We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King Chill”
Review of Otres Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Otres Beach Resort
Ranked #79 of 242 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Booked a bungalow for 2 nights and stayed 2 weeks and a few days. Forget time. Loved the place. In the beginning I thought maybe its a bit to quiet but I soon settled in to a very hang loose tempo. I could really unwind here. The staff and the owners are super friendly without being intrusive. All things considered for price location food and the lighthearted banter of the manager I highly recommend Strawberry.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Billy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 120 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2012

This place is on the far end of Otres beach, actually the Tuk tuk driver said it was Otres 2. This means it is an excellent place to chill for a few days, really quiet and remote. Downside is that you have to pay more to get back in town, but if you want to hang out for a few days away from the busy areas this is fine. Bungalows are good and big, with a balcony to sit on.

Ladies from the staff are really friendly and so is the owner, nice stories to tell. Just a few meters from the beach, and if you walk a bit to the left or to the right you can be all alone. If you fancy some company or some nice chairs to hang out you can walk to Otres beach 1, about 30-40 minute walk, but there are some nice places to hang out for a day.

Had a good stay, just chilling for a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed at strawberry for 8 nights and really enjoyed it!
We had a dbl bed bungalow for $10/night. The bungalow is basic with a fan, hot shower and mosquito net (important). Each bungalow has its own porch which is nice when it is not too hot. We looked at other places on Otress beach and this was the best in the price range..
Otress beach is very quite and as such there aren't many restaurants which makes Strawberry the best in the area. The food is good and relativly cheap but we found the portions a little small.
Because Otress beach is far from town and it is so small- prices are a little higher than in Serendipity. For example moto rental 5/7, laundry 0.75/1.25 and the food as well.
The atmosphere at strawberry is really great and Don and the staff are really friendly and helpful. Also the internet is really fast and reliable. 

One thing that we did find annoying was the power outages that happen at least once a day in the evening. There is a backup generator but no hot water or fan..

Our favourite beach was at nautica juat across from strawberry. The people are really friendly and they make great shakes!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

On the quieter end of Otres beach, so very good if you want somewhere quiet an laid back. Don the owner is very helpful and they are able to organise or help organise pretty much anything. Bungalows are very nice with fanatastic balcony but do get hot during the day. Wifi also very good. Power cuts out frequently tho.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank applesandclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We came into Sihanoukville knowing we wanted to get to Otres Beach, which is much more chilled out than the main part of town. Our tuk-tuk pulled up at some of the bungalows there, but they were booked. We headed all the way to the far end of Otres, where there are only a few establishments, and picked Strawberry for its tidy arrangement, easy-going vibe, and excellent prices. The bungalows were basic but clean and new, the hot water, fans and lights worked, and the wi-fi was screaming fast. Don the proprietor seemed to be able to arrange anything and if you got him talking, you could hear some interesting tales about Cambodia. The cafe/bar upstairs was comfortable and the food was very good, especially the steamed fish with veggies and an amazing curry sauce and the cheeseburgers. No kidding. The only thing missing from the cafe were some fans for when the evenings were hot. Oh, and there should be hammocks on the porches of the bungalows. But other than that it was a great time. If you go, definitely cross the "street" and hang out on the beach at Shanti Shanti, where the quiches are divine and the beach lounging exquisite.

If you take the 3-island boat trip, do be advised that the snorkeling equipment is likely to be subpar/broken, visibility is likely to be poor, and there aren't many fish. But if you look at it as a great day trip to 3 beautiful islands with lunch thrown in for $15, you'll be happy as a clam.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellyswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Located in the far end of Otres Beach away from the shabby, sometimes seedy touristic Sihanoukville, Strawberry Guesthouse was just what we were looking for (and a welcome relief or the horror of the huts on Bamboo Island!).

The clean, spatious bungalows at Strawberry may not be on the beach, but they are traditional wooden huts in a sandy garden with beautiful plants. The restaurant offers a break from the heat of the beach.

I paid $15 for a twin bungalow with big veranda where I could hang my hammock. Smaller doubles were $12.

Dublin Don and his team of Cambodian staff are friendly and helpful (unfortunately I deleted his pic from my iPod by mistake!).

The long white beach is great for swimming with a steady incline into the sea. You can hire canoes and sailing boats and in the evening watch the sun set beside the island opposite.

Laura from London

Room Tip: Doubles are cheaper but the twins have great balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The bungalows at Strawberry Resort were just what I was looking for. I spent 3 weeks there and would have loved to stay longer. I'll definitely be going back. Wifi in my bungalow and in the restaurant allowed me to keep in touch with home, and I was even able to give friends and family a little tour on Skype.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and so is Don, the owner. The rooms are reasonably priced, and just steps from the beach -- where I couldn't stop taking pictures of the beautiful sunsets.
Great food! The bungalows are rustic but new, with hot water showers and nice, little balconies. This end of Otres Beach is very quiet -- just what I wanted -- but when I craved a little action they were happy to arrange a motorbike rental for the 20-minute ride into town, or just to tour around. Or they will call a tuk-tuk or taxi if you don't want to drive yourself.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.4 mi away
Pat Pat Guesthouse
Pat Pat Guesthouse
#6 of 242 in Sihanoukville
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Footprints Rooms
Footprints Rooms
#113 of 242 in Sihanoukville
204 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Moonflower Bungalows
The Moonflower Bungalows
#45 of 242 in Sihanoukville
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Otres Orchid
Otres Orchid
#29 of 157 in Sihanoukville
145 reviews
19.8 mi away
Banana Beach Bungalow & Restaurant
Banana Beach Bungalow & Restaura...
#108 of 157 in Sihanoukville
39 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chez Paou
Chez Paou
#32 of 157 in Sihanoukville
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otres Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otres Beach Resort

Address: 2 Marina Road, Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia (Formerly Strawberry Resort)
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 242 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $10 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Otres Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OBR is a tradition Khmer bungalow resort set in a beautiful garden 20m from the sealine. Each bungalow is en-suite with hot water shower. We have a restaurant with excellent food at a fair price. A small bar with all your cocktails and cold cold beer. We are located in the tranquil end of Otres beach. If you want to party a 5 minute tuk tuk or a 15 minute walk can take you there. We can arrange bus tickets to all destinations including Thailand and Vietnam. We can also organise trips to the Islands and national parks and a taxi service to your required destination. We also rent motorbikes. Hope to see you soon. ps. We now have a full resort directly on the beach including hobie catamarans, paddle boards and canoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Otres Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing