We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otres Orchid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Otres Orchid
Certificate of Excellence
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We found this place by chance after moving from Papa Pippo bungalows due to the poor standards there! We had walked the length of Serendipity and Ochheuteal beach but had dismissed all of the bungalows and guesthouses that we had viewed either because of their lack of cleanliness or because of the near by disco bar noise and the number of hawkers in this area was over whelming.
We wanted to stay on Otres beach, but also wanted a bungalow with en-suite. We hadn’t really noticed the Otres Orchid bungalows when we first arrived at Otres beach as we had only been looking for places on the beach itself and this new development is 20metres back from the sea behind The Beach Chalet Restaurant.
But when we took a closer look at what was on offer, we realised that we’d over looked a gem!
The detached traditional khmer style bamboo bungalows built around a central bar/reception area were exactly what we were looking for. A front balcony with table chairs and a hammock was great for relaxing at the end of the day, before retiring to the bedroom area with a huge double bed complete with a new mosquito net, theres also an electric blue light bug zapper for added protection! a wardrobe with full length mirror a fan and with six power point sockets in the room more than enough to keep those power hungry laptops and gadgets feed, and strong Wi-Fi signal in all areas.
The en-suite bathroom is fully tiled with an electric hot shower and western style flush toilet. Clean towels and bed linen are provided each day or when needed.
The staff are very helpful even calling to confirm our flight reservations for us.
All this for $15 a night ! Great value !
Otres Orchid wasn’t quiet finished when we stayed as there are plans to build a restaurant and a shop, the shop will be particularly convenient as Otres beach is 5km from Sihanoukville town and a tuk-tuk will charge an average of $8 return.
When Otres Orchid is completed it will be Perfect!!!
http://www.canbypublications.com/sihanoukvilleads/otres-orchid-guesthouse-sihanoukville.htm

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TripCrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    39
    14
    3
    8
See reviews for
8
63
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

A great hotel to stay at! Hot water and the huts are very fun! Ocean's close by, and the place has an awesome vibe. Very cheap pricing, it's definitely a different experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We came to Otres in January when Mr. Sane was just setting up the place. The huts had hot water, fans, mosquito nets, comfortable beds, and en suite. I spent some time talking to him - he has big plans for Otres Orchid (he decided on the name whilst we were there - it was unnamed up to that point!). In the next year or so he will be putting in water features, an organic vegetable garden, mango trees, and other attractions. He clearly knows exactly how he wants the place to look, and doesn't want it to be a typical "backpacker" destination - keeping it traditional will make it stand out from other accommodation on the road, and at $16 a night, it was an absolute steal. With the beach 15 seconds across the road, you simply cannot complain about Otres Orchid at all - we came for a few days to Sihanoukville and ended up staying for 2 weeks, 1 of which was here. Fantastic. Full details here: http://blog.robkershaw.com/2012/01/day-105-108-sihanoukville-recovery.html

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sparkyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

I just wanted to share my experience at Otres Orchid Beach Resort. What an amazing, unique experience!! I've never stayed at an authentic Cambodian beach huts before, and DEFINITELY not my last time. The bamboo houses had running hot water and toilets. The hospitality was absolutely phenominal. The employees there was very friendly and helpful. The beach is definitely the best beaches i've been too as well. If you have the luxury to come to this part of Cambodia, I would definitely recommend staying here. There is no better place to stay!!!
Thank you for taking care of our group while we were there.

Room Tip: No complaints about the room. I've never stayed at a place with Mosquito nets, but the nets real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leng T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visionpt, Manager at Otres Orchid, responded to this review, February 6, 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable reviews during our soft opening and under construction period.
The entire tropic garden has been growing and greener now. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.3 mi away
Sahaa Beach Resort
Sahaa Beach Resort
#4 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Otres Lodge
Otres Lodge
#9 of 139 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.0 mi away
Penguin Pablo
Penguin Pablo
#12 of 139 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Moonflower Bungalows
The Moonflower Bungalows
#42 of 231 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Everythang
Everythang
#31 of 139 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eolia Beach Bungalows Resort
Eolia Beach Bungalows Resort
#75 of 139 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otres Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otres Orchid

Property: Otres Orchid
Address: Otres Road, Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Otres Orchid 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Otres Orchid, a traditional Khmer all bamboo bungalow beach resort, located at Otres Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Otres Orchid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing