We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive ,breakfast very bad”
Review of White Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Beach Hotel
Ranked #153 of 234 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expensive ,breakfast very bad”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

this hotel is very inconvinient cross the road to go to the beach,Far too expensive .aircondition does not work properly,.windows are terrible coz is tinted look like not enough light in the room so I have to leave the window open.It is very noisy in the morning coz all the locals that stayed in this hotel are running on the steps and screaming rushing to go and have the breakfast.

the breakfast is buffet but mostly are serve with very little choice coz mostly are not a western breakfast,No choice on the way the egg will be cook.Service in breakfast is very very poor it takes ages before they refill coffes and other food tray that are empty and finish.

For the price to pay I will not definitely recommend this hotel to any one to stay.Advertise in their webite about the free wifi in all rooms but DOES NOT really work NO SIGNAL they do not maintain.We complain but staff don't want to know.

Room Tip: Very inconvinient,noisy not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    34
    34
    19
    12
See reviews for
17
42
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

First things first: This hotel is located in the quiet (mostly Cambodian-orientated) "middle section" of Ochheuteal Beach. It is about 800 metres to the Westernised bar-and-restaurant area of Serendipity Beach. Check the map before you book, so that you understand the hotel's location. A motorbike driver will take you up there for less than $1, or maybe you can walk along the beach path and see Cambodian families enjoying themselves at the beach.

For $US30-35 a night, I thought this hotel was more than adequate. It was clean, had a comfortable bed, a Western style shower with reliable hot water, daily room service, free wi-fi, an elevator, pool (didn't use it), a breakfast (very, very simple though) and is directly across the road from the beach. What more do people want at this price-point?!

I booked a double room (which ended up being a twin-room) with balcony. However, the balcony wasn't a private one; it was a large open space which was accessible by 2-3 different rooms. I wouldn't bother getting a balcony room next time.

Spent most of my days at Otres Beach, which is much nicer than Ochheuteal/Serendipity beaches, but doesn't have the accommodation choices offered by the latter.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Made_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our stay here was terrible, very noisy rooms, dirty, breakfast was rely poor, no milk, no cerial, no nothing. Table was smelly and dirty, staff was unfriendly. I don't know how you can call that hotel, day before we stay in gest house and there was much, much better service and standard. If you looking for family or even normal relaxing stay I strongly recommend to avoid this gest house and go to proper hotel near by call serendipity beach resort -this is standard you looking for. Avoid this gest house please.

Room Tip: No good rooms in this guest house all of them loud, dirty etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomaszrola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sihanoukville hotels

los angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is the 5th place we have stayed in Sihanoukville. It is relatively new. It has a small swimming pool, water looks dirty or perhaps overchlorinated, as many pools are here. Breakfast was good, omelette station, etc. Rooms were nice. A/C worked, and was quiet, very rare in Sihanoukville.Good location; Very close to beach, restaurants, bars. We do not go to the local beach, so proximity to Ochenteul beach did nothing for us The major downside was the constant stench of cigarette smoke. In the lobby, in the hallways, breakfast room, elevator, and especially in our bathroom. Deodorizer/room freshener by the cleaning staff only temporarily got rid of the odor. It was back a few hours later. I would give it a better rating were it not for the cig. smoke.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonlebassac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The White Beach Hotel is barely adequate if you are looking for just a basic, no frills room. Upon check-in, I was given a room on the 4th floor but was told this would be for one day only as the room was directly across from the breakfast area (noisy) and the elevator was out. The next day I inquired about my new room and was told "so sorry, no change." The hotel advertises free wifi, however this did not work in the rooms and barely in the lobby. The pool is no more than a wade pool and the hotel refused to give extra towels. During my stay the electricity kept going out, the free breakfast continually ran out of food and or seats and the electricity to the room was completely shut off every time you to the key and left the room. This meant returning to a hot room after climbing five flights of stairs. Although the beach is just across the street, this part of the beach was very crowded, very dirty and you are constantly hassled to buy something.

Room Tip: I would recommend visiting Sokha Beach. By far the nicest and cleanest. It will cost you $10 for a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The hotel was about expected for the price we paid. Breakfast was lovely and the 4th floor dinning is a real highlight. With the beach 100 meters over the road it's perfect for an early morning swim. The atmosphere was friendly, communications were easy and we booked ourselves from Australia. A great position to stay for a family visit to sihnoukeville: we will stay there again next time. Staff made great and quick arrangements when we found we had messed our dates and transfer back to Phnom Penh. Couldn't have received better service anywhere. When the power failed in the town we were moved to rooms with power and charged a lower rate for the night, before we had even worked out there was a problem. Very happy at White Beach

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TyleyLovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This “hotel” is more like a guesthouse and do not deserve their 3 star-rating. Firstly and most importantly, their service was terrible. We went for breakfast and the waiter was rude. He told his manager that we were overeating, though it was supposed to be free flow. And to be precise, each member of our family only ate one portion. To make things worse, the manager told him to cut down on the amount of egg used to make our french toast. Unfortunately for them, we can understand their language. This surely spoilt our holiday.
Secondly, we were told that there was a pool. But upon arrival, it was under construction.
Thirdly, they have doors that cannot be opened and closed easily. Our stay at White Beach Hotel was overall, terrible.
Lastly, the water and “juice” that they served with the breakfast had a pungent smell and a strange taste.
The only plus points to me are the size of their twin beds(it was big) and their food was good.

Room Tip: nothing much i can say because i won't recommend booking a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose10022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.2 mi away
Bao Mai Resort
Bao Mai Resort
#33 of 74 in Sihanoukville
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#21 of 74 in Sihanoukville
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moon Julie Hotel
Moon Julie Hotel
#32 of 74 in Sihanoukville
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jasmine Hotel
Jasmine Hotel
#61 of 74 in Sihanoukville
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ropanha Boutique Hotel
Ropanha Boutique Hotel
#31 of 234 in Sihanoukville
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
French Garden Resort
French Garden Resort
#6 of 234 in Sihanoukville
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Beach Hotel

Property: White Beach Hotel
Address: 414 St 14 Mithona | Village 4, Sangkat 4, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing