We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-Hyped”
Review of Nyam

Nyam
Ranked #15 of 353 Restaurants in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on Tola street opposite the Golden Island Casino, Nyam welcomes you to an authentic Khmer dining experience in an environment that is more accessible to tourists. When Cambodians eat it is far more social and similar to Spanish Tapas in the sense that a number of dishes are ordered and placed in the center of the table for everyone to share and enjoy. All dishes are cooked fresh to order and served with rice.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The food is entirely average to below average. Beef in oyster sauce and onions is bland, deep fried pork spring rolls are from the freezer section of a supermarket (at least that's how they taste and look like), chicken with cashew nuts is acceptable. Service is friendly but sloooow and table lines are oil stained. Cost is high (for Cambodia.) I don't get it how the restaurant got such good reviews.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelpr0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Nyam. Sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience.

Merry Christmas & Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 312 of 573 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a delicious Khmer dinner, tasty, spicy and fresh - lovely service and very fair price... A must when you are in Sihanouk Ville.

1  Thank thomas-mueller-zrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Nyam.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal & service.

Merry Christmas & Happy New Year to you.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Visiting a friend in Sihanoukville. Nyam is one if his favorite restaurants so after having dinner in some other favorite restaurants we went to Nyam. I read about Nyam on Tripadviser so I was happy to go there.
During one week we have been severel times now. When he asks me where I want to go for dinner I always answer NYAM...but at 8 pm it can be full.

The standards in Nyam is HIGH and their prices LOW. In the road where many of the restaurants are very the same, Nyam aparts from the rest. Here you can find good Khmer food at reasonable prices. Try Fish Amok and Ginger Fish. The service is very good.

The staff is professional but could improve their English.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank henryzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for visiting Nyam and returning, we are delighted you have enjoyed your experience and thank you for writing a review.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This trip, I decided to pay Nyam a second visit. Thankfully, I was NOT disappointed. Sometimes a place can change so much over time but they have managed to keep their standards high and their prices LOW. In a road where many of the restaurants are very 'same same', Nyam stands apart from the rest. Here you can find great Khmer food at reasonable prices.. Well worth a visit.

1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We are very pleased that you came back for the second time and found that our standards are just as good. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal and the service. Thank you once again. It's very important to all of us at Nyam that our standards & hygiene remain high.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here tonight after having a bad experience at "The Deck Bar" last night. We were not disappointed! Food was fantastic!! Service was quick, could not fault this restaurant. Definitely recommend this place. Has something to accommodate all tastes/requests. Vegetarian etc. We will be coming back before we leave Sihanoukville!

1  Thank Maddi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Nyam and we hope to see you again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nyam also viewed

Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 

Been to Nyam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing