We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nomads Land was Rad!”
Review of Nomads Land

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nomads Land
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had such a fantastic trip and really enjoyed our time on the island. The Bungalow was very clean and pretty and was a relaxing way to spend a few days.

Kevin & Charlene were so nice and friendly and really made our trip - helped us with everything we needed and cooked us some amazing meals.

If we ever return to Cambodia will definitely visit Nomads Land again!

Thanks - Amelia & David

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Amelia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 96 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

The 2 couples running the place are friendly.
The bungalows are clean, pretty and practical.
The pictures on the homepage are professional (the ones on tripadvisor are more what it looks like).
You do have to buy all the food of Nomads land as there is nowhere else one could get anything. The food prices are slightly expensive, but it is also delicious! There is a buffet every evening. This buffet consists of fish and side dishes. The sides are delicious, but if you don't like fish it is quite limiting. The owners do try to accomodate "no-fish" eaters by making larger side portions, but it will always be fish as main dish.
Our biggest downside was that even though the island looks really pretty we actually went there to swim. And swim you can't really. There are two beaches, one is stoney and very very difficult to get in the water. The other is right where the bungalows are, but there are sea urchins (massive ones at that) in the water. This means you can NOT walk into the water. You can only jump off the end of the pier and swim where the water is so deep that your feet do not touch the ground. This for us was a massiv downside.
We did stay a few days, even one longer that originally planned and did really like the relaxing side of it. But it was not what he hoped or came for due to the fact that it was impossible to stay in the water for prolonged periods of times (if you can't stand you don`t stay in the water that long).
We cannot say anything about the snorkeling.
If we had known about the sea urchins we would not have gone there. But once there (as it from Phnom Phen realistically takes a day each direction) made the best of the relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnieWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A fantastic place with best nice people! We came too times and we will return on december. Our son loved to learn his homeworks for school in front of a fanstastic sea view from the restaurant. Foods are amazing and so fresh. The sea, fish and submarine life are exceptional!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cendrine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We've been travelling there with our 3 year old son and it was amazing.
Peacful place, harmony with the nature, everything was perfect!
The food was very inspiring and they make sure that eveyone is happy!
Almost 3 weeks there and we wish we could stay longer!
We will go back for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

When we arrived at Nomads Land, my body relaxed, my mind came to rest and my soul felt at peace within minutes. The source of this is probably the combination of the wonderful hosts Karim and Ariane (their love truly shines through this experience, as somebody else already wrote!) and this exceptional beautiful place! I especially loved dinner - not only, because it was delicious - but also because everybody (hosts and guests) sat down at the same huge table, enjoyed the food, talked and laughed. I can also recommend the numerous hammocks, snorkeling, watching sunrises from the bed in "the fish in the sky"-Bungalow and cuddling with the cat.

Getting to Nomads Land is a little adventure, but worth every pothole (if you take a taxi/minivan and not the ferry)! Just be quick, before those Chinese people finish their cities on the mainland. This will ruin everything. Cause right now, Nomads Land is still one of those rare spots, which come as close to paradise as it can get!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This place is amazing! When my friend and I arrived at the island after having a quiet stressful trip it was magic how relaxed we suddenly got. It's like time is runnig more slow on that island and it's not easy to describe what the reason for that is so you can take it home and have this feeling everytime. Of course it would help to live on an island :) but it's more than that. Maybe all the animals (dogs, cats, chickens etc.), the hammocks and other furniture, the NO WIFI, the high attention for details, the music, the eco touch whereever you look at and so many more...
Ariane and Karim created such a nice and calm place and give you the feeling that you are not just a paying guest. The first dinner we had on the island was so cool. The food was brought in bowls and plates to the big table and everyone, no matter if guest or staff or owner, was sitting together and eating. I had the feeling to eat with friends so it was quiet confusing to stay at the table after dinner and not helping them to wash the dishes like you would do when you are at a friends place.
We stayed two nights at the fish in the sky and moved then for more two nights to hop bay now. Both bungalows were so individually and obviously made with love. It was clean and i really have to admit that i never had such good smelling bed sheets in asia before. So top for cleanliness!

To be honest I hate to recommend this place cause actually I don't want more people to go there, as usually nice places change so quick when they get popular. But this would be very selfish ;) So go there and enjoy this small heaven on earth with so lovely people like Ariane, Charlene, Karim and Kevin are! But keep in mind, leaving that is pretty hard...

one last thing: if you are a bad looser in games have a backgammon match with Kevin. You definitively be happy after that ;)

Room Tip: every bungalow is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoMad1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

this is really a nice place, very beautifull island for nature lovers, the bungalows are realy lovely, I stayed in the ''hob bay now'' and I had to move because I extended my stay to the ''far away'', wich is not that far away ;-)

the food was great, everything is home made, even tabasco (...!) and I had the best fish in my whole life, SERIOUSLY!!!

and I discovered yoga... thank you for that guys. They sayed that next season they'll have resident yoga teacher and reiki master. I'm coming back for sure.

the team is nice and very helfull, and it is true... Karim is the zen master :)))

see you soon guys


Levin

Room Tip: they are all very different bungalows and they all look nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Levin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sihanoukville
44.0 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 75 in Sihanoukville
500 reviews
39.4 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 75 in Sihanoukville
1,513 reviews
38.0 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 75 in Sihanoukville
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Song Saa Private Island
Song Saa Private Island
#1 of 3 in Koh Rong
432 reviews
21.6 mi away
Sok San Beach Resort
Sok San Beach Resort
#2 of 38 in Koh Rong
328 reviews
17.8 mi away
Lonely Beach Koh Rong
Lonely Beach Koh Rong
#1 of 44 in Koh Rong
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Land

Address: Koh Totang | Koh Sadach Archipelago, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unplug from the noisy world and escape to a deserted island. Recharge your mind, body and soul in the serene, untouched archipelago and natural reserve of Koh Totang, Cambodia. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing