We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nyam

Nyam
Ranked #12 of 334 Restaurants in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on Tola street opposite the Golden Island Casino, Nyam welcomes you to an authentic Khmer dining experience in an environment that is more accessible to tourists. When Cambodians eat it is far more social and similar to Spanish Tapas in the sense that a number of dishes are ordered and placed in the center of the table for everyone to share and enjoy. All dishes are cooked fresh to order and served with rice.
Level Contributor
175 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My family of four had dinner at Nyam this evening and had a wonderful meal. Everything we tried was delicious but especially recommend the mango and chicken and spicy beef. Also great value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zbrowelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
The staff and I like to say thank you for your lovely review and for taking the effort to review us.
We are delighted you enjoyed your meal.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    134
    58
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love Nyam! Authentic delicious high-class Khmer food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Sinoun, the woman who also does the best cooking class I ever had the pleasure to attend, and her fellow chefs do a great job here! It's Khmer food at it's best, and the pancakes, deep-fried springrolls, coconut shakes, fish amok and squid meals are simply delicious - and the best is: it's affordable, too! prices range around 3-4 dollar per serving, it's simply one of the best restaurants i've eaten in in SEA!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chiquita707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. The staff and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal at Nyam.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Real Cambodia Taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This must of been some of the best food I have had in my life.
Eventhing was so fresh and only used local products. I loved the perfect balance between flavours and the use of fresh herbs.
Sinoun the chef showed me around the kitchen and introduced me to her keen team.
The whole experience was A1 from beginning to end.
Tip: Get out of those Beach Bar Restaurants they are ok, but use a lot of comercial pastes etc.
Everything is made fresh from Scratch at Nyam and this shows through in the final dish.
I will be saving as much as I can to get back to Cambodia, even if its just to vist Nyam again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyGutschlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for coming to Nyam and we are delighted that you enjoyed Cambodian food. We hope to see you again and thank you for your wonderful review.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quality Cambodian fusion cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great menu. Covers all bases. We shared 3 delicious small servings between 2, which was ample. Washed done with great wine at a very reasonable price. Quaint setting not far off the beach. Friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachaelnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to review Nyam. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your meal & service at Nyam. Hope we see you again.

Warm wishes
From all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service and quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just had a great meal at Nyam. The English owner is friendly and the service is excellent. It feels like you are eating in a very upscale restaurant but the prices are very down to earth. Portions are supposed to be tapas (snack) sized but some are very generously proportioned. I was particularly impressed with their pomelo salad and their squid. The red wine was also excellent. Including two glasses of wine and 9 other dishes, we spent just under $40 and were stuffed (4 people). If you can, you may want to call first as they had a group that had booked the whole restaurant but the owner kindly set up a comfortable table for us outside. The food itself is very good but did not wow me. Nonetheless, I really enjoyed the original flavors such as mango pecan chicken and the sweet and sour soup.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidJohn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening at Nyam and hope to see again.

Many regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nyam also viewed

Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 

Been to Nyam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing