We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and tranquil”
Review of Don't tell Mama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Don't tell Mama
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My stay was relaxing and enjoyable altogether. The place is clean and well-maintained. With just a few meters of walking distance from the beach, it is centrally located but secluded. The owners are friendly and helpful. Overall a good place to recommend.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank Britt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 66 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked our place on hostelworld as we arrived at 6am and wanted to have somewhere to go. We arrived at the hotel before 7am, and let us check in straight away for no extra charge. We were very impressed and happy about that. We were paying about $15 a night, for a room with shared bathroom. It was an authentic bungalow, with thatched roof and bamboo walls. It was a couple of minutes walk to the beach as its right down the back of their block against the paved road. Unfortunately <and of no fault of the hotel> on our second night a really loud couple of guys checked into the room below us (I'm talking drunken shouting for a couple of hours at 2am), so we decided to move.

The bungalows at other places on the beach side of the road are the same price ($15), but you can't book them online, so it's a bit of a trade off.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 in the block of four rooms at the back. They aren't very sound proof and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Don't tell Mama & would very happily go back. On that basis I recommend it.

We were unsure what to expect. What we found were bungalows that were clean & comfortable but basic: cement floor with mats, fan (no aircon), separate bathroom with a toilet that flushed with a scoop rather than cistern.

Personally I would have preferred something more upmarket on the beach but having looked around, I think my ideal doesn't exist & Don't tell Mama may be the best option on Otres beach. Around half of the hotels/guesthouses play loud music at night - which rules them out for me. And (sadly) the places on the beach have zero privacy.

I would add that Otres beach is the pick of the beaches if you'd prefer to avoid tourists from the shallow end of the gene pool (not to mention beggars).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

we loved our stay at don't tell mama! it's like living in a cute, sandy bungalow village :). the bungalows have nice decor, are spacious and very clean. there is a lot of choice for breakfast (everything tastes great!) and ulla and her team are lovely people who really make you feel at home. it is second row to the beach, but this was perfect for us since you can also have an early night if you want to and don't have to listen to people at the restaurant talking or loud music.
beach is great, water is clean and warm. and there is also a wide variety of food which you can choose from for your dinner (try papa pippo, the italian place just opposite the hostel!!).
my sister and i definitely recommend it and we would go back any time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at Don't Tell Mama with a group of friends over new years. I shared a room in the back building against the road. During the evening my friend returned to the room to find a Cambodian guy in our bed, having broken in through the window. Luckily we were nearby and when he pushed her out of the way to escape he was chased off. We told the owners about this and they said "yeah, happened a number of times before. Just don't leave valuables in there." They were completely unfazed and uninterested, despite the obvious safety concerns for our valuables and ourselves. We pointed out that the lack of window (bits of bamboo nailed to thin planks of wood) made it easy for break-ins, they just nodded and ignored us. Eventually our complaints (following second attempted break-in of the room next door while our friend was in the room alone) resulted in some additional bits of bamboo on the window, but we could see night after night that the window was being pulled from its frame by people. No security guard and owners who just did not care about the safety of their guests. They then charged one of my friends for the full bill when she left, and charged her cousin a second time, knowing that she would not know about the first payment. I live in Cambodia and visit Otres frequently. I will never ever stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. If you must, DO NOT stay in the rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CKOReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed over Christmas so maybe prices were higher then - but we thought it was expensive for the rustic charms. The power was off most of the time we stayed and the generator was noisy when it was on - which spoiled the peaceful vibe.
Otres beach is a lovely beach and there are a plenty of beach bars - but it is a fairly long tuk tuk drive to serendipity.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tubbymctubbington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Dont Tell Mama and we had a good time. We had a fan-room in the back of the garden and it was very charming... There is not really a common area in the guesthouse, so it is not the best place to meet people. But on the other hand, there are a lot of bars out there where you can meet them... Unfortunately they were working on the street behind the property, but apart from that, it is a very quiet and relaxing place. And that is good, because i think it can be different in some other places at the beachside. We had a lovely time there. Good value for your money, friendly staff, good accomodation, no complaints... so i think that's all you need :-)

Room Tip: Make sure there are no roadworks going on, otherwise i would recommend a room in the beginning of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartdgbelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
3.5 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 75 in Sihanoukville
1,514 reviews
4.8 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 75 in Sihanoukville
658 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 75 in Sihanoukville
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#2 of 75 in Sihanoukville
731 reviews
3.6 mi away
Golden River Bungalows
Golden River Bungalows
#67 of 237 in Sihanoukville
134 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#23 of 75 in Sihanoukville
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don't tell Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don't tell Mama

Address: Otres Beach, Sihanoukville 2012, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $7 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don´t tell Mama is a new guesthouse, offering bungalows and rooms on the more relaxed Otres beach. We are situated 20 meters from the beach.We have built 4 spacious and comfortable bungalows with double bed and private bathroom. In the backside tower house we have designed four cosy rooms with double bed, shared bathroom and terrace or balcony.In our cafe you can enjoy a tasty breakfast and a range of snacks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing