We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, quiet, nice motorbikes to rent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makara Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Makara Bungalows
Ranked #29 of 231 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good Location, quiet, nice motorbikes to rent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Most places were booked when we were booking the day before we arrived (which was 2 days after new years eve), but we got a room here and it was really nice. Good english speaking staff, nice motorbikes to rent to get around, walking distance from the beach. If you want to go into the center of town, you have to take a motorbike, but it isn't far. Nice pool, safe in the room, clean, etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    33
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had not heard of this place when we arrived in Sihanoukville, but we're led there by a tuk-tuk driver. We were pleasantly surprised, the place was new, clean, quiet and had a pool. We stayed here for one night before heading to Lazy Beach, and liked it so much that we stayed here when we came off the island too.
The room, although small, was perfectly adequate, also had aircon and a tv. It was in a great location, near the beach and a 10minute walk to livelier action. Great value for $20.
I would also like to say how nice the owner was. He was friendly, welcoming a took great pride in his business.
We would definately reccomended this guesthouse.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodwinsSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very very clean and new bungalows. The swimming pool is nice as well but there was not enough place to lay down. The staff is very friendly and gave us some helpful tips. From one hand, it is a 10-15 min walk from the party area but when u walk on the beach u do not feel the distance. From the other hand, it is 2 min walk from a nice beach with many bars and you can get some nice food there for breakfast or lunch. We would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at Makara for 4 nights in January and we rang them up to book. We had originally been enquiring prices for our stay and they quoted us $30 but we told them we were looking for something cheaper. Unexpectedly, they offered us a room at $20 instead which was great!

It was approximately a 15 min tuk tuk ride from the bus station to Makara and we were told that a tuk tuk would pick us up. So when at the bus station a tuk tuk driver said to us 'Makara?' we assumed that he was our driver. We were slightly annoyed to find that in fact we had to pay for the tuk tuk once we arrived. When we've stayed at other places we've not had to pay for transport that was sent by the hotel.

Nevertheless, we were impressed by the look of the place. It looked clean and the pool was a good size. It looked very inviting! There didn't appear to be many rooms and we were led to one round the back which was good as it seemed a bit more private, even though some might prefer to be in the rooms that face out onto the pool.

The room was a decent size, clean and nicely decorated. It had aircon and a television. Wireless internet was free and very good. There was also hot water which was much appreciated! The double bed was very comfortable. We had an issue with getting the room cleaned as we thought that it would be done automatically but it wasn't. So the next day we put the 'please make up this room' sign on the door but it still wasn't cleaned. We asked at reception who told us that you have to hand your key in to get the room cleaned. We wished we had been told this at the start!

We hired a moped for $6 for the day which was great. It worked really well and was a good way of getting about. The location of Makara is great. It's about a 3 minute walk to a fairly quiet area of the beach (people around but not at all crowded and) and away from the main bar and restaurant area. It's about a 20 minute walk or a $2 tuk tuk ride to the main strip.

The restaurant in Makara was good, and fairly cheap. The beef with blue cheese sauce was really good, as was the noodle soup.

All the staff were friendly, helpful and answered all of our questions. (Just don't ask them to ring a bus company they don't deal with as they won't do it!) We thought this place was great value and we'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.0 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#20 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Zentao
Villa Zentao
#18 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eolia Beach Bungalows Resort
Eolia Beach Bungalows Resort
#74 of 139 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chochi Garden Guest House
Chochi Garden Guest House
#9 of 231 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le D'Artagnan
Le D'Artagnan
#4 of 231 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Don Bosco Hotel School
Don Bosco Hotel School
#3 of 231 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makara Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makara Bungalows

Property: Makara Bungalows
Address: Preah Lumhei Phumin Street | Ochheuteal Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Makara Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Makara Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing