We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unprofessional!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Tours Day Trips - CLOSED

Sun Tours Day Trips
Attraction details
Gex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unprofessional!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

My husband, 14 year old daughter and I boked an island tour with Robert on 1 January 2012. Unfortunately we never got on the boat as the tuk tuk driver of the company who was supposed to pick us up and bring us to the boat, went to pick up 2 additional travelers who were late and got the 5 of us in a terrible tuk tuk accident on the way. He was too stressed to get there on time!!! We managed to survive the big shock and terrible injuries and did not file a case against the driver nor the company. Robert never even bothered to call our hotel to see how we are and apologize. Completely unprofessional behaviour and getting people's life in danger. I do not recommend this company to anyone!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Georgia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    20
    12
    5
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If you only do one trip while you're here then this should be it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We went with Sun Tours for a snorkelling trip.
The owner is a great character, all the crew couldn't do enough to make it a great day for all onboard.
We visited one of the most beautiful beaches in the world for a couple of hours before the return trip.

On the way back we had a few cocktails as they cranked up the music and it ended up being one of the best days we have had for ages.

I thoroughly recommend this day trip without a doubt.

Than you all on board for a fun filled memorable day.
Well done

Helpful?
Thank Always0nthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big fun on and off the boat!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We took a day trip on the Suntour boat and just had an absolute great time. The white sand beaches at Koh Rong Samloem are really quite amazing and you can just chill out in the clear blue shallows leading up to the beach. The snorkeling stop was so-so. But, If you're really into snorkeling, that's not what this trip is about. The two hour return trip back to Sihanoukville was quite entertaining with the owners and crew pumping the music, sharing the love (drinks) and joining in with the guests for singing and dancing. I'd say a good time was had by all.

It's a little bit eco tour, a little bit beach bumming and a little bit booze cruise. But it's a good jack of all trades and everyone seemed to have a great time. Highly recommended if you like any of the above.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem reap
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“That boat is unsuitable for open sea travel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Mr. Robert's boat has been built in Vietnam for navigation on the quiet waters of the Mekhong river.
Bringing tourists around choppy seas around Sihanoukville with such boat is dangerous, it can capsize due to strong winds or high waves.
That is why sometimes they have to change plans and instead to bring tourists on Koh Rong Samleum they carry them to the safest waters of nearby Koh Russei ( Bamboo Island) and Koh Ta Kiew.
The boat has no inflatable emergency rafts.
Overall the service is not bad, and Robert ( the owner) is a great host. Food is served and the boat is well-equipped and staffed.
What is annoying is their strenuous marketing effort, which is actually harassing sun-bathers on the beach and leaving their brochures everywhere.
I found some of them on a reef, while on a diving trip.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
12 Thank NagaraVatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome day out, great value for money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

My partner and I went out on this trip and we loved it. We were originally going to book another tour through our hotel but we were talked into this one for an extra $10 per person and we were glad we chose this one instead. First we went snorkeling around an island for about 1 hour. We were then served lunch which was a variety of different dishes including noodles, fried rice, different types of stri fry, a fish dish and garlic bread, followed by fresh fruit. We then made our way to another island with a beautiful white sandy beach, it was heaven! The water was was amazing!! We had the option to go on a river walk with a guide who pointed out lots of different types of plants and gave us lots of interesting information. On the way home the owner put on some great music to get everyone in the mood after a fun day. My partner and I had a few beers and the owner ended up giving us a round for free. I think $25 per person is exceptional value for a fun day out on a boat with all equipment and lunch included. A GREAT DAY!

Helpful?
1 Thank b3cca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Tours Day Trips also viewed

Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Koh Rong, Koh Kong Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing