We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chilled out Vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Chilled out Vibe”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed at wish a few times, we did have a bed-bug problem one time but the staff were so apologetic that we felt fine returning. Great location, simple accommodation. Shout out to the staff, especially Todd!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyA464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    34
    22
    18
    16
See reviews for
1
57
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at WYWH, the staff were really nice and helpful. The rooms seemed clean enough but as others have said, the toilets did not seem very clean and there was no soap anywhere to be see, even when asked we were told they do not have soap. This seemed like a very strange policy as it is not something you want to always carry round with you and is a fairly basic and expected thing to have in any bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbowers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donvale, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Wish you were here, is one of the most simplistic peaceful places I have ever been to. The food is top notch (big shout out to the breakfast team) and the accommodation is very comfortable. Could not have a better spot for it literally 50 meters from the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in August. We stayed in a private hut, which was basic but nice and with lots of space and a big bed, and shared bathroom facilities. The bathrooms were not clean and were a bit grim to be honest, with dirty yellow water that ran through all taps, showers and toilets. This is not something i expected considering the price and compared to the rest of Cambodia. (A few days after leaving this place, i should say that i got a weird rash on my face and after seeking medical advice in a Bangkok hospital, was told it was a fungal infection sometimes caused by dirty water.)

Unfortunately while we were there a thunderstorm hit us for a solid 3 days, causing severe rain and flooding inside the hostel. Luckily the huts are on stilts but the water still came through the front door and it also meant that the entire pathways to get to your hut were covered in a foot of water that you had to wade through dirty water to go to either the bathroom or your hut. Luckily, the hostel has a great social area and bar, with a film area attached too. They have a good selection of beer and cocktails, and a lot of board games (thank goodness as there's not much to do in Sihanoukville during the rain). Plus, the staff are really nice and pretty cool.

Security in the private huts was also a bit of an issue. We had a padlock for our door to the hut, but when we went inside we opened the 'window' only to find out that the window did not have a lock and could easily be opened from outside with a more than bit enough gap for a large man to climb through.

Another downside was the fact that they had builders working in the hostel, who woke us up promptly every morning at the crack of dawn drilling or with the sound of the radio.

All the negatives aside, i can imagine that if the weather is beautiful you wouldn't notice the down sides as you'd be at the beach all day. Its relaxing and cosy and the staff are very nice and chatty. Its a good place to meet people too, especially with such a good bar area. Overall, i was pleased with the service and atmosphere but let down by the bathrooms and water problem, feeling that it was overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minimeanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and at first thought it was great. The bar area is a great place to hang out and as it was raining the whole time we were there it was good. The staff were very friendly and you feel comfortable.

The fact that the bathroom area is separate was a bit annoying, having to (as it rained the whole time) wade through what felt like a foot of water to go the toilet was a pain, from either the bar or your room. Also the water was a yellow colour which was a bit off putting, and my girlfriend got a fungal skin infection after staying here.

The bungalow was ok, bigger than other places we had stayed in beach areas but as there was a window (a moveable piece of wood) which could be opened from either side it felt a bit pointless having a padlock on the door, though at no point did it feel unsafe so it wasn't an issue.

I don't thnk i'd stay here again, though that isn;t because of the place, rather the area, as there wasn't anything to do and there are much better beach destinations in SE Asia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed in March 2013

Good stuff:
I stayed in a private bungalow with my boyfriend. Generally I enjoyed staying here. The staff are very friendly and the place has a relaxing vibe.

The room was a good size for the price and the bed was comfy. Our room was also very clean. WYWH has a nice bar and restaurant at the front. It's chilled in the day, but gets quite lively at night.

WTWH is one street back from the beach, which I found to be okay, because it meant I wasn't dragging sand into my room constantly. If you want to be directly on the beach, however, there are certainly cheap accommodation options at Otres with a sea view.

Bad stuff:
After two days at WYWH, the shared toilet / shower area really started to get me down. Each bathroom stall contains a shower and a toilet. As a result (I presume) of guests flushing down toilet paper (which is supposed to be deposited in a bin next to the toilet) the drains were always blocked and stagnant shower water collected along the floor of all the cubicles....wading in other people's dirty shower water and knowing the toilet drain was connected to the blocked shower drain grossed me out.

I'm kinda unable to deal with yucky bathroom situations for prolonged periods of time, so after 2 days we checked of WYWH looking for a place with better bathroom facilities.

I would recommend this place for short stays or for people who aren't too worried about the aforementioned bathroom issues.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Some things cannot be criticised. The staff are friendly, the food is fantastic, (try the veggie burger) the bar area is a great place to hang out and meet other people. It's close to the beach and feels secure.

Hate to write negative reviews but the room just let this place down. Stayed in a double room with fan. The bed felt and smelt damp. Even the pillows had a really strong damp smell. Spotted a few bed bugs and bites which really needs sorting (Room D4).The toilet block being separate isn't great in rainy season and the whole area gets quite slippy. Cold showers.

Managed 2 nights then moved to Serendipity beach where we got a huge a/c immaculate room for just a couple of dollars more. Depends what your standards are like but I'd only check out the bar and food.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemmaAndMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WishCambodia, General Manager at Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Gemma and Mat, We here at "Wish" want to say that we are truly glad you both were able to find all the amenities you were looking for in Serendipity as far as A/C, hot shower, fridge in the room, concrete walls and the long walk down to the beach and were able to get away from this "terrible, terrible " guesthouse as you said in other reviews. All of which could have been found out with a little reserch and no time wasted on coming to a secluded and remote beach with out such frills of the big city as Otres.
Keeping bedding and other sorts toasty and dry tends to be quite a problem for us here by the sea as mother nature does not realy care about how much moisture she puts in the air no matter how many times we ask her to stop. Bed bugs can also be a HUGE problem for any guesthouse, but not much can be done about it unless the appropriate staff are told and then we can take all the proper steps to prevent it from happening again. But unfortunately none of this was ever brought up with a staff member, EVEN when asked " hey guys how is everything today ? " as James and I asked on more then one occasion during the two days you stayed with us.
We are sorry we do not live up to your " standerds " for living on such a beautiful beach. In the future it would be kind to let any staff know of any improvements that you may suggest..... before writing a review.
Happy Travels
Punchii & Buddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Otres Lodge
Otres Lodge
#7 of 146 in Sihanoukville
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otres Orchid
Otres Orchid
#32 of 146 in Sihanoukville
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mien Mien
Mien Mien
#73 of 234 in Sihanoukville
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Everythang
Everythang
#23 of 146 in Sihanoukville
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chez Paou
Chez Paou
#36 of 146 in Sihanoukville
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Papa Pippo Bar, Restaurant & Bungalows
Papa Pippo Bar, Restaurant & Bun...
#10 of 146 in Sihanoukville
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar

Property: Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar
Address: 4 Sangkat | Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wish Otres Beach offers clean & comfortable backpacker accomodation at affordable prices...  For the budget concious, we offer dorm beds with fan & a personal locker for your belongings... Relax in the hanging chairs or up on the balcony… have a beer with your mates or sip on one of our tasty cocktails as you watch an amazing cambodian sunset over Otres Beach... Our Dorms have their own chillout area with an amazing view up on the balcony & are located above the bar & restaurant area. We also offer twin rooms with two single beds. Doubles & bungalows all have double beds, - all with shared bathroom. Our bungalows also have personal lockers & private balconies. Double Room with Private Bathroom & Hot Water available. We have 24hr Security, Free Wi-Fi, Laundry service, Secure Bag Storage, Mosquito Net, Towel & Blanket provided for all guests… Wish Sunday Sessions… Live Music every Sunday, 75c Beer, Cocktail & Food specials All Day... Our Tasty menu is available from 7.30am - 10pm with a mix of Western/Khmer food at great prices. Food Specials every night! Authentic homestyle Sri-Lankan Curry night every Thursday night. Our awesome kitchen staff do their best to make your stay with us as memorable as possible!! During your stay at Wish, our friendly staff will answer any questions you have about Cambodia or what to do whilst on Otres Beach & around Sihanoukville. Visit Ream National Park, Waterfalls, or take a Boat trip to Koh Rong, Koh Ta Kiev or one of the many islands off the coast… Also, it's possible to book buses & visas with us to your next destination… tuk-tuk ride to the bus station included!! We suggest spending a couple of days relaxing on the beach and you will see why so many never want to leave… ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing