We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good budget place on a gorgeous beach”
Review of Everythang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Everythang
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good budget place on a gorgeous beach”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had a pleasant 3 night stay in our bungalow here. It was a bit basic but it did have everything we needed - mosquito net, plug sockets, working wifi etc. The bed was very comfortable and it was clean. The only thing was that the light was a bit dim and our window was stuck so it wasn't that easy to see around - fine if you pack with the door open though! The staff were very friendly whilst we were there and let us have clean towels every day. The bathrooms were fine too, not luxurious but clean, always stacked with toilet paper and with working locks.

The best thing about this place is it's location though. It was wonderful waking up and eating breakfast on the beach which was never too crowded. The bar/restaurant area was spacious, airy and had really comfy seats to relax in with a book. The food was good in our experience too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thanks for the review, Lydia! Please come back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    35
    25
    17
    23
See reviews for
2
55
54
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

On arrival the place seems perfect. Great bar leading directly onto a beautiful (if busy) beach. Stayed in the dorms which were ok and directly above the bar so seemed fairly secure to leave bag etc in there. Bathroom was very basic but that is to be expected from any accommodation on Otres beach. The staff seemed nice enough once you got talking to them but were not very approachable with the exception of the American owner. One in particular tended to stand at the bar with her iPod plugged in and her eyes closed. Food either came very fast or very slow; once I think the girl at the bar had forgotten to tell the kitchen staff we had ordered and when it finally came (after us reminding her) We were told that we would appreciate it more now. Unfortunately I got very bad food poisoning from a chicken lok lak dish that I bought at Everythang and spent one of the nights being sick in the not-so-pleasant toilet. I got very dehydrated and needed lots of water but the girl on the bar would only let my girlfriend, who explained my situation, buy one bottle as the rest were in the kitchen which she said she didn't want to open because it was too late. I would still argue Everythang has one of the nicest bars on Otres beach (we visited them all) and the dorm itself is certainly no worse than any of the others on the beach. At $6-7 for beach accom, basic facilities are to be expected but I just feel the place could be vastly improved with very little work - mainly by keeping the bathrooms clean (emptying the bins more often) and employing more welcoming and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LongLiveJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hey there,

Staffing is always the hardest part and unfortunately it seems you experienced some particularly rude staff. Sorry for that.

Regarding your food poisoning, it wasn't from us as we don't serve chicken lok lak and follow all western and practical health and cleanliness standards. Comments about food poisoning should really be made with 100% confidence. Please get your facts straight before putting harmful information like that on the internet.

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megamondo
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for three nights. The location on Otres beach was fantastic, the standard of the accomodation was not.

I had someone try to enter my room while I was in there, I have no idea why!

The staff were really helpful, but when we ordered food it was like they were on lithium... they were begrudging and slow.

I'd recommend this place for people who want a no-frills, place to stay on a really beautiful beach. It's not very quiet, and it's not very fancy, but the beach more than compensates for this.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megamondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hi There,

Thanks for the review. Our staff try their best to help everyone, which can sometimes take a little patience (for the customer as well as staff). Not sure what to say about the lithium comment, except that its kind of funny but not really. Who does lithium anymore?

Hope you found an equally cheap, friendly hostel along your travels that lives up to your expectations.

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Budget room next to the sea- I would have been happy with that and I am no snob when it comes to backpacker accommodation. This place kind sucked however.
Toilets didn't flush, were really gross and dirty, didn't have bog roll and holes in the doors/celing floor boards/ didn't have locks. Generally a really horrible experience. Some attempt at fixing it appeared to happen in the morning but after 3pm it was minging. Shower water/sink and toilet water is orange and smelly (because it comes from a well, I get that, that's fine) but nextdoor at Indigo they had hot water and the bogs were fine.
Room was ok- no mirror and only a bed and a stick to hang stuff (yeah I get it budget).
Landlady was really friendly on the phone but when I was there she was really rude to me and I wasn't entirely sure what I had done wrong.
If you want to stay somewhere go to Indigo (next door). I ate there for breakfast and they seemed really friendly and pretty cool. I was disappointed at Everythang- a flushing bog and a bit of friendliness would have been nice.

Room Tip: Bring toilet roll
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatgirlher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hi there,

Unfortunately there is no good time for 2 out of 3 toilets to clog. It took less than 24 hours to sort out, though.

Regarding your comments about friendliness, if you read our other reviews we've never had a problem with hospitality before. Maybe you were confusing us with somewhere else...

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Walked up and down Otres trying to find somewhere to stay when we finally went in to Everythang. The staff here were the loveliest people who let us rent the Treehouse which was a beautiful place to sleep and wake up to the sunrise and sound of the waves. Literally 2 metres from the beach, great vibe, played great music and the bar is in this huge high-roofed cabana. Didn't get to see the rooms. Not seedy, just very chilled and friendly people!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloeSimpAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks guys! Hope you enjoyed Otres. Come back any time!

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Our backpacking days of South East Asia finished a quarter of a century ago and this is certainly not the sort of place we were looking for, but there was only one room left in town so we took it.

The accommodation was basic - a beachside hut, double bed, mozzi net, shared toilet and bathroom and that's about it. Cleanliness not great but what to expect from a ramshackle wooden hut on the beach for $15 a night.

When I say on-the-beach, I mean the sand comes up to the bungalow door, the sound of the waves lapping can be heard above the funky music played in the bar and the pine and palm trees cast welcoming shade over the choice of sun loungers and comfy chairs lined up just feet from the bungalow door.

The American owner, Kerri, offered us a warm and inviting welcome; the food is good and the beer is cheap and cold. Other guests were a mixed crowd of mainly young backpackers and those holidaying for a short while.

Whilst there is certainly higher end accommodation along the beach, we decided to stay another night and enjoyed the chilled funky and relaxed vibe the place offers and the memories of earlier years spent on SEA beaches with nothing more strenuous to do than order another beer and roll another fat one.

If you remember backpacking around the South East Asian beaches 25 years ago, and fancy re-living the experience, then this is as good a sport as any!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroSaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thanks for the awesome review, Peter! Hope you and the misses made it home without too many more "adventures". Please come back sometime!

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Everythang has a laid back atmosphere, the staff is fun and friendly, food is good and the beach is literally right outside the bungalows. It was exactly what we needed because we came for the beach, the sun, and the ocean. There's papasan chairs, cushioned couches and beach chairs to relax in. Otres Beach is beautiful and the sunsets are gorgeous. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dardar_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrierheasmith, Owner at Everythang, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thanks for the awesome review, Darlene. Come back soon!

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.0 mi away
Otres Orchid
Otres Orchid
#34 of 146 in Sihanoukville
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chez Paou
Chez Paou
#37 of 146 in Sihanoukville
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otres Lodge
Otres Lodge
#7 of 146 in Sihanoukville
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mien Mien
Mien Mien
#74 of 234 in Sihanoukville
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Papa Pippo Bar, Restaurant & Bungalows
1.0 mi away
Penguin Pablo
Penguin Pablo
#11 of 146 in Sihanoukville
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everythang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everythang

Property: Everythang
Address: 4 Sangkat | Mittakpheap, Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia (Formerly Everything Is Everything)
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Everythang guesthouse & bar Located on Otres 1 Beach. Everythang has a little of everything to make your stay in Otres one to remember, inside our large geodesic dome we have a bar and restaurant serving up funky cocktails and tasty food dishes with something to satisfy everyone’s needs and desires while traveling. From the bar you can see fantastic views of SE Asia’s most beautiful beaches with sunrises and sunsets not to miss!! We have two bungalows located on the beach at the front of the bar so you can wake up an open your door to the ocean as well as hear the waves gently drift you off to sleep. Then we also have 4 garden bungalows located in our garden with beautiful tropical plants surrounding them. Or if you like heights and lush views we also have a treehouse or penthouse that can accommodate 3 persons in each. If you are traveling on a budget and looking for cheaper accommodation or you don’t mind sharing then we have a 6 person dorm all beds come with a lockable metal box for your valuables. All our accommodation options all have beds with mosquito nets, clean sheets and towels. We do have one or two weekly electronic music events at this bar with loud music that may play till late if the bar is busy, which we do advertise in advance via our Facebook page: Everythang Otres So if you like Techno, Psytrance or DnB for breakfast then you may want to stay here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Everythang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing