We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short walk to the Beach”
Review of Bao Mai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bao Mai Resort
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of an Intrepid group tour, and as for most hotels I stayed in, this wasn't the worst. There are currently works going on to extend the hotel, but since these works are going on during the day, they weren't a problem. Rooms are clean, air con worked, breakfast was very good and plenty of hot water, it's only a short walk to the beach in Sihanoukville, with plenty of choice of restaurants and bars close by. Boat trips leave from the pier everyday, which is only a short 10 minute walk away. Will be back there in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hotel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 100 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with a tour group.
There was that bad smell coming from the bathroom I dont know if its the plumbing system but it was bad.
Breakfeast was ok nothing major,big noises in the morning from outside so you cant sleep think they're doing renovations. Close to the beach good for food and bars but not very clean beach to bath, go to Otres beach or sokha.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location but the rooms are poor and the building work was often 0800 - 2000.

I'd suggest avoiding Sihanoukville altogether and getting out to one of the island locations. Boat trips are also fairly good from here.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

As with other reviewers I was here as part of an Intrepid group tour. The room was clean, the beds were firm and the aircon was cold. Anything beyond that was just a bonus.

Reading other people's experiences I think you need to be careful with what room you get. Our room was fine, mind you, we were rarely in it!

Would I recommend this hotel? yeah sure, it was cheap, clean and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed here recently as part of an intrepid 'basic' trip. The room we had was very basic and the worst place we stayed in Cambodia. We weren't in the main bit of the hotel but i think in the backpacker wing next to a noisy pub on the next lot. We had a window but only a view of a wall about 2ft away. The bathroom was shocking with the shower above the toilet (not uncommon in Cambodia) so you had to sand next the the opposite wall and crouch down if you wanted your upper body wet. Whole bathroom got wet if you had a shower. Water was lukewarm at best. It was hard to get a towel from the staff that wasn't damp. Room was grubby and the power points were dodgy. They definitely don't change the bed everyday and i'm not sure that they do between guests. The open-air breakfast / bar area was ok with WiFi and the hotel is close to the beach. I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Our company recently held a two day to night meeting at Seaside Hotel I was one of the meeting planners and was very happy with the service, room rates, and food. The location is excellent and the hotel has a very nice beach side meeting / meal area. The Hotel & Catering Manager is excellent in response timing and provided us with lots of options in meal planning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor if you want a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hicynthia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Seaside hotel, Sihinoukville

Having booked a villa rOom , with shower bath tub, mini bar , ironing board air con etc, one street from the beach, all was good.
On arrival, the xterioir looked promising, Infact looked lovely.

On check in we was greeted by miserable staff who was not helpfully at all.

We checked in and was taken to our room. That's all it was, room, shower, toilet and bed.
This certainly was no villa room.
Dirty, no mini bar, no bath tub dirty towels, shower room not even clean.

On asking reception where the facilities we booked for was, they told us, that they have been telling agoda (who we booked with) for several months that these facilities where not in a villa room.

We asked if we could see a standard room, and was told no we couldn't. I was willing to pay extra to be moved to a standard room, as the villa room was that bad, still they wouldn't show us.
Not being prepared to stay in the dirty hotel,we checked out after half an hour and went next door to the crystal hotel.....brilliant place.

I am still awaiting a reply from agoda reference the advertising of the seaside hotel.

I have stayed in far better hotels, guest hoses in Cambodia  on  y three month adventure and paid less than halfthe price.

Woud I recommend the seaside hotel.....most deffinately not.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jjcheffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Thaiyang Chhen Hotel
Thaiyang Chhen Hotel
#34 of 76 in Sihanoukville
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miiya Hotel
Miiya Hotel
#22 of 76 in Sihanoukville
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#19 of 76 in Sihanoukville
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#17 of 76 in Sihanoukville
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Seagull Hotel
Grand Seagull Hotel
#31 of 76 in Sihanoukville
36 reviews
3.9 mi away
Otres Resort
Otres Resort
#9 of 76 in Sihanoukville
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bao Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bao Mai Resort

Address: Ochheuteal Beach, Group17, Mondol 4, Sangkat 4th, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia (Formerly Seaside Hotel)
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $48 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bao Mai Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bao Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing