We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sea views, large room and lovely bathroom/shower room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Serendipity Beach Resort
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Sihanoukville
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great sea views, large room and lovely bathroom/shower room!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here for a few days before Christmas and really loved our room. Great sea views, large room, HUGE bed and lovely bathroom/shower room with viewing window which can be closed if you don't want your partner to watch you in the showers and left open if you do :-). The beach is a stones throw away so we didn't use the pool at all. Lots of bars and places to eat close by and on the beach. we had a great time chilling, drinking and dancing on Serendipity beach! The wifi went down at one point and the hotel staff were very helpful and came to our room to look into it. I'd definitely recommend staying here especially if you want a bit of luxury whilst traveling through Cambodia.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissyChocChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    173
    99
    41
    50
See reviews for
44
225
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Just a very nice hotel with excellent prices (38us poolside or 45us seaside). Everything is brand new, it was a pleasure to stay here and it's a good location. There is a gym and you can safely park your hired motorbike at the front. Reception are helpful.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adz717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed at seredepity beach resort for 3 nights, opted for a sea view room on top floor for $45 per night,
Rooms were very good and clean, balcony view of sea,
Big sized pool was superb and good beds but only about 15.
There were rooms available for $38 with a pool view.
Most beach bars do a BBQ in the evening for $3 consists of one of fish, chicken, pork etc with salad, French fries/potato, decent value,
Also 4 tiger prawns for $ 7.50 were nice.
Anchor draft beer were $1 everywhere.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank iancooper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is a hotel that actually looks like a hotel where as some "hotels" in Cambodia are merely guesthouses or inns which were converted from a bungalow or house. I would rate this hotel as 'grand' due to the design and set up with a spacious lobby and front desk as well as a large pool behind. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly. They spoke decent English but sometimes it can be abit hard to communicate via phone in English (same situation with most hotel staffs in Cambodia). The staff helped organise a driver to take us down to Phnom Penh straight after our island tour in the evening.

Location-wise, it is situation in the heart of the night-life and tourist hub on Serendipity Beach. It is a short stroll to the many seafood eateries facing the sea. There are also some unique local arts and craft shops along the street. Most importantly, it is a 100 m walk to the pier where boats/cruises to the Sihanoukville Islands depart/arrive (e.g. Party Boat). This will save you a long walk/tuk-tuk fare.

One negative thing is that the restaurant does not provide complimentary breakfast in a non-existent restaurant. This is a minor issue as there are some really nice seafood restaurants close by.

Rooms were huge! We booked a deluxe twin room and had ample of space. Beds were unusually high (due to the bed frames and additional mattress I presume). Bathroom was the best during our Cambodian trip. It has a decent bath tub, electronically controlled blinds which opens to the view of the room (you can watch TV while soaking in the tub) and modern spacious shower area. They even provide beach towels which you can rent for a $30 deposit. This is good if you want to go on a day trip to the islands like what we did.

Room Tip: Pool-side rooms also face a hotel under construction. We see the occasional builder peering over to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMochaTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here for one night as a stopover before going to the islands. We were very surprised to see the size of the room (very big) and the bathroom was the best in all the hotels we stayed in in Cambodia.

- efficient staff
- very large pool
- great location for the beach, shops, restaurants and bar

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We visited Serendipity Beach Resort for a few days in mid-December 2013.
The room was above expectation. Beautifully arranged and furnished, with warm colours and lots of wood. The bathroom was definitely the nicest one that we had in Cambodia during these holidays. It was pretty new or well maintained, with a comfortable bath and all the facilities that one could expect from a hotel with 4 or more stars. There was only a small leakage in the shower, but that was hardly worth mentioning.

We chose a room with a seaside view. The stunning view proved to us that this was the right choice. At first we were afraid that we would get a lot of noise from people partying at the beach (we are people that prefer some quiet and that would not quickly join the partying ourselves), but in fact we could only really hear the music from the bars that were immediately below our hotel on our side and the noise was not loud enough to keep us from sleeping (all in all very decent, taken into account the proximity of these places).

I read before that others had suffered from noise caused by the contruction of a new hotel next door (pool side). In fact, the new hotel is still under construction, but during our visit we did not notice a lot of noise-creating activities. One day we had breakfast across the street and we could take our time to have a look at the progress that they had made so far with this new hotel and we figured that the work should almost be done (already woodwork inside, etc).

If I had to summarize our experience at Serendipity Beach Resort, I'd say we had a wonderful stay in a good and clean hotel, with a room that meets more than we expected. Definitely good value for money.
The only negative point that I would like to make, is that the hotel offers limited service with the breakfast that they serve. On our first morning, we decided that we would eat at the hotel (USD 4,-) if it looked good and that otherwise we would try eating across the street for USD 2,50. When arriving at breakfast, there seemed to be no buffet and hardly any guests eating at the hotel. We were presented 4 choices of breakfast (4 menus). One of them had pancakes with jam and there were several that had bread with eggs or something. When asked if bread with jam would also be possible, this appeared not to be the case and then we went to the place across the street.
We learned that not all places where breakfast is offered on the main street (and there is quite a lot of choice) know how to prepare non-Khmer food well, even though people try there best and serve you a lot for not too much money. One example is that I received bread without butter and when asked for butter received baking butter instead of the butter that you put on your bread.

One place for having breakfast that I want to mention here, though, is Reef Resort. This is a clean and cosy place, with very friendly staff. It is nicely decorated and offers truely a good atmosphere to take your time to eat something and relax. Above that, the food was tasty and more than up to standards (the 'western' things that I tend to eat, but the Khmer-food that my wife prefers as well). Excellent.
Reef Resort is also a hotel/hostel, but as I did not see the rooms or anything, and cannot say more about it as a place to stay overnight.

Another convenience when staying at Serendipity Beach Resort, that I almost forgot: across the street that is a small shop (connected to a hotel/restaurant, but with a separate entrance), that sells almost everything that you could be short of during a small holiday. There is also a laundry service that is not expensive (1 USD/kg, if I remember well).

We said to eachother that on a next visit to Kampong Som/Sihanoukville, we would choose the same hotel, the same room, but only we would want to stay a bit longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn_IJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is new, clean and spacious. There is no restaurant but there are so many places to eat nearby it is not a problem. It is close to the beach which means it is noisy outside at night and we'll into the next morning but this did not keep us awake.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sheilafor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.2 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#20 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#16 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
OC Boutique Hotel
OC Boutique Hotel
#27 of 72 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#18 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moon Julie Hotel
Moon Julie Hotel
#29 of 72 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Beach Resort

Property: Serendipity Beach Resort
Address: Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Serendipity Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity Beach Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing