcoming. It really felt like home to us and we wished we could have stayed longer than 4 days. I highly recommend it.

Only negative is sihanoukville itself (nothing to do with secret garden). We found the beach really dirty with litter and waste going straight into the ocean and rubbish washes up all along the shore. We took a boat trip out to the islands but the poor water quality definitely spoilt it. It was very cheap but cost us a day we could have spent exploring ream national park or the river. I would recommend doing these things instead.

Ooh and I almost forgot. If you're an animal lover you can cuddle with their beautiful cats and dogs as well as watch the cows go by as you eat by the beach.

Total bliss!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerJe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

the best part about secret garden, is that the owners clean their section of beach every morning and evening. there is a lot of rubbish that washes up along the shoreline and they dutifully remove it and clean the beach in front of the hotel. what a difference such a simple act makes!!

they have great uninterrupted views over the ocean and the sun loungers are the perfect spot to watch the sunset. you can literally roll off your lounger to the restaurant / bar for a snack or a top up and roll back to your lounger. i think thats what we did for two days solid.

the food served is pretty good, with a good mix of asian and western dishes depending on what you have the taste for, and the prices are not overly marked up.

the bungalow rooms are big and spacious and very relaxing, and the outdoor showers are a nice touch. they are well maintained, clean with a slightly rustic beach feeling to them.

the pool looks great, but the water temperature is like a bath, which is the biggest down side. it would have been great to swim in the pool but it was just too hot. the temperature of the ocean was a little better, but still very very warm.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thistravelingdesignr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews