We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, but don't expect to get any rest.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mushroom Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mushroom Point
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place, but don't expect to get any rest.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Mushroom Point GuestHouse, on the beach (this is the new part of the guesthouse, the old part with dorms and some bungalows is in the main street, very close by). It is a very nice place, the design of the bungalows is very funky, and the mushroom theme works well. The owners are really nice people, very friendly and laid-back. They clean the room every day. They have an excellent restaurant in the main "Mushroom Point" location, which we highly recommend. The bar by the beach is also very nice. However, it must be said we didn't have a comfortable stay.

The interior of the bungalows is not very well designed. The bed is on the floor, with a semi-moon design, with an uncomfortable mattress, covered by a mosquito net the whole time which means you cannot sit or relax on the bed. First because you have to kneel down and it's very annoying. Secondly, there is not a chair or a stool to sit down, so you have to do it on the floor. For us the worse was the heat. There is a fan on top of the "mushroom roof", but it is very badly positioned because the air doesn't reach the bed. It was the wet season, we cannot think how someone can sleep in there during the dry season. It should be positioned in front of the bed, it would make a huge difference. We couldn't rest at all. There is a "mushroom lamp" next to the bed, but you cannot switch it off because of the mosquito net, meaning you have to lift it up to do it and leaving enough time and space for the mosquitos to come in. There were 3 "mushroom bathrooms" for 5 bungalows, which is not bad, but when you pay $22 per night in Cambodia, you expect to have your own one.

Unfortunately, the Mushroom Point doesn't quite live up to its billing. After 3 nights there, we simply didn't feel rested, as the bungalow was so uncomfortable. With a few changes to the design, this could be an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hernallini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    107
    38
    8
    6
See reviews for
12
99
66
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed in a double mushroom on the beach (same company I think)for 2 nights. Fell asleep to the sound of the waves.Gorgeous swim in the sea. We paid $20 a night as we stayed during a quite time and more than 1 night. Room has a fan and mosquito net. Our room was swept, beds made and towels changed daily. The toilet facilities are in the middle of the cluster of mushrooms. The beach bar is really atmospheric with good but calm trendy music. We ate at the other mushroom point quite a bit and I must saw that they've the best breadrolls I've ever had. Still dreaming of them now! They also helped organise buses, moto's and our trip to the island of Ko ta Kiev (stayed at Ten 103 treehouse for 1 night). Do not pay more than $4-6 to get out to Otres during the day. Those bus station tuk-tuks will rip you off. $10 I think not! Very impressed with Mushroom Point :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry_gal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

This place is cool. The staff are great and the guy who runs the place is really nice. The bunglows are amazing. The bathrooms are outside your little mushroom house and obversely it's sandy.
They have a safety box in your room and you can put stuff behind the bar if you're really worried because, even though you have a lock on your room if someone really wanted to they could get in. But, I think with most places it's like that really.
You go to Otres beach because you want the experience and you get it here. The Bar on the beach is so nice. They have good music playing not pumping out the latest pop junk which was a winner for us.
We loved this place. Only stayed for one day because we had to make our way to the next place. We found it hard to leave this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rochele d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

This place was so good - I ended up staying 10 days. The staff are encredible, and the atmosphere is amazing. If you choose a dorm, it is very simple - but everything else here makes it worth it. The bungalows are so charming, and the food is really really good and cheap. The beach bar it just an extra bonus to this place, and you should deffenitly make sure you have plenty of time to hang out here. I dont have a single bad thing to say about beautifull Mushroom Point!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enilorac189541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Room are simple but original with a round pleasant bed. Bedroom look like big mushroom and you have a smaller one for toilet/bathroom(same place for both). Be aware that intimacy is not the best there as the rooms are close and not isolated. We enjoyed the peacefull bar with hamocks and good fresh cocktails :-)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamyTaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Great fun place to stay. Really interesting design and friendly managers. Otres beach isn't the best beach in SEA or even Cambodia for that matter but Mushroom Point is the best place to stay at Otres

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

This Hostel is unique. You can see there is much passion in the design of the hostel. The mushrooms are so lovely and beautiful. The restaurnat is good and the staff is friendly. On of our best stays during our 4,5 weeks trip

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Da Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Sahaa Beach Resort
Sahaa Beach Resort
#4 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
3.2 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#5 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#7 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#3 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mushroom Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mushroom Point

Property: Mushroom Point
Address: Otres Beach | Port de Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have created our own world here in Mushroom point! With unique design of bungalows, water tower and big reception area with restaurant, bar and chill out area we gave to the place more personality and charm. We care for quality, we keep it clean and green. Food coming out of our kitchen is always fresh and tasty! WiFi is available all around the property. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mushroom Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mushroom Point Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing