We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Otres Beach, not kidding.”
Review of Mushroom Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mushroom Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Folks - you'll never find a 3 stars spot on Otres Beach. It's a low-key, mini-paradise, off-the-beaten-path location where you'll savor the remoteness, quietness and raw. I'll tell you that Mushroom Point's the best to offer than any spots on Otres Beach - clean 'rondavell-shaped' bungalow with towels, best and price for price kitchen and smooth service. In fact, it won awards such as best accommodation voted by 1000000 hostelworld.com customers. I'm gonna shut up 'cuz I've said enough. :-)

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RyverSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 336 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

We arrived there for a couple of nights. Nice room, clean and good facilities in the room. The environment was great with the mushroom-like bungalows.
Maybe a bit pricey for what you get, but its a nice place to stay. More quite than other places around Sihanoukville.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My initial plan was just to stay here for 3 nights but now it has been more than a week and I am still here - doing work-exchange just because I am oh-so in love with this place!!!

It is just few steps away from the beach. One of the reason I chose Mushroom Points obviously because of its mushroom-ish design and the round bed. Sexy. Might be pretty pricey for a budget traveler like me but once in a while or if you like it very much, why not eh?!

Basically at first, I think I made a wrong choice to stay here because Otres Beach is none like Serendipity Beach. It is relatively quite, chill and too relax for party people like me but after spent 3 days here, especially on this awesome Mushroom Point whereby the owners and the staffs treated you like a family, I got the calmness vibes and I like it!

Well, going to town/Serendipity area is not a problem as lots of TukTuks and MotoTaxis around. The f&b provided might be a little bit pricey but actually it is just the same like any other restaurant or guesthouse everywhere around Sihanoukville. That's not the question. Is the price worth the taste and the portion? YES is the answer. They might serve you your food kindda slow but they were slow because they prepared everything fresh from scratch. Nothing ready-made. Even the French fries.

While no guesthouses or hostels clean up your space and made your bed every day, Mushroom Point does. They even provide (change) the towel everyday. This is the extra point of Mushroom Point.

The Chill-Out point where the guests hang out together pretty much a cool place to lazy-ing around. Lots of cushions, bolsters, hammocks, magazines, books for your comfy. Big LCD TV for you to watch movie of your choice, too! This area will be really busy at night although at low season.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AsianEDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Mushroom Point is an amazing oasis within an oasis. Great fresh food, wi-fi, music, movies, books, and friendly staff who clearly have a family closeness. Wandering across to Mushroom Point Beach makes it all the more enjoyable. The architect and interior designer of the buildings is a genius.

The only thing that marred my stay was that the grievances of the staff were aired in a very public manner. More than once I witnessed a staff member yelling at local (Cambodian) staff. Aside from this being unpleasant, it is also not in keeping with Cambodian culture and I would imagine the staff felt they lost face, as well as feeling bad that the yelling staff member also lost face. Arguments between the foreign staff were also aired publicly with seemingly little regard for the customers sitting just a few feet away.

At other times we were made to feel uncomfortable by being the cause of someone else getting in trouble - instead of discussing the matter in private, staff and management at times reprimanded others right in front of us. For some, the rules seemed unclear and, in my mind, the rules of the guesthouse seemed to change based on who was in charge that day. It led to a couple of awkward moments between me, my friends, and the staff.

Also, it was raining a lot when I was there and no blankets were offered for the beds to supplement the single sheet. True, I didn't ask for one either! But perhaps this is a tip for MP to keep in mind in the future.

All in all I would stay at Mushroom Point again...if they'd have me after this review!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoovesonthehorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I spent some time hanging out at both Mushroom Points the other day. Both of them are at Otres Beach. One's on the beach and the other is just across the road. My personal preference is for the one that's not on the beach because I love its garden setting. You can always wander across the road and hang out at the beach when you feel like it, but since I can do that any time, it's no novelty to me. Since you can have the best of both worlds in a unique setting at Mushroom Point, I give it 4 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobSfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

What a little gem! Huts shaped like mushrooms! Not only is this place quirky but also fantastic too! There are two locations - one next to the beach, the other nottoo far away. The food is great here and value for money. Location wise is a matter of preference. We were looking for a place secluded and got it. Its just a grand place to chill out after the city life. Highly recommended especially for large groups. Chill out lounge is ace. Love this place!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason-ho-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

What a nice surprise: the owner of the mushroom point really put some effort into these two locations (opposite of each other). They are very comfortable and clean places to hang out and the personnel is super friendly. The food is very nice too. Perfect for a couple of days of relaxing!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.4 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 76 in Sihanoukville
419 reviews
4.7 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 76 in Sihanoukville
666 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 76 in Sihanoukville
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 76 in Sihanoukville
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otres Lodge
Otres Lodge
#4 of 151 in Sihanoukville
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pat Pat Guesthouse
Pat Pat Guesthouse
#8 of 237 in Sihanoukville
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mushroom Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mushroom Point

Address: Otres Beach | Port de Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 151 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $18 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Otres, 1.5 km far from Sihanoukville, MUSHROOM POINT & BEACH features free WiFi access and parking. MUSHROOM BEACH is situated directly on the sandy beach, some of the bungalows have shared bathrooms, there is a very good restaurant and bar, sun beds, massage and WiFi all over the place. MUSHROOM POINT is situated inland, 70m far from the BEACH, the bungalows here are all garden view and have private bathrooms, some of the bungalows have private sitting area as well. IMPORTANT: MUSHROOM POINT & BEACH was designed and built by an artist therefore the atmosphere of the reception, bar, rooms and common sitting areas is fantastic, the whole structure is ecologic but this also means that our bungalows are not completely sealed. We don`t have AC or TV. If luxury is what you are looking for maybe this is not the right place. We have tropical trees in the garden, coconut palm trees on the beach, good vibes, friendly staff…. Come & Share ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mushroom Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mushroom Point Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing