We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nyum Nyum!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nyam

Nyam
Ranked #13 of 339 Restaurants in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on Tola street opposite the Golden Island Casino, Nyam welcomes you to an authentic Khmer dining experience in an environment that is more accessible to tourists. When Cambodians eat it is far more social and similar to Spanish Tapas in the sense that a number of dishes are ordered and placed in the center of the table for everyone to share and enjoy. All dishes are cooked fresh to order and served with rice.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nyum Nyum!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

This place was delicious, impeccably clean, had great friendly service, and we weren't pressured to come inside (like every other place on the block). We ordered the fried spring rolls, Tom Yum soup, Ginger Chicken, and Grilled Beef Skewers. All were excellent, and we couldn't believe how affordable it was! Definitely give it a try for Khmer cuisine!

Helpful?
1 Thank ClevelandPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
What a positive review. Thank you so much from all the staff and I, we are delighted that you gave Nyam a chance and enjoyed your meal.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    137
    58
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
188 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Recommended by trip advisor and very pleased with the choice to eat there.
Staff were friendly and attentive and the manager made sure everything ran well and that we enjoyed out food.
I had chicken stirfry with mango and cashews and it was yummy.
Followed by banana and tapioca in coconut milk. The banana and coconut shakes were lovely too.
Wonderful food, great atmosphere and soooooo cheap... going back again soon.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alexia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
The Staff and I are very grateful for taking the time to review us and we are very pleased that you enjoyed the service and food. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've lived in Asia for 10 years and Cambodia for five, but only discovered Nyam this week. It has immediately become my absolute favorite restaurant anywhere for Khmer food. The carmelized fish with ginger is out of this world, and the other dishes I have had are also spectacular. In addition, the atmosphere is a step (or in some cases two) up from the average restaurant at this price, and the staff are far more efficient than most. Friendly waiters are not too hard to find in Cambodia; friendly COMPETENT waiters, however, are a rarity, especially with the high level of English language ability the staff here has. For anyone who thinks that Khmer food is just a slightly boring version of Thai food, try Nyam and discover, as I did, just how good it can actually be. If this restaurant was located in Phnom Penh, where I live, and served lunch, I would eat here several times a week.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalterM377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience at Nyam
The staff and I hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best place in Cambodia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Looking around in Sihanouville to find a place with local food we came here.
I stayed for three weeks in Cambodia and had the best food over here! Everything is fresh, tasty and delicious.
We wanted to come back a second day, because it was closed because of national holiday in Cambodia.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ssille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. The staff and I read all the customers reviews and they are always happy to receive such lovely comments.
Thank you once again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, nice restaurant and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I visited Nyam looking for something other than western influenced food. The staff are very friendly, it's a nice location on Tola Street, about 200-300m from the Lion statues at the top of Serendipity Beach Rd. Food selection was great and staff extremely friendly, the service was prompt, giving similar or better quality service than in a completely westernised city. Prices were very reasonable, I ordered some chicken skewers with Kroueng marinade. The other dishes I saw coming out of the kitchen were of generous portion and looked/smelt great. Definitely would visit again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CTGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
The staff and I are very grateful to you for taking the time to review us and we are pleased that you enjoyed the service and food. Hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nyam also viewed

Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 

Been to Nyam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing