We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place to stay with a lovely family”
Review of Carpe Diem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carpe Diem
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in Carpe Diem in January 2013, it was the best place we stayed on our trip. The bungalows were nicely decorated and clean and set in beautiful gardens. It was only a 5 min walk to the beach and Otres 1 and 2 beaches were also close - these are the best beaches in the area, much nicer than Sihanoukville the water is so clear. Really the best part of our stay was the hospitality, Silvia, Paulo, Silvana and Raynauto were great company and made us feel like part of the family. The Italian coffee and food was also a bonus. We hope to go back and would highly recommend Carpe Diem to others.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 50 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at Carpe Diem from 26th Feb until 1st March. We arrived super early (circa 5.30am!) and despite waking up the owners at this early hour, they greeted us with a warm smile and a much needed coffee.

The bungalows are quaint and clean and sat back from the beach which is a short walk or inexpensive tuk-tuk/moto ride away.

The owners, an Italian family, were warm, friendly and made us feel like a part of their family during our stay. One evening, they even cooked us a beautiful dinner and we all sat round, ate and drank together for the evening.

Tours and transport and easy to book, either through the owners or a local tour agency close to the beach.

We initially had planned stay only 3 nights, but found Carpe Diem so friendly and relaxing, we stayed an extra night.

The nearby beaches (Otres 1 and 2) are beautiful and the water is clean. A much better option than the crowded more touristy beaches closer to Sihanoukville.

Overall - we would highly recommend staying at Carpe Diem and hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Carpe Diem is located at the beginning of the Otres Village. They have only 3 pretty bungalows, which means you will have much privacy & privilege. Some may complain of the bird sounds coming from the birds' nest house which is being played from 5am-9pm, but it is definitely much better than the loud party music at some of the guesthouses situated on the beach, which I've heard even early in the morning! Silvia & Paolo are one of the loveliest people we've ever met & they made us (me, my husband & 2 children - 3 & 5 years old) feel very welcomed & right at home. We stayed 9 nights at the Banana bungalow; the bungalows were simple but tastefully decorated. We hired a Tuk Tuk driver (his name was Tha or Thaye) & he was a very nice young chap who dutifully drove us to & from the beach (relax at the wild beach near Shanti Shanti). If you prefer not to stay here, you must still try the food at the restaurant. Once you've tried Silvia's pastas, you will realise what & how much you've missed out; the pastas were the best we've ever eaten. Mama Mia!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YenChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia P, Proprietario at Carpe Diem, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013
Google Translation

Grazie per questa recensione.Siamo felici che vi siate trovati bene al Carpe Diem,perchè è importante per noi mettere a proprio agio i nostri clienti e non è stato difficile con una splendida famiglia come la vostra.Un caro saluto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

After all these nice "reviews" I had to see the place for myself as they sounded too good to be true. The owners had been evicted some time ago from the beach and relocated to the Otres "village". The bungalows are nicely decorated but crammed into a small plot of land. No privacy to speak of, no view, just a room in the middle of nowhere. The worst of all is the nearby (50m) 4 storey birdsnest "house" that emitts constant loud bird sounds from loudspeakers at all times of the day. A true killer feature for any relaxing accomodation/holiday. There is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO in the village so staying here will mean staying all the time in the little compound and listening to the "stories" of the italian couple.
The food at the restaurant was quite nice (good pasta, good olive oil, average tomato sauce, strange parma cheese), some items grown in the own garden (tomatoes, spices). Very limited choice on our visit (sorry finish this and finish that). Cooking took ages !The sea is NOT that close to the place as the other reviewers suggest and the road to get there sure not the nicest one. Definitely need a motorbike to get around and to the beach. All in all a very strange location for setting up a business and not sure if worth a second visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamaswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Beautiful Bungalows, Great italian food, amazing service! All in all perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gioiiiiiiiiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Carpe Diem restaurant just..simply..an amazing place to chill out and taste best and only italian pasta in otres beach..sihanoukville-cambodia. that lovely guys from an italian place named.....emh...ancona...(not sure).....will let you feel friendly atmosphere few steps from gulf of thailand.....don't miss!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stefano Pippo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The Carpe Diem was like an oasis for us in Sihanoukville because of the kindness and hospitality of the owners and very, very nice quality food and wine.
The rooms look great and clean, the location is perfect, very close to the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Point
Mushroom Point
#8 of 151 in Sihanoukville
336 reviews
0.0 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 76 in Sihanoukville
666 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 76 in Sihanoukville
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#3 of 76 in Sihanoukville
513 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 76 in Sihanoukville
740 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#18 of 76 in Sihanoukville
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Diem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Diem

Address: Otres Village, Sihanoukville 00855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 151 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $19 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the wild beauty of Otres, Carpe Diem is the perfect place to relax: there are 5 comfortable concrete bungalows with: patio with hammock and sitting area and inside: fan, wardrobe, double bed, mosquito net, bathroom with water hot and set of towels, soap and shampoo.I bungalows nestle in a fantastic tropical garden, with adjoining Italian restaurant. In our restaurant we serve only the original products of the Italian soil. We offer taxi service to the airport or other destinations, boat trips, motobike rentals, horseback riding, yoga center, and for our customers, we offer free bike service and free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carpe Diem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing