We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stopover”

New Seaview Villa, Sihanoukville
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Seaview Villa, Sihanoukville
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

First place we stopped in Snooks mainly due to TA reviews.

Arrived very early, straight off the bus from Siem Reap. Very welcoming, but only had a ground floor, aircon room for $15. Asia basic, but clean & cosy.

What really impresses is the standard of food here. Not Haute Cuisine, but good homely grub, Western & Khmer. Not $1 noodles but great value for money.

Got to say the beach leaves a lot to be desired, but hard to beat this proximity.

We ended up moving to another hotel, purely as we wanted other facilities, pool etc, but could easily have spent time in this place. By the way, low season & it was full. Tells its own tale really.

Room Tip: The spicy sausage & mozzarella roll is worth travelling for & their pure fruit juices are en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
18
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights before heading onto to the beautiful island of Koh Rong. The room we stayed in was a fan only and was adequate for the price. When we arrived we were hot and sweaty having travelled from Vietnam that morning and were in need of a shower. Ours didn't work. We spoke with the nonchalant chap at reception who informed us that the whole town was without water but some was being ferried in from the neighboutring town. We were told that water should be available within a couple of hours. So off we went to the beach for an evening beer or 2. Several hours later we arrived back at the hotel and no water. Reception as closed so nobody to complain to. Went to sleep (as best we could as the room was stifling and the noise from the beach bars incessant) and thought by morning it would be fine. No!!! Still no water. Went to reception told the guy working there. The manager overheard and told us that there was still a problem in town but it should be sorted soon. When we informed the manager that the gardener upstairs was using a hosepipe and lots of water was flowing from it he came upstairs to look at the shower for us. It transpired that there was something wrong wth the plumbing and that there had been water all along. Almost 24 hours we had gone without a shower so we were pretty peed off. The manager apologised but didn't offer a single concession like an upgrade to an aircon room or a complimentary dinner in the restaurant possibly. Pretty disappointing and wouldn't stay there again eventhough you are close to the action of Occheuteal Beach.

Room Tip: Get an aircon room away from the beach as in not at New Seaview Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our first impression seemed quite good. The villa had a nice and warming atmosphere largely thanks to the open restaurant on the ground floor. The beach is literally minutes from the entrance. We booked the double bed A/C room, which was nice, and spacious. At first it all seemed good. Unfortunately there was no free tea/ coffee available which was a bit of a shame. We also had to wait an hour until we could check in. On the first night my husband awoke in a bit of agony. He was bitten all over pretty bad. We live in a nice house in the city, and there were no mosquitoes in the room. Therefore it would appear the bed was rife with bedbugs. From this point my husband was in pain, and always felt awkward when trying to relax. Sleeping still proved difficult. Foolishly we didn't really complain, or make much fuss, as initially we thought it was mosquitoes. However we both were fully creamed up with repellent before bed. The night was also a little noisy, but we didn't care too much. The food was alright, I guess we could of chose better dishes? In general I expect you can get better value for your money. The owners seem nice however, guess we were just unlucky. Had there been no bedbugs we would of been pretty happy. Now my husband is on anti-histamine pills and cream to stop his swollen ugly bites which irritates him every now and then.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutenana7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sihanoukville hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nice room, they are decorating them at the moment. Good size. We just had a fan room, which got a little too hot at night. Bathroom good. Beds comfy and clean. Very close to the dirty  beach. Good games area with ping pong and pool. Great food downstairs. Good value. If you want to/ have to stay in Serendipity, I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAMlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerteh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I booked 3 nights here after reading the TA reviews. We booked through Agoda and paid $90 for 3 nights. Before we arrived we decided we would like to stay an extra 2 nights, but would wait and see what the room was like before booking further.

On the first night, we stayed in an okay room... not great but okay. But the next day they said they had to move us as we had been put in the wrong room. Our new room was tiny, and didn't even have a window, never mind a sea view! The bathroom was just a wet room and had the shower coming out of the wall, right next to the toilet.

There was no balcony, fridge, safe or tea/ coffee facilities, and right outside our room was the games area with pool tables, fussball table and ping pong. There was a notice saying no games after 8pm, but there were people playing pool at 4am one morning.

On checking-out, while I was waiting for the guy to get our invoice ready, I saw a list of rooms with prices next to them. Our room (203) said $20. I pointed this out to the guy at reception and said we had paid $30. He just shook his head and shrugged, and so I gave him our Agoda invoice. He then said that Agoda had overcharged us and just walked away. When he came back I explained this didn't any make sense, and he started saying it was taxes and 'extra charges'. To be honest, we should have pushed it and asked to speak to the owner, but we didn't, we just left it, so we have to take some responsibility.

We had numerous power cuts while we were here, but apart from one, the generator was turned on quite quickly.

The main attraction is probably the location as it's only a few steps from the beach, but don't be fooled by the name Sea View Villa.... it doesn't have a sea view, well certainly not from the rooms we stayed in, or the restaurant, but maybe some of the others do.

The restaurant was okay but again there are much better options. We ate here twice and both times it was mediocre, but if you go next door to the Black Grouper, you get a much better meal and better service. Also, the Beach Road Restaurant and Led Zephyr Bar had much better food. However, they do make an excellent Mojito!!

For the extra 2 nights, we went directly across the road to the Serendipity Resort. Our room was only $38, which we thought was excellent value as we had a huge room with, king size bed, sofa, chair, balcony with table & 2 chairs, safe, fridge with complimentary water, tea/coffee making facilities and huge bathroom with bath and separate shower. The hotel also has a large pool with sun beds, and given it was only $8 more than what we were paying to Sea View, it was a much better deal for us.

We really don't like giving negative reviews, but at the same time we have to review it as we found it, and we certainly wouldn't stay here again, and likewise, we wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindyIrving121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

In my opinion, get in and out of S'ville as quickly as possible. The city is dirty and there is so much more to see in Cambodia. That said, I really liked the New Seaview Villa. I stayed one night on the way to Koh Rong. The rooms are a great value, clean and functional. The restaurant is very good though not the cheapest food around. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful. The place is chill, not crawling with wasted 18 year olds but social enough for those who enjoy meeting other travelers. It's a very short walk to the beach, which is anything but chill. If you must stay in S'ville, this is a great place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed 4 nights over xmas period and enjoyed a xmas dinner put on by the excellent English owners who must have worked hard to source some of the traditional ingredience! - nice touch guys.

Can't really fault this guesthouse, location very good, owners are 'hands-on' only downside (which is out of the guesthouse's control) is the nightly mayhem, debauchery, music and noise from the bars along the beach 100m or so away - expect the thumping tunes to keep you awake at least once through the night!

The real draw card of this guesthouse is the food, especially the dinner menu - very good, extensive and tasty.

As for the rooms, we stayed in both superior and twin with fan, both good and well priced, clean and comfortable for 18>30USD range.

Overall, best guesthouse in the area in our opinion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shevill68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Road Hotel
Beach Road Hotel
#53 of 72 in Sihanoukville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
3.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel & Resort
Legacy Hotel & Resort
#13 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#20 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#15 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Moonflower Bungalows
The Moonflower Bungalows
#45 of 228 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Seaview Villa, Sihanoukville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Seaview Villa, Sihanoukville

Property: New Seaview Villa, Sihanoukville
Address: Beach Road, Serendipity Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing