We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Otres Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Otres Beach Resort
Ranked #79 of 228 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Basic but good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights at Strawberry Resort in early May 2013.

The resort is fine if all you need is a room to stay in, and that's it. The bungalows are made of wood and are aesthetically pleasing but very basic, consisting of a bed with mosquito net, small table, wall mounted fan, wicker storage unit and an ensuite shower/ wet room. They each have a verrander with a table and 2 chairs too. For the price the simplicity of the rooms was obviously expected but we did have a couple of issues with the design of the bungalows:
1-they had numerous holes in the walls, particularly between the tops of the walls and the roofing. This invited lots of bugs which is fine when you're in your bed with the mosquito net over you, but a little frustrating when your getting ready for dinner in the evenings, etc;
2-given the holes, I did wonder how secure the bungalows actually were?

A couple of other points of note, the area outside the bungalows within the resort is very poorly lit and the wifi didn't work the whole time we were there which was very disappointing.

Location-wise, the bungalows are on the opposite side of the road from the beach but only about a 30 second walk away. Otres beach is absolutely stunning, quiet with only a handful of hawkers and some great beachside eating spots including Elephant Garden (fantastic dinners) and Tamu (awesome sunbeds, food, etc, serving breakfast and lunch only). It is around 20 minutes from central Sihanoukville.

We were not told about any "restaurant" when we checked in but from some of the other reviews on here, it seems there was one, but unfortunately I can't comment on that. We didn't get to know the staff at all really but any time we did need assistance they were very polite and spoke reasonable English. They kindly accommodated our request to move rooms one evening following one of our inconsiderate neighbours choosing to play his guitar and sing at the top of his voice at 11pm at night. Why do these people exist?!

I think to sum up, Strawberry Bungalows is ok, average accommodation which probably seems better to lots of people because of where it is (Otres Beach really is lovely). It's great if you're on a budget. But cheap or otherwise, there are still a few areas where they could easily improve in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpw222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    36
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
8
38
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. Even with just a fan was ok but aircon wud be better.
Our room was great tho an the resort looks amazing.
Great service for washing clothes also.
The location is unbelievable down at otres 2 beach. Great atmosphere here and great people. So relaxing here. Easy place to get to the islands also.
The power does cut out from time to time but it's fine. Me and my girlfriend loved it here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OisinHennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I really wanted to stay in a traditional style, simple wooden hut with the convenience of my own bathroom, near a beautiful, quiet, non-touristy tropical beach. And Strawberry Resort was exactly that!

Strawberry Resort is on Otres 2 which is the far end of Otres beach, and far away from the other much touristy beaches of Sihanouk Ville. The bungalows are set in two rows surrounded by a pretty garden, each has its own little terrance and a clean simple bathroom. The bed was comfy and came with the obligatory mosquito net and ceiling fan. The beach is literally a few seconds across the road and is stunning.

It has a little restaurant that serves decent enough food, though there are a half a dozen or more great places to try along the beach - Sam's Place was a firm beach side favourite.

As with many places in Cambodia there were issues with power cuts and the management tried their best to balance the need for power with the noisy generator. I think they got it about right.

All in all I had a lovely relaxing 6 nights here and wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarthaBoggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for three days really enjoyed the place is clean and huts are fine really enjoyed food a bit expensive but go across to SAMs bar best in otres two really good vibe great fun place the beach is by far the best in cambodia even better than some islands

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dariandoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a clean and quiet place to stay near the Otres 2 beach in Sihanoukville. It is not right on the beach but it takes you about 30 sec to reach the beach from the resort (you can see it from the restaurant). Very good value for a beach stay with your private bathroom and hot water. The family that runs the place are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helmi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

The bungalows are basic but have all you would need with en suite bathroom and your own little balcony. It's a great place to stay due to its location on the quieter side of otres so it's not too noisy at all.

The only problem we had whilst there was the generator which because we were the last bungalow (number 15) it rattled the hut and was extremely loud. Thankfully they turned it off around 10pm so we just had to wait until it stopped to fall asleep. Therefore my only advice would be to ask for a hut away from the generator an closer to the beach to avoid that as the power quite regularly cuts out here!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for five nights recently and really enjoyed our stay. The wooden bungalows are charming and the gardens are very well kept - it's a lovely setting.
The bungalow was clean with an adjoining bathroom and electric shower which was most welcome. Comfortable bed with mozzie net and overhead electric fan - a little noisy at night-time but most welcome. I must confess to feeling a little underwhelmed on arrival but, having checked out the other accommodation in the vicinity, I'm happy we chose to stay at Strawberry. Otres beach is beautiful and a stone's throw from the accommodation and, while we ate in the Strawberry restaurant several times and enjoyed it , there is plenty of choice if you want to try somewhere different. The food was pretty good and very reasonably priced though service a little slow at times. Don, the owner, made a point of welcoming us and you get the feeling he really does care for his guests. The staff are more than happy to help with bookings and onward travel arrangements. It's a good way out of town, which is no bad thing, and it's possible to walk right along the beach from the town to Otres, which we did on more than one occasion. It's a great budget choice and, when you consider another operator is charging almost 10x the price 100m down the road, I'd say it's unbeatable value.
I'd certainly stay there again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jEffrEy..UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Otres Resort
Otres Resort
#9 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.4 mi away
Otres Lodge
Otres Lodge
#9 of 138 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.6 mi away
Otres Orchid
Otres Orchid
#34 of 138 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Penguin Pablo
Penguin Pablo
#11 of 138 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Otres Jungle Bungalows
Otres Jungle Bungalows
#6 of 228 in Sihanoukville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Moonflower Bungalows
The Moonflower Bungalows
#44 of 228 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otres Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otres Beach Resort

Property: Otres Beach Resort
Address: 2 Marina Road, Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia (Formerly Strawberry Resort)
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Otres Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OBR is a tradition Khmer bungalow resort set in a beautiful garden 20m from the sealine. Each bungalow is en-suite with hot water shower. We have a restaurant with excellent food at a fair price. A small bar with all your cocktails and cold cold beer. We are located in the tranquil end of Otres beach. If you want to party a 5 minute tuk tuk or a 15 minute walk can take you there. We can arrange bus tickets to all destinations including Thailand and Vietnam. We can also organise trips to the Islands and national parks and a taxi service to your required destination. We also rent motorbikes. Hope to see you soon. ps. We now have a full resort directly on the beach including hobie catamarans, paddle boards, wind surfing, dirt bikes, kite surfing and canoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Otres Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing