We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, but lousy service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nyam

Nyam
Ranked #12 of 334 Restaurants in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on Tola street opposite the Golden Island Casino, Nyam welcomes you to an authentic Khmer dining experience in an environment that is more accessible to tourists. When Cambodians eat it is far more social and similar to Spanish Tapas in the sense that a number of dishes are ordered and placed in the center of the table for everyone to share and enjoy. All dishes are cooked fresh to order and served with rice.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, but lousy service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

The biggest disappointment was that the waitress couldn't understand much English, and you will have to repeat yourself many times to even get a glass of ice.

Nice ambience for Nyam, we had 3 blackouts during our dinner there, but the staff will light the candles on your table. Make the whole place rather romantic.

Verdict: can give it a try, provided you are willing to wait (slow service).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AdvC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
The staff and I are terribly sorry that the service you receive was not up to scratch on that night and we all apologise for that and unfortunately I was not there that night. The young lady who served you was a new member of staff who started not long ago and is still being trained, I knew that her English wasn't that good when I employed her but I try to give the local people a chance in life and improve there standard of living for later on in life as most of the local Cambodians can't afford English lessons and if you don't speak English in a resort town it's difficult to find work. I have given the young lady a job and now goes to English school and hopefully she will improve. Also with all the power cuts lately and if you came on a busy night the food will be slower due to cooks having to cook with little lighting and if you want good fresh food sometimes you have to be patient. I understand that customers all want western standards for service and food but Sihanoukville is still quiet new on the Asian circuit to most people and the locals are not up to the standards of which we are all so familiar with. It also would be nice to hear the tourists try to learn a little bit of the language when they visit a foreign country and not assume everybody speaks good English. Our service is usually very good and fast, sometimes mistakes happen.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    134
    58
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional food at dirt cheap prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The food was excellent, especially the Cambodian Fish Cakes. Downside was that it was quiet when we visited the restaurant. Definitely a visit for interested cambodian food lovers.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank QuokLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We are delighted that you have taken the time to write your very kind review about Nyam and that you enjoyed your meal. We hope you come again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

After reading reviews we decided to eat here,though when we arrived we couldnt understand why it was empty but possibly due to the party in the restaurant next door with very loud music!We chose 5 dishes from the menu and were blown away with the quality and the price $15 including drinks-fantastic! If we come again we will definately eat here ;-)
Its only a few minutes walk from most hotels etc so make the effort. Thanks again :-)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karlnvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Yes it was quiet that night and yes it was due to the very loud party next door and also it's still the low season until December.
The staff and I are so grateful for your wonderful review and for coming and enjoying the food at Nyam and hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“nyam is what you're looking for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

nyam is a nice clean little place, perfect to have dinner in real cambodian style. food is one of the best i had in cambodia, for once as well cambodian style and not 'western-cambodian'....

a real treat, definitely a place to go for dinner when in sihanoukville!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank arianna47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for coming to Nyam for a meal and we are all so pleased you enjoyed your meal and for writing a review about us..

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Can't recommend highly enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went to Nyam during our summer holiday and had two fabulous meals. The food was fabulous and if I had to pick out one standout dish it would be the chicken with cashew nuts and mango. Stefan clearly puts huge effort into making sure his clients have an enjoyable meal and he treats his staff (all local) excellently.

If you're in Sihanoukville, you must give it a try. It's great value and we enjoyed being able to combine a number of smaller dishes rather than just 2 or 3 larger ones.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanM394, Owner at Nyam, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
What a wonderful review, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and are very pleased that you enjoyed good Cambodian food and for coming twice.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nyam also viewed

Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 

Been to Nyam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing