We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overpriced backpackers' dump”
Review of Apple Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apple Guest House
Ranked #160 of 241 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was really disappointed with Apple Guesthouse - I intentionally sought them out due to a recommendation from a colleague - I don't know what she was thinking.

First of all, rates were inflated due to the Chinese New Year holiday and so I paid $15 for a fan room. What I got was a dinky tinderbox of a room with water damage along the walls and a toilet that flooded the bathroom and continuously ran for the entire stay. Despite the sign on the wall telling guests to put toilet paper in the bin, there was no toilet paper - and no bin! (Later I found the bin outside my door to the room). There was also no hot water, no towels, and stains on my bedsheet. Upon leaving and returning I mixed up the room numbers and inserted my key into my neighbor's door - only to find that it opened and I was standing face-to-face with a bewildered old guy giving me a weird grin. (I made sure to utilize the deadbolt after that). My room was located next to a giant porch where people gathered and talked (loudly) well into the night. In the morning everyone was gone except for some cleaners picking up empty bottles and clearing ashtrays but as I sat on the porch eating breakfast a very pale young woman stumbled out of a bedroom begging me for water. I skeptically went back to my room and brought her a bottle only to see upon my return that she had opened and drunk from my can of soda. I have never left a motel feeling so dirty in my life.

The following night I moved away from the tourist center into a simple but clean and quiet Khmer-owned guesthouse called "Keara Guesthouse" where I paid $8 for a clean double room twice the size, with towels, toilet paper, and hot water. Go figure.

I just get the sense that Apple Guesthouse doesn't have to provide clean rooms or good service - because of their location and the clientele who frequent it, they'll continue to get customers whether they put effort into it or not. If you're looking for a post-party crashpad, then I guess this is the place - if you're looking for a simple, but clean and decent place to stay then by all means, keep looking!

Room Tip: If you must stay here, at least avoid Room 108.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien L, Gérant at Apple Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Jess,

First of all, thank you for your comment. We feel very sorry for the bad experience you had during your stay at Apple Guest house.

We cannot do much about what happened to you with the other customers, but we are affected with your comments about the room. Indeed, we try our best to provide clean and nice rooms. There may have been some disorganization as it was high season, but it's not an excuse from our side. Still, you should have complained directly to the reception to fix it quickly. It would have last 3 minutes to fix the water issues and give you the towels and the paper we usually always provide.

Water issues have been solved by now, an be sure we're asking, like in most of the other places, to have the guesthouse quiet after 10pm.

One more thing about the service we provide to our customers. They include the free WiFi, bus and boat tickets reservation (with pick-up at the guesthouse), motorbike rental, tourist information as well as the 24/24 convenience store which also guarantee a continuous presence. We really aim to have a friendly guesthouse with good interaction with and between our guests, we do not rely on our very good location.

Thank you for your feedback, even if you could have asked directly to our staff in order to have things clarified so you could have been fully satisfied of your stay, but every comment if for us a reason an an encouragement to keep on make things better. We hope you'll come back again, even only for the services we give!

Best Regards,


Apple Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 29 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

What can I say, cheap, friendly and great location glad I stayed here !!!!!its great value for your money if your travelling I'm only on a quick holiday to check out the area and glad I've come for a look, recommend heading to otres beach it's way more chilled than serendipity

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neillyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I really enjoyed the few days I spent in Apple GuestHouse !
The location is perfect : near the most animated beach of the town and not far from the center. Rooms are simple but well fitted and decorated. And, very important too, the staff is very welcoming, kind, and ready to help you whenever you need them (thanks to the minimart, opened 24h a day !). A perfect place to have rest, after a tiring visit of Angkor Temples, for example.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Apple Guest House is next to the Street and about 5 minutes walk to the beach. Below the rooms are a small supermarket, where's also the reception. The Rooms are very basic with private bathroom and no breakfast. In the night it's very loud. Around you here loud music and you here each step on the old wooden building of the rooms. One Room costs 8 dollar, so for one night it's ok, but if you be longer here, it's better you find another abode.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kiramakasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I arrived at Apple Guest House at the end of our 2 months trip around South East Asia. We were planning to stay for a couple of nights but we felt so cozy there that we ended up staying 5 nights.
The owner of this guest house really knows traveler's need. This place is 2 min walk from the beach. The staff is very helpful and genuinely friendly, always keen to have a chat and give you advices about the area. Our room was simple, but very clean and spacious, with cable tv, a/c and a nice access on the back garden. Another great plus is the little minimart attached to the guesthouse. It is open 24/7 and sells anything (!!!) you might want or feel like after a few months of intense backpacking.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed in a single room with a fan. The walls were freshly painted in a nice blue color and there were even some framed pictures on the wall. Compared to your average no-frills budget room in South-East Asia this place is very cosy and clean. The free Wifi was excellent but, sadly, it stopped working after a few days and wasn't repaired until I left. That's my only complaint about this place. Overall I've got only nice things to say about this guesthouse: friendly staff, delicious breakfast and very close (about a 3 minute walk) from the beach. My favorite place to stay in Sihanoukville!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room on the first floor so you can enjoy the nice the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BraindeadDodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: prepararsi a sudare perchè le stanze sono un forno
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxx61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
2.1 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#10 of 78 in Sihanoukville
694 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#8 of 78 in Sihanoukville
1,598 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#2 of 78 in Sihanoukville
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Otres Sea View Resort
Otres Sea View Resort
#47 of 78 in Sihanoukville
3 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 78 in Sihanoukville
762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#19 of 78 in Sihanoukville
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Guest House

Address: Mithona Street | Ocheuteal Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 241 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $5 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located next to Ochheuteal beach in Sihanoukville.Our guest house has 15 rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, cable TV, free high speed Wi-Fi. All our rooms have been completely renovated in 2011 and 2012.Our rooms come with big size twin beds or a King size bed (with A/C or fan). We also provide a large range of services (laundry, internet cafe, ticket booking, etc.). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing