We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Serendipity Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 76 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great location- right next to the beach as well as many restaurants and bars. This hotel wasn't exactly a resort but had a nice pool- perfect for swimming laps. The rooms were nice- bathrooms were nice. Exactly what you would expect for what you paid. We had a view of the swimming pool however you can get rooms which face the water. All rooms have balconies which is a plus, some with ocean views. Wifi was good around the hotel however we hardly got any in our room which was at the end of the corridor. Overall, we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 482 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of February and really cannot fault the place, the staff were lovely, the room 355 Sea view was fantastic, we didn't really have any issues with the slight noise occasionally. $45.00 a night is a bargain, so much so we have emailed the hotel with a view to reserving a room for next year !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertieboy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

ATTITUDE:
When we arrived at about 6pm, tired from the 6 hours of travel, most of the staff was really nice but there was one lady checking us who was quite rude. She had a complete attitude problem as if we were burdening her with our questions about the wifi and breakfast.

POOLSIDE ROOM:
The poolside room was pretty awesome, but the balcony doors didn't seem secure. The safe was large enough to put a laptop in. It would probably be easy to break into the room from the outside but I think the staff keep a pretty good eye on who goes in and out of the hotel because of the prostitution problem in the area. One of the door locks was bent in a way that kept you from opening that door at all which left a gap between the balcony doors for bugs to get in. There is also really nothing preventing other guests from walking in front of your balcony which isn't really a problem but could be if the pool was crowded.
Also they only give you one key card so you are unable to venture out separately unless you leave the key at the front desk. NOTE: When you remove the card from the room's power slot the power goes off for the whole room including the refrigerator which means you cannot keep any food that will spoil in your fridge.
The breakfast buffet is $4, we didn't make use of this as there are so many other places to try. It is sad that it isn't included in the cost of the room which is on the higher end for the area.
The bathroom had the best shower encountered in Cambodia by far!!! Great water pressure, temperature with a rain shower head.
The bed is firm but comfortable and it actually had a blanket!!! Blankets are not common in a country where the average temperature is 35+ C, but when the AC is running all night it is nice to have covers to keep you warm. If you don't use AC you end up too hot and the AC control in Cambodia is not that great. It is either hot or COLD.
There is no poolside service which is a shame. You don't really want to have to get up from relaxing at the pool to fight tuk tuk accostitutes to walk to the mini-mart to buy drinks which end up getting hot after 10 minutes. It looks like at one time they entertained having a pool bar but it definitely has been a long time since it has been staffed or used.
The pool closes at 9pm so there isn't any noise from the pool after that point.


MOSQUITOES:
The room was very spacious and clean upon entering, but we spent half an hour running around each day/night trying to kill all the mosquitoes inhabiting our room. Having to sleep in deet every night is not nice, comfortable or healthy. The cleaning people leave the door open when cleaning and all the time you spent killing the bugs in the room is undone in 5 minutes because a new swarm of mosquitoes fly right in from the hallway. It is inevitable that you will encounter mosquitoes in Cambodia but it was a little excessive in the bottom floor room.

HALLWAY NOISE but RESTFUL NIGHT:
The hallway is really noisy even if people are having a conversation in a normal tone of voice, not to mention if there are rowdy men arguing or staff members who are screaming down the hall at each other. It is like an acoustic amplifier since it is a hallway made of stone floors with nothing to absorb the sound. Fortunately we didn't have a problem sleeping at night because people seem to be pretty polite about being quiet. There is a sign leading to the hallway that asks guests to be mindful of being quiet and it was not a problem at night but there were several guests during the day that were extremely loud.

PROSTITUTION:
It's a little strange seeing a sign in the lobby about reporting prostitution activity but when you step outside and walk along the beach side bars and restaurants you quickly see why. This beach side town is littered with very young, if not underage, prostitutes which is really sad.

TUK TUK:
Although the hotel is a quarter of a block from the beach you are accosted by tuk tuk drivers all the way from the hotel steps to the beach which doesn't make sense. Where are they going to drive you, into the ocean?
BTW, if you take the Giant Ibis bus the bus station is about 4-5 blocks from the hotel. Do NOT believe the drivers at the station that tell you it is 4km away. Make sure to map it out on the internet beforehand so that you are educated before they have the chance to scam you. It was $4 to the hotel which was a price we haggled down to...so if it isn't too hot and you don't have that much stuff then just walk which gives you a chance to see some of the restaurants available to you.

OUTDOOR NOISE:
Unfortunately the hotel next door was adding a new level to their hotel and there was the sound of electric saws on metal and concrete most of the day. Also the neighbors next door (business or apartment building, unsure) were extremely loud, shouting at each other and babies screaming at times. Although it had the potential to be a really relaxing space it seems as if the neighbors were determined to disturb the peace.


Honestly, a lot of these issues would have been overlooked if the first impression we got from the front desk lady was a little more hospitable. She honestly acted like she wanted to spit in our faces.
There were many other employees that were absolutely pleasant and actually very helpful but I just couldn't shake the loathsome look we were given upon arrival.

Room Tip: Get a poolside room. You may have a slight issue with mosquitoes in the morning or if you leave the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ktdbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We booked a delux sea view room and on arrival we were thrilled with the lovely room and great sea views , sadly we had to move rooms on the 2nd day due to noise from the beach bars. Our pool view room was of a similar standard if perhaps a little more well used. I would recommend this hotel but not the beach view rooms unless you are a party goer. The music didn't finish until 6am but in the pool rooms you didn't really get disturbed. Their is some building work which again was a bit of a pest but not enough to make us move hotels for this week. The staff and manager went out of their way to be helpfull and pleasant. Their are lots of nice bars and restaurants around the area and we loved to use the beach during the day . We never heard any other complaints about the noise so maybe it's just us. I have out poor for sleep quality but this only applied to one night and for location it's difficult to vote, ideal for the beach and others places but not for the noise

Room Tip: Book a pool room unless you are a very good sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1236Holidaysaregreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great value for money hotel. The rooms were nice, bathrooms were lovely and clean with good facilities. If you can request the 5th floor. We stayed here on two separate occasions within a week and booked the same room type. The first stay the room was exceptionally lovely and the 2nd stay it was still the same set up but everything was a bit older and not as nice. There is a great pool, and the staff are very helpful. I would just recommend clarifying the island you want to get the ferry to if you book through them though as we nearly got sent to the wrong island.

Room Tip: Higher floors are nicer, ask for the side near the pool it is quieter if you are on a lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayleeaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed there for three nights wish we had stayed longer. Great location lots of restaurants and bars. Hotel room was fantastic, unbelievable considering we payed $40/night. Front desk staff were ok bellhops great!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 555 sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ace0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hotel is close to the beach of Sihanoukville and to the pier for boat trips.
Our room and the bathroom were very wide.
The wrong thing was the noise coming from the beach until 4 or 5 in the morning.
If you don't care, this hotel is perfect for a 4 stars low budget holydays.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxofturin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
0.2 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#17 of 76 in Sihanoukville
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thaiyang Chhen Hotel
Thaiyang Chhen Hotel
#34 of 76 in Sihanoukville
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 76 in Sihanoukville
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#19 of 76 in Sihanoukville
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#15 of 76 in Sihanoukville
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Beach Resort

Address: 8 Serendipity Road, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $45 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Serendipity Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Serendipity Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity Beach Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing