We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious surprise”
Review of GST1 Restaurant

GST1 Restaurant
Ranked #231 of 349 Restaurants in Sihanoukville
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, Thai
Description: GST1 also has guest house Bungalows, Travel Agent for Buses etc
Restaurant details
Description: GST1 also has guest house Bungalows, Travel Agent for Buses etc
malmö,
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious surprise”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by a local while we were on Serendipity beach. We were really surprised by how authentic and delicious all the food we ordered. We loved it so much we have another round of orders. Prices were also really cheap $2-$4 at a healthy portion. Washroom was also clean.

The staff were really friendly and if I am ever back in Cambodia, this will be one to visit again..and again.. and again :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Affordable and clean accommodation at G.B.T.1”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have been to this establishment twice, last year and this October and stayed in a clean, A/C room with an additional fan for 12 days.

- we had room #455 and paid USD12./day and its recommended to other travellers which like a guesthouse near the beaches of Ochheuteal and Serendipity beaches.

- They also provide an Internet cafe ( free wi-fi at their Restaurant ), Massages on site, Bicycles, Motorbikes for rent, Taxi services incl. to Phnom Penh airport for USD50.-

- their Restaurant is a large but covered eatery and one can also sit next to the tuk tuk's and observe passers-by, etc.

- their offered food consists of Thai, Cambodian and International dishes at very reasonable prices.

Note> opposite is a small supermarket which stocks many foreign foods.

I can sincerely recommend this establishment to any budget canscious traveller.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chicoboyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Digoin, France
2 reviews
“Unique taste”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We got the chicken curry, which was good, a green bean dish, also good. The unique thing we had though was a dish which darn it, I forget the name. It was fish with some kind of pasty thing that came steamed in a banana leaf (it's one of the specialties there and it’s on the top of the menu). It was very unique!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tully S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“GBT1 new name, guesthouse filled with liars”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I did not have a problem with the rooms here. They were of good size, but the rooms smelled moldy and the fan was broken and would not oscillate, but I still didn't mind because the bed was comfortable. However, there are no lockers in the room or at reception. My biggest problem is that we booked an island tour through them and it rained the morning of the tour. 1.5 hours after we were set to leave, the manager told us that they rain had stopped and the boat was leaving in 10 minutes. We asked him if the tour would be the exact same as the itinerary he gave us previously, and he said yes, everything is the same. We took the trip but we did not get breakfast and we did not go to the third island. When we asked the manager for a 50% refund he refused because we took the tour. Our argument was that we took the tour based on his promise that it would be the same. He began talking about things that had nothing to do with our conversation as argument but still would not help us at all. He also charged us $4 more per room than he charged our friends staying there at the same. When we asked him about this as well he said that it's because we came at a different time than them (although we stayed 3 nights simultaneously). Also, he informed us that he was charging everyone else $30/night for the same rooms we were staying in so we better be happy! His attitude was horrible and no matter what we said, he continued to lie to us. It was really unfortunate.

On a side note, be careful doing the 3 island tour....there were about 50 people on our boat and at least 1/2 of them were vomiting EVERYWHERE! Not even off the side of the boat! Not for those with a weak stomach!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harjumaa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cherry on the cake”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I went to restaurant by accident. Usually I go better restaurants.
The restaurant food is very good and cheap. Reallocal dishes :) Tom yum soup is the best in Sihanouk! I recommend and I garantee you do not need to regret it!
Discovering this restaurant was a real trip cherry on the cake. Dishes such as in "The Deck" (Sokha Beach Resort) will remain below.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liisi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GST1 Restaurant also viewed

Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 

Been to GST1 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing