We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sweet, nice, mellow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papa Pippo Bar, Restaurant & Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Papa Pippo is definitely a place I would stay in again - if I am lucky and smart enough to book in advance - because they are normally full as there are many people who have eyes and common sense and can compare and understand that Papa Pippo is better and nicer than many other places on Otres beach. The people that run it are very friendly and will definitely help you and inform you of openings. There's no online booking - but this is normal for Cambodia, and you are to just show up and see when and what is available.
Their coffee.... Mmmm... they brought an Italian coffee machine, and I am fully addicted now. Really good. Italian food. Chill music - always somehow very appropriate - even when not as chill any more - you know, when it's not too loud, not too quiet, not too intense - just perfect? somehow their atmosphere is just right. They are working hard on it. Unlike many other places, really trying to make it right.
In fact, my two sisters are staying there at the moment - this was the first place I thought they would love - when they came to see me (and explore Cambodia) for 2 weeks. And they are very happy with my choice. They tried to find a nicer place )))) Just because of how one of them is ("there always must be something better") - and their unanimous resolution was - Papa Pippo is the best. It is )))
And they haven't filled all the space they have with bungalows - and you actually have a view - and some open space - a lot, actually - (everybody else only gives you a tiny section of the sea, and it's somehow cramped). They are at the end of Otres 1 - very convenient location - next to the open stretch that you can walk and get to Otres 2. There are power outages (to make it impartial and honest, and so that you knew what to expect) - but this is common for everybody else on the beach as well - and they have a generator, and it is definitely worth checking out.
oh - and in the morning - you wake up and you realize why you needed a vacation from youк routine. It's amazing. (and they have a swing :) that you can lay in and look at the sky through some beautiful tree - not sure what it is but it is just so cool- the combination of the two...)
The owners - they are plain great. Hard-working yet fun-loving, just good people.
Check it out )))

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyubovKozheikina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 284 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Rustiqe bungalowes on the end of the beach. Chill vibe with the best pizza in town. Italian owned so the serve real coffee. Nice area with hammocks and a wonderful view. Stayed here for 5 days and would absolutly come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This place was unfortunately fully booked when we got to otres but we still spent most of our time hanging out in their beach/bar... great food, great coffee, pasta etc. Very relaxed armospere. Not cheap but not over the top either... relaxed and helpful staff.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank SweRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We came to go to the Mexican which we found out had burnt down a few months previously!
We found Papa Pippo by accident.
Homemade pasta and pizza.
As good as been in Italy .
I had homemade ravioli which was perfect, pizza also perfect.
Highly recommended for a chilled out v good meal.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This place was all booked up at Christmas so we couldn't stay here but did spend the afternoon on their beach. The beach area was clean with lots of shade, loungers, hammocks etc. The music was nice and chilled but a bit too loud for me to concentrate on reading my book. Definitely worth a visit to while away a few hours, especially if you're staying nearer the busy, dirty, noisy main strip of Serendipity or Occheuteal

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank watfordgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We came to this resort on recommendation of our taxi driver after asking for a quiet place on otres beach. Pappa pippos was perfect. Rooms here are rustic bungalows with private bathrooms. They're what you'd expect for an inexpensive room. The floor was dirty, the bathroom was dirty and the bed was ok. But the ambience makes up for it. You can sit on chaise loungers and stare at the blue water without much to bother you. We enjoyed tasty Italian food in the open air restaurant. I'd almost give five stars considering the low price, but we couldn't get past foul smelling brown water coming out of the faucets! Really, all was well though and we'd recommend the place to couples like us.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank npj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Papa Pippo's is situated at the end of Otres Beach which is nice and quiet but only a 5 minute walk up the beach to the restaurants and bars. The bungalows are basic but have comfortable beds and good working fans.

The staff were fantastic and very helpful and the food was excellent throughout (try the fresh pasta).

We hope to return to PP one day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.4 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 78 in Sihanoukville
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sahaa Beach Resort
Sahaa Beach Resort
#5 of 78 in Sihanoukville
404 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#2 of 78 in Sihanoukville
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 78 in Sihanoukville
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Good Time Resort
Good Time Resort
#27 of 78 in Sihanoukville
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun Leo Hotel
Sun Leo Hotel
#16 of 78 in Sihanoukville
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papa Pippo Bar, Restaurant & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papa Pippo Bar, Restaurant & Bungalows

Address: Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia (Formerly Papa Pippo Beach)
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 157 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $10 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to PAPA PIPPO - Bar, Restaurant & Bungalows on Otres Beach. Come and experience a touch of original Italian hospitality in our homely and relaxed setting. Our beach side bungalows, all with toilet and shower inside, are only a few steps from the sea and they all offer you unforgettable sunsets. All our food fresh pasta, piadinas, cakes and pizzas are home made following old Italian tradition. We can assure you that you'll enjoy long and relaxing days in our ample and uncrowded surroundings soothed by the sound of the waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Papa Pippo Bar, Restaurant & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing