We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandan

Sandan
Ranked #5 of 339 Restaurants in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located near the Golden Lions roundabout on the road to Sokha beach, our restaurant has a peaceful garden setting. Open every-day from 11.30 am till 11.00pm, (kitchen closes at 10.00) we serve creative, Cambodian cuisine and fantastic cocktails in a traditional yet contemporary environment. Children are very welcome and we have a play area full of toys to keep them entertained. Sandan is run by the local organization M'Lop Tapang and is part of the Tree Alliance, a group of restaurants providing hospitality training to disadvantaged youth.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Sandan is run by M'Lop Tapang, a non-profit organization that supports street children in Sihanoukville. The young staff at Sandan are in training to learn a professional skill that will keep them off the streets of this much touristed beach town. This fact in and of itself would make Sandan worth a visit but the hotel also happens to have outstanding food (it was the only place where I felt comfortable enough to try crickets and the fish amouk was the best I had anywhere in Cambodia) as well as a lovely atmosphere. The restaurant also has a small shop selling crafts from parents of street children who have been trained by M'Lop Tapang. Sandan is a very special place and worth a visit on your trip to Sihanounkville.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandanTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Sandan, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for writing such a lovely, informative review of Sandan. We are so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Well done for being brave and trying the crickets. Thanks again. Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    247
    54
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Beautiful restaurant for a worthy cause”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went there for dinner twice during our stay in Sihanoukville. The restaurant has been set up by M'lop Tapang, a charity which trains underprivileged youths so that they may have a career and not live in poverty.
Great ambience, excellent food selection. Highlights were the Muslim beef, and the seafood amok. The best food I had in Cambodia! Such a great idea, best of luck to the staff there!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jrfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandanTeam, Public Relations Manager at Sandan, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Its really wonderful to read that so many of our customers visit our restaurant twice while staying in Sihanoukville. Without your help these students wouldn't be able to learn the valuable skills needed to become independent members of our community. We thank you so much for your custom and for taking the time to review sandan. Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great meal and good service in a really nice setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and cocktails at Sandan. Which we found due to recommendations in Trip Advisor. What a lovely evening the food was delicious and the service was excellent. Our visit was made even more memorable due to the guided tour of the kitchens and facilities to see the trainees at work.

We will definitely go back again before we leave.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LinziJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandanTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Sandan, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks for taking the time to tell others of your dining experience at Sandan. Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good reputation is definitely justified”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

An excellent evening meal, great service and lovely setting. We both had prawn and pork dip with prawn crackers. Absolutely delicious, but it filled us up! We had chicken and capsicum stir fry "a taste explosion" and prawn curry which was more like a soup. We washed it down with a daiquiri (passion fruit and orange-highly recommended), wine, beer and regularly replenished water. I love the ethos, and although it was clear that some of the servers were very novice, they were all charming, attentive, and being carefully trained. Nice wee shop, and some good guidance for tourists about orphanages, along with a basket of condoms in the toilet. It all made you feel that the world is being made a better place by Sandan.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LornaMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandanTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Sandan, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Sandan experience with others. We really appreciate reading such a nice review. Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a lovely dinner at Sandan: friendly relaxed atmosphere, lovely garden setting, the staff is very friendly and accomodating, the food - and the drinks - very good. Altogether a very pleasant experience, so when we found out that Bloco Malagasy would be playing there a few days later, we were back for a second time. And again we had a very pleasant evening there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnRN3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandanTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Sandan, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are so pleased you came back to enjoy Bloco Madagasy at Sandan. We were very lucky to have them play for us and teach the students at M'Lop Tapang drumming. We hope to see yourselves and Bloco Madagasy again soon. Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandan also viewed

Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 

Been to Sandan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing