We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but soul less”
Review of GBT Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
GBT Guesthouse
Ranked #176 of 234 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cheap but soul less”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Stayed here for one night. Paid $7 for a double room with cold water and a tv. It was hot at night even with the slightly broken fan. But it was very cheap. Staff seemed friendly enough and the location was good. We moved to the big easy just up the road and got a bungalow for a couple of dollars more a night.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamandizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    27
    46
    32
    52
See reviews for
8
50
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in a room with fan and cold water for $6. We asked after the 2 nights if we could move to a room with hot water but were told they didn't have hot water. The bed was comfortable and we had cable tv but the room was extremely hot at night despite the fan pointing directly at the bed. I would recommend getting an AC room if you can afford it. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and efficient and there is a decent, well run restaurant attached. Good location about 2 minutes walk to Serendipity Beach. Good for those on a tight budget.

Room Tip: Go for Aircon if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalliBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phom Penh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed in GBT Guesthouse during the waterfestival in 2011. The whole city was quite crouwded and so we were heppy to just have a room. Even though a double room costs 8$ which is quite okay for such a touristic area. We had 2 fans, a tv and a bathroom with warm water. Everything you need if you want to explore the area around and to have a easy accommodation.
The beach is quite close as it may take you 5 minutes to go there. The Guesthouse provides free wifi, which was complicated to get inside our room, a restaurant and organized trips. Even though the other bars and clubs are just around the corner, if you are longing for that.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pear S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

we stayed there in October for seven days and had a very large aircon room, also with a fan and TV and paid US$12.- /day.

They clean and change linen every day and they also have a large, under cover outdoor restaurant. They also have an Internet Cafe and travel office desk. The waiters in their restaurant are very attentitive, especially the head waiter is very helpful. When my wife fell ill and I told him about it he send a motorbike to the nearest chemist to collect some medicine for my wife. ( even the boss came to our room and ask what he can do )

Outside are the tuk tuks and bike riders waiting to bring you where you want to go.

This is a rather large establishment and its a partner of a group of guesthouses in Sihanoukville.

* I can sincerely recommend this place to anyone who is price concious but still requires comfort and amenities.

Room Tip: a room with aircon is recommended. We had room #455
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicoboyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
1.2 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#14 of 74 in Sihanoukville
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#19 of 74 in Sihanoukville
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#16 of 74 in Sihanoukville
121 reviews
1.1 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
Serendipity Beach Resort
#27 of 74 in Sihanoukville
476 reviews
1.0 mi away
Motel 7
Motel 7
#38 of 74 in Sihanoukville
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GBT Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GBT Guesthouse

Property: GBT Guesthouse
Address: 14 Mithona Street | Ochheuteal Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GBT Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your GBT Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing