We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok accommodation in bad area of Cambodia”

New Seaview Villa, Sihanoukville
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Seaview Villa, Sihanoukville
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nice room, they are decorating them at the moment. Good size. We just had a fan room, which got a little too hot at night. Bathroom good. Beds comfy and clean. Very close to the dirty  beach. Good games area with ping pong and pool. Great food downstairs. Good value. If you want to/ have to stay in Serendipity, I would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAMlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 45 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I booked 3 nights here after reading the TA reviews. We booked through Agoda and paid $90 for 3 nights. Before we arrived we decided we would like to stay an extra 2 nights, but would wait and see what the room was like before booking further.

On the first night, we stayed in an okay room... not great but okay. But the next day they said they had to move us as we had been put in the wrong room. Our new room was tiny, and didn't even have a window, never mind a sea view! The bathroom was just a wet room and had the shower coming out of the wall, right next to the toilet.

There was no balcony, fridge, safe or tea/ coffee facilities, and right outside our room was the games area with pool tables, fussball table and ping pong. There was a notice saying no games after 8pm, but there were people playing pool at 4am one morning.

On checking-out, while I was waiting for the guy to get our invoice ready, I saw a list of rooms with prices next to them. Our room (203) said $20. I pointed this out to the guy at reception and said we had paid $30. He just shook his head and shrugged, and so I gave him our Agoda invoice. He then said that Agoda had overcharged us and just walked away. When he came back I explained this didn't any make sense, and he started saying it was taxes and 'extra charges'. To be honest, we should have pushed it and asked to speak to the owner, but we didn't, we just left it, so we have to take some responsibility.

We had numerous power cuts while we were here, but apart from one, the generator was turned on quite quickly.

The main attraction is probably the location as it's only a few steps from the beach, but don't be fooled by the name Sea View Villa.... it doesn't have a sea view, well certainly not from the rooms we stayed in, or the restaurant, but maybe some of the others do.

The restaurant was okay but again there are much better options. We ate here twice and both times it was mediocre, but if you go next door to the Black Grouper, you get a much better meal and better service. Also, the Beach Road Restaurant and Led Zephyr Bar had much better food. However, they do make an excellent Mojito!!

For the extra 2 nights, we went directly across the road to the Serendipity Resort. Our room was only $38, which we thought was excellent value as we had a huge room with, king size bed, sofa, chair, balcony with table & 2 chairs, safe, fridge with complimentary water, tea/coffee making facilities and huge bathroom with bath and separate shower. The hotel also has a large pool with sun beds, and given it was only $8 more than what we were paying to Sea View, it was a much better deal for us.

We really don't like giving negative reviews, but at the same time we have to review it as we found it, and we certainly wouldn't stay here again, and likewise, we wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindyIrving121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

In my opinion, get in and out of S'ville as quickly as possible. The city is dirty and there is so much more to see in Cambodia. That said, I really liked the New Seaview Villa. I stayed one night on the way to Koh Rong. The rooms are a great value, clean and functional. The restaurant is very good though not the cheapest food around. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful. The place is chill, not crawling with wasted 18 year olds but social enough for those who enjoy meeting other travelers. It's a very short walk to the beach, which is anything but chill. If you must stay in S'ville, this is a great place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed 4 nights over xmas period and enjoyed a xmas dinner put on by the excellent English owners who must have worked hard to source some of the traditional ingredience! - nice touch guys.

Can't really fault this guesthouse, location very good, owners are 'hands-on' only downside (which is out of the guesthouse's control) is the nightly mayhem, debauchery, music and noise from the bars along the beach 100m or so away - expect the thumping tunes to keep you awake at least once through the night!

The real draw card of this guesthouse is the food, especially the dinner menu - very good, extensive and tasty.

As for the rooms, we stayed in both superior and twin with fan, both good and well priced, clean and comfortable for 18>30USD range.

Overall, best guesthouse in the area in our opinion.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shevill68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel, we stayed across the road at the Serendipity Beach Resort,but enjoyed many meals at the New Seaview Villa. They have a very good menu and excellent prices for western food. At $2.00 for a glass of Australian white wine, you can not beat this price in the whole of asia. The English breakfast is a very good deal, with plenty of food. Toast, two eggs, bacon, pork sausage, baked beans/or tomato and a potato cake for $4.50. Followed up with a Cafe Latte $1.25....just plain unbeatable value for $US6.00 . Night time meals were delicious. Would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Sihanoukville in the future. The toilets are probably the best and cleanest toilets in a restaurant at Serendipity Beach. Well done to Nick, Stacey and Sara for running a top notch establishment.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty_Dibden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Nice and spacious accommodation. Especially for Single room that I think can accommodate for 2 person. More to westerner style complete with heater shower and wifi. Friendly and informative receptionist. Good location with easy access to the beach and convenience store.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAAriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here during low season and so got a twin fan room with hot shower for $10 a night. Was really impressed with the standard of the room. The staff were all really friendly and all speak english. The place had a really nice chilled out vibe and we ate in the restuarant both nights we stayed as the were offering 2 courses for 2 people for $10 which was really good value. Would definitely stay here again. Only downside is that as its close to the beach there is a bit of noise at night time, but that didn't bother me as its an obvious effect of being close to everything. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
4.1 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#8 of 75 in Sihanoukville
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 75 in Sihanoukville
1,512 reviews
1.9 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#10 of 75 in Sihanoukville
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 75 in Sihanoukville
500 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#2 of 75 in Sihanoukville
729 reviews
4.4 mi away
Golden River Bungalows
Golden River Bungalows
#64 of 237 in Sihanoukville
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Seaview Villa, Sihanoukville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Seaview Villa, Sihanoukville

Address: Beach Road, Serendipity Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing