We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely worthed every penny!”
Review of Mushroom Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mushroom Point
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“absolutely worthed every penny!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

rooms were decent size but bed was absolutely comfy. comes with a safe box which is quite a surprise for a beach hut sort. toilet is shared but really clean and well kept. the lady owner Ire is very friendly and always helpful.

there are outdoor egg chairs and beach beds for those planning on sunbathing and relaxing. beware of massage ladies trying to rip you off though. you shouldnt pay more that $5 for a full body or foot massage. i got a pedi, mani and foot massage for $10!

food on the menu can be more pricey than others nearby but what you pay for is really good quality. had the tuna sandwich for breakfast and it actually is a proper tuna fillet and not tuna mayonaise. bottle of champagne is just $17.50 so we binged on 4 bottles!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KillerAngel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    109
    38
    8
    7
See reviews for
12
102
68
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for new year great value considering there always hardly any room left on Otres beach.
Beds easy big enough to fit two people and very comfy.
Staff were very friendly.
Location ok towards the end of Otres.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPL1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant place, loved my stay here which ended being extended to two weeks over Christmas! Dorm room is amazing, huge round beds big enough for two. Bathrooms are clean as is the dorm, fresh sheets and towels everyday. Really chilled out, staff were fantastic, food is extremely tasty and fresh. Beach is a 5 second walk away, if you get the chance stay at mushroom I will defiantly be back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were in mushroom for four nights - it is very cute made, concept mushroom is a good idea, there are two mushroom - one at the beach, the other one not directly at beach, still very close though. sometimes a bit confusing as they are two seperate bars, two restaruants serving almost the same - still not belonging together. we enjoyed it very much there, food is really great, more expensive then elsewhere but super delicious. regarding information, trips etc. we wanted to stay 3 nights more, but they simply did not put any effort that we get a room. the last day a couple which stayed only one night there got then a bungalow instead of us. they seem not to be that in to it, as we had sometimes the feeling the staff is too tired or simply very (too) relaxed. more service orientation and they could sell much more! generally it was a nice place for a very chilled time, good concept and for sure on of the best in otres beach II (great music, food, relaxation pure)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mushroompoint, Owner at Mushroom Point, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hello peterie75,
Thank you for reviewing (and staying) at Mushroom Point, your feedback is always greatly appreciated and it’s nice to hear that you enjoyed your time at Mushroom Point. It is a shame you couldn’t stay longer with us as you had hoped. The Christmas period was an exceptionally busy time and the staff have been working very hard to try to accommodate all of our guests requirements, however due to the increased volume of travellers and holiday makers visiting the beach during the high season availability can indeed be a rarity & sometime difficult to secure accommodation anywhere on the entire beach. Through our experience it is more efficient to use a walk in/no reservation system for the accommodation located beach side but reservations can be made on the Mushroom Point side bungalows and dormitory for those who prefer to make advanced bookings. Delivering a high quality service and it is indeed very important to all of the Mushroom Point staff and we hope to see you visiting again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We were only there for one night, but it really was great. There was no false advertising so we got everything we expected. Staff were great, food was relatively cheap and tasty and would definitely go there gain. Otres beach is definitely much more enjoyable than any other main beach.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nothingwasfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

More of a place for groups than the solo traveler, most of the bungalows are built for multiple people.

The bar is fantastic--sand comes right up to the barstool. Lots of light, some of the best food on the beach, very clean, spacious bathrooms. Excellent beachfront with plenty of space & a variety of seating

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kyle k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Ok, so i came to mushroom point two weeks before the nicer weather.. I dont mind bugs, but i dont like sleeping with them. I had a rather pricey i bed mushroom. There was holes in the midgey net so i was up most of the night squating them. I was booked in for 5 nights, but ended up leaving earlier.. Absolute nightmare, having said that, i would imagine it would be alot better in hotter months?..the place was ok ish, nothing great. Some nice and friendly english staff, didnt go much on the owner, oh, and watch out when he tots up your bill.. Having read reviews before arriving saying the same, i made sure i knew exactly how much i owed beforehand, good job i did!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mushroompoint, Owner at Mushroom Point, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hi Caroline,
Thanks for your review. Staying at the end of rainy season in Cambodia can be testing if you are not used to bugs for sure and we would have had your mosquito net replaced immediately if you had found any holes in it, instead of you having to suffer in silence! In general, everyone has different personal experiences and expectations and we do our best to meet all of them- maybe the dryer months would be better suited to you next time if you visit Cambodia again. Your feedback is appreciated and it’s nice to hear you found the staff friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.5 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 74 in Sihanoukville
392 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
706 reviews
3.1 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 74 in Sihanoukville
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#7 of 74 in Sihanoukville
170 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 74 in Sihanoukville
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sahaa Beach Resort
Sahaa Beach Resort
#5 of 74 in Sihanoukville
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mushroom Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mushroom Point

Property: Mushroom Point
Address: Otres Beach | Port de Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have created our own world here in Mushroom point! With unique design of bungalows, water tower and big reception area with restaurant, bar and chill out area we gave to the place more personality and charm. We care for quality, we keep it clean and green. Food coming out of our kitchen is always fresh and tasty! WiFi is available all around the property. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Mushroom Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mushroom Point Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing