We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing dorm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Came here due to good trip advisor reviews but was bitterly disappointed. Plus points - the staff were friendly and each dorm bed had a wooden box that could fit both backpack and daypack in. Unfortunately the dorms were really hot (even during the heavy rains), out of four fans in the room, two had tape over the on switches so they could not be turned on. One of the remaining two fans was broken which left only one fan for the room and that only covered the two beds near the door. Most occupants were sleeping in swimwear. The beds felt damp and the towels were wet. My mosquito net was open down one seam, so useless. The main problem was the location of the bathroom. All rooms inc private rooms shared the bathroom block. To get to it from the dorm, you had to go down a set of wooden stairs that were in the open air - they were very slippery in the rain, then you walked down an uneven path. It doesn't sound too bad but at night it was dark and wet, there was very little lighting. The toilets did not have toilet paper but you could buy your own. In the rainy season the layout of the hostel becomes more treacherous than quaint. I left after one night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeBowieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 214 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Only a brief stay here. Would have stayed longer if time allowed and price was more reasonable. It turned out to be quite a quirky guesthouse that consisted of both bungalows and a huge tree house made up of dorms and double rooms above the main reception/ bar area. My husband and I stayed in a double room which was small but reasonable and felt safe. The guesthouse added a nice touch to our room by having guidebooks (leaflets) about Cambodia and the local area. The bathrooms were in a huge circular hut type construction, again being quirky in design. If they were cleaned more often with the showers being more functional I would not have a bad word to say. The reception area was a lovely social area used by many travellers and we also used this area to read our books, have a beer and relax in swinging chairs. Overall a pleasant stay but slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0veablePresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I wished we were there... Booked a room 3 months ago. Received the confirmation by e-mail. Arrived today for our 3 nights at 6pm. No more room left because a group came earlier than us !...? Very disappointed...

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Knacky35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Had the most amazing time at wish you were here. Satyed in a double room with a fan, the rooms are very open and airy, so just having a fan wasnt a problem. The food here is lush, best tuan salad in the whole of SE Asia. The owners are really lovely guys, welcoming and helpful. They have a projector screen and movie area..which my travelling group and I had much fun requesting films that everyone else hated..haha. So basically I had the time of my life here, and would go back in a heartbeat. Dont think, just book this place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here for a few days over Christmas 2012 and so glad we did. The hosts were super friendly and chilled out and the accommodation was simple but great. Otres is definitely the beach to stay at if you are in Sihanoukville. Don't bother with Serendipity it's full of hawkers, drunks and rubbish. Otres is quiet and absolutely beautiful. Would highly recommend this place for people who really want to chill out and relax.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordo_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Recommended to us by a friend we booked one night in the Bungalow and planned to move into the dorms, however it was full so we were offered a twin room at the same price as the dorm - Perfect. Wish you were here, is the perfect place to unwind by the beach, eat great food, meet great people and enjoy a homely vibe! The staff are very welcoming and helpful !

The Bungalow was great, we had a wee panic when we noticed there was no fan but Jonny quickly fixed it by hammering two nails into the side of the Bungalow and mounting a wall fan.

The twin room was also great, basic but comfortable with a mosquito net. The shared bathroom in the centre of the gardens offers several toilet and shower facilities which avoids any queues. Not the cleanest of bathrooms but what do you expect staying 2 minutes from the beach.

Excellent stay, would recommend to anyone !

PS. If it rains you won't be bored, they have a home made cinema !

Room Tip: Dorm room if you like to party, Twin room if you like a little privacy. Bungalow if you like it a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couple275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The area is wicked, as its right on the beach. There's not much in the way of shops nearby so you'll have to get a cheap tuk tuk to the shops (around £1 one way) but if you want to be on the beach you'll hv to sacrifice shop convenience. Wish you were here is run by a very cool, very friendly couple of guys (although I only met one). He was so welcoming, by the end of the week I felt completely comfortable in this place. On a rainy day he even set up a cinema situation in the bar for the guests. The bungalows are lovely to stay in. All in all a really good experience! My only feedback would be that the lighting at the bar at night time is rubbish! Oooh and there is someone who bakes good old English treats like toblerone cookies and sells them at the bar! Yum!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Good Time Resort
Good Time Resort
#23 of 76 in Sihanoukville
63 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 76 in Sihanoukville
424 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 76 in Sihanoukville
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Otres Lodge
Otres Lodge
#4 of 154 in Sihanoukville
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mushroom Point
Mushroom Point
#7 of 154 in Sihanoukville
337 reviews
0 mi away
Pat Pat Guesthouse
Pat Pat Guesthouse
#8 of 239 in Sihanoukville
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wish You Were Here... Guesthouse & Bar

Address: 4 Sangkat | Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 154 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $11 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wish Otres Beach offers clean & comfortable backpacker accomodation at affordable prices... For the budget concious, we offer dorm beds with fan & a personal locker for your belongings... Relax in the hanging chairs or up on the balcony… have a beer with your mates or sip on one of our tasty cocktails as you watch an amazing cambodian sunset over Otres Beach... Our Dorms have their own chillout area with an amazing view up on the balcony & are located above the bar & restaurant area. We also offer twin rooms with two single beds. Doubles & bungalows all have double beds, - all with shared bathroom. Our bungalows also have personal lockers & private balconies. Double Room with Private Bathroom & Hot Water available. We have 24hr Security, Free Wi-Fi, Laundry service, Secure Bag Storage, Mosquito Net, Towel & Blanket provided for all guests… Wish Sunday Sessions… Live Music every Sunday, 75c Beer, Cocktail & Food specials All Day... Our Tasty menu is available from 7.30am - 10pm with a mix of Western/Khmer food at great prices. Food Specials every night! Authentic homestyle Sri-Lankan Curry night every Thursday night. Our awesome kitchen staff do their best to make your stay with us as memorable as possible!! During your stay at Wish, our friendly staff will answer any questions you have about Cambodia or what to do whilst on Otres Beach & around Sihanoukville. Visit Ream National Park, Waterfalls, or take a Boat trip to Koh Rong, Koh Ta Kiev or one of the many islands off the coast… Also, it's possible to book buses & visas with us to your next destination… tuk-tuk ride to the bus station included!! We suggest spending a couple of days relaxing on the beach and you will see why so many never want to leave… ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing