We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dead chuffed”
Review of Otres Orchid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Otres Orchid
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Having been recommended this place by a friend, I was very impressed. The owner seemed to me like a woman who knew what she was doing, in control and making aureus everyone did their jobs. Room nice and clean, the odd tiny stain but that is fine, decent shower, and whilst I could hear music across the road this was hardly their fault, and I fell asleep easily! Very pleasant, good value, and j would definitely go again. In the morning had tks check out a little early and the guy sleeping behind the desk was still very polite in his morning stupor!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank wanderingoptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 134 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We spent a few nights here and were really pleased with our bungalow. The price is great and the location even better. Comfy hammocks on the deck for lazing and on the other side of the road from the beach so nice and quiet in the evening away from the beach bars.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kltjasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed in Otres for 12 days all at the Orchid and absolutely loved our time here. Compared with other bamboo huts on the beach these had hot water and a hammock with table and chairs out the front. The owners and staff were lovely and they also ran the only small general store in the area. Tuk tuks are aplenty right out the front if you feel the need to get to Otres market or back to Sihanoukville. We paid 15USD during peak season.

The picture on the front of this with the pool is deceiving though because there is no pool here. The beach is 20 seconds walk away though so i'm not complaining :)

Room Tip: If you want wifi in your room try to get one that is close to the reception area. We were in number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler_deallio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 8 days here. Beautifully crafted bamboo bungalows worth the 15 dollars a nite considering how expensive the accommodation on Otres is. Even the bed frame was made of bamboo. Very nice design. The only annoying thing was the constant singing staff... sounded like the same off-key song over and over.. Still, they were nice, smiling always. Another big plus is the absence of rats! Really had enough of rat situation on Otres!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeyneptp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay at otres orchid , and I'm happy to say things haven't changed since my last visit, large bungalows, which are nice and clean and can be cleaned on request , very friendly staff and owner , only seconds to the beach opposite , all for only 15$ who can ask for more ? I shall be back for my third visit next time.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Thongnaipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed there for 5 nights and payed 15 USD for a night. The bungalows are basic, but they are beautifully built and come with a mosquito net and a concrete bathroom. The bungalow including the bathroom was immaculately clean. Don't expect a lot of privacy though - we could hear every word our neighbours said due to the airy construction of the bungalows. This could be a problem if you have neighbours who are a bit noisy!
The staff were friendly and helpful. The beach was just across the road.
We enjoyed our stay there a lot, it is a sedate and beautiful little place and we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raspberry_Sunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Luckily we came across an empty bungalow at this property. Unfortunately they do not take reservations so ensure you get to Otres beach at around 11am ish ready for when people are checking out! The staff here are SO friendly and extremely helpful, they arranged a private taxi to take us to Phnom Penh, arranged for the issue of our Vietnamese Visas and also helped me confirm a booking I made online through giant ibis by making a phone call and speaking Cambodian to the staff! Couldn't ask for more. The property is located 2 minutes from the beach, Otres 1 is so peaceful and relaxing where as Serendipity is more party vibe. The bamboo huts are $15 per night with a private hot shower, fan and a small balcony with a hammock (lovely to chill out and have a snooze in the afternoon) beds were comfy with a mosquito net provided. However we did share our hut with a rat...the staff laid down poison which I think did the trick but who knows as it's very noisy at night with loads of dogs barking and howling (take ear plugs!) it was definitely a great experience staying in a bamboo hut and if I was ever to repeat it I would come back here for sure! They offer another type of bungalow for $25 a night which again has hot shower and fan but concrete walls so I can imagine it would be more quieter at night. There is a great store attached which has water/snacks/booze etc. also good free wifi provided throughout.

Room Tip: try get a room close to reception for good wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ksmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.2 mi away
Otres Lodge
Otres Lodge
#5 of 149 in Sihanoukville
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mushroom Point
Mushroom Point
#8 of 149 in Sihanoukville
333 reviews
0.0 mi away
Everythang Bar, Restaurant & Guesthouse
Everythang Bar, Restaurant & Gue...
#22 of 149 in Sihanoukville
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chez Paou
Chez Paou
#38 of 149 in Sihanoukville
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mien Mien
Mien Mien
#85 of 237 in Sihanoukville
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eolia Beach Bungalows Resort
Eolia Beach Bungalows Resort
#104 of 149 in Sihanoukville
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otres Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otres Orchid

Address: Otres Road, Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $12 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Otres Orchid 1.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otres Orchid, a traditional Khmer all bamboo bungalow beach resort, located at Otres Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Otres Orchid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing