We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful concept and food”
Review of Sandan

Sandan
Ranked #1 of 262 Restaurants in Sihanoukville
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Update: Due to the Covid19 situation, Sandan is closed until further notice. We apologize for any inconvenience. Sandan shares the love for good food, good times and builds futures for students in training! Enjoy the laid back atmosphere of Sandan in our garden setting - eating creative local cuisine made using fresh local ingredients and drinking a refreshing cocktail or juice. Sandan can’t be missed when visiting the coastal city of Sihanoukville.
Reviewed September 8, 2016

One of our favourite restaurants in Sihanoukville and for a very good cause. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff, and enjoyed three courses of delicious and original takes on local cuisine. We'll certainly be back next time we're in town.

Date of visit: August 2016
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SandanTeam, Public Relations Manager at Sandan, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear Chris

Thank you so much for your visit, we are so proud of our awesome teachers who along with training our students, also ensure our guests receive great service. We will be sure to pass on this nice review to the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 345 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

I was so eager to write my review on Sandan that I downloaded the trip advisor app whilst in the restaurant.

Firstly, I can not understand some of the negative comments that have been made about this place. My partner and I ordered the ribs, prawn skewers, chilli chicken and basil and some sweet potato fries. I also had the chocolate brownie for dessert. We have been travelling Asia for quite some time and the food was among the best we have eaten (and it's always amazing to find chocolate on the dessert menu rather than just fruit). Yes, it may be slightly higher priced than what may be on offer elsewhere in Asia but it is worth it- not just for the food itself but the cause you are aiding. However in all honesty, the meal was average priced for food on the coast and was by no means extortionate. Most dishes are 5-6 dollars.

The service was also amazing. The way these girls and boys are being trained is second to none. We have eaten in some 'up market' restaurants in London and beyond and we both commented how the service was similar to these pricey 'fine dining' restaurants.

One student was a bit slow (although neither of us were bothered as we respected the fact we had chosen to eat in a training establishment) and the teacher noted that it was his first night- not only did he do a great job but it was so heart warming to see his face beam with a smile when he was praised.

We wish we had found this before our final night in Sihanoukville as we would certainly have returned!

Thank you for the experience, Sandan!

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SandanTeam, Public Relations Manager at Sandan, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Dear Sarah

Thanks for taking the time to write to us. After we read your review we were quick to share your kind words and some high fives with this student. If you were able to come back and visit Sandan now, a little over a month later, you would be so happy to see how far this student has come in his knowledge and general confidence! The only way our students are able to gain this confidence is because of customers like yourself, so thank you taking the time to visit us!

Team Sandan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

The Sandan is an "education restaurant", but the location and service were top. Furthermore, the food was super delicous (amongst the best we enjoyed during our trip) - and it is for a good cause!
Try the "Khmer specialities" (we had e.g. Chicken Basil&Chili and for desert black sticky-rice with ginger ice-cream and local fruits).
There is also a shop located inside, where you can buy e.g. cooking books or other local produced products to support the project.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank CeTschan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

Excellent food, we had a set menu as part of a tour we were on. We had morning tea and then a lunch. Wonderful curry dish and a very nice sticky black rice dessert. Drink prices very cheap. All staff and there were lots of them were very friendly. Nice gift shop, with good fixed prices, that all supports the project

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

Came here for evening meal with my friend, the staff could not be more helpful and tentative. Very welcoming, the place has a lovely vibe with a relaxed, inviting atmosphere.

Highly reccomend the cocktails, the food was also so beautifully presented and tasted amazing, one of my favourite places to eat during my travels, not expensive either.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Adrianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SandanTeam, Public Relations Manager at Sandan, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Thanks for visiting us Adrianne.

We hope the rest of your travels were fabulous!

Team Sandan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.