We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pushpa always makes my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clearwater Guest House
Ranked #19 of 234 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pushpa always makes my stay”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

AMAZING!
She is kind and hospitable and always makes me feel at home when I stay there. We went last year and happily signed up to go again this year to stay. After going into town and realizing how noisy it can be, its such a treat to come to such a quiet retreat and just rest with my family. I really like the chill vibe of Independence Beach after going to other places.

Clearwater isn't the fanciest four star hotel, but if you're looking for hospitality, a short walk to the beach, and clean rooms, it really is great value for your money.

Thanks Pushpa! we will see you next year!

Room Tip: I think if I was a couple I would get the rooms upstairs next the large balcony. they are quite nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanDance2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    29
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
11
97
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Immediately, upon being welcomed by Pushpa and her family we felt like one of them. We stayed for five weeks and cannot recommend ClearWater Guesthouse highly enough.

The attractive building is away from the tourist area, surrounded by fields (maybe take a torch) and just a ten minute walk from Independence Beach. The rooms are a good size, immaculately clean, the beds are comfortable and the bathroom has plenty of hot water, a pump ensures a good flow. Breakfast is a casual affair with fresh filter coffee or tea, fruit juice, eggs and fruit. sometimes 'mum' makes yogart which is a treat.

Clearwater Guest house is in a quiet area, away from the hectic Serendipity beach although a tuktuk ride costs just 6$ return if you fancy a change, where there are many restaurants to choose from and even a little cinema. We often ate at the local beach though, 6 or 7 restaurants to choose from - we loved 'the little restaurant' and 'Seenas'.

the wifi is excellent.

Nothing is too much trouble for these lovely hosts. We will stay with them again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We spent 7 nights at Clearwater on the recommendation of a friend and loved every minute of it. Pushpa along with her mum and dad greeted us on arrival with a cool drink, Pushpa showed us to the room, which was spotlessly clean, nice and bright with fluffy towels fanned out on the bed. The bathroom was nice, bright and clean, with a good power shower and loads of hot water.
Breakfast is served up to 10.00 am which is nice should you want an extra hour or two in bed and consists of tea, coffee, eggs and toast and marmalade. You can sit outside or on really hot days, inside in the large airy dining, lounge area.
During our stay, Push's partner Simon arrived from the UK and again was most welcoming. They both gave us lots of tips and advice which was great as it was our first time in Cambodia. The area is quiet, which suited us and the beach is a 10 minute walk away, along a couple of quiet lanes.Adjacent to the beach are several shacks that provide really great food (Sina's is our favourite) and stay open until late. Take a torch as it is pretty dark on the way back or take a Tuktuk into town if you want some noise and a burger.
Clearwater is a real home from home, comfy beds, good AC, Wifi, comfortable communal areas (inside and out) and brilliant hosts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank El_TelSomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Pushpa, her mum and dad have done a wonderful job in making this a home from home guesthouse. It is certainly the most welcoming guesthouse I have ever stayed in and the bonus for me, as a lone traveller, is that she introduces new guests to existing ones. I arrived over the Chinese New Year and Push offered me the more expensive room at the cheaper price until such time as the cheaper became available.....most places charge you the higher price then move you.

The rooms are worth the asking price and have a fridge, aircon and super power shower. Communal areas are well maintained and promote the relaxed atmosphere that people who come to this area seek.

Breakfast was good, especially the scrambled eggs.

The area is very quiet but for me that was the appeal. There are bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. (If you want rowdy, drunk louts, over priced food and constant hassle from beach sellers go to Serendipity)

I thoroughly enjoyed my time here and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SMP999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Bright, airy, spacious and spotlessly clean. Also the best and most reliable wifi connection in Asia so far. After these words you will understand that we too have joined the ever-growing fan club of Clearwater Guest House.
From the second we arrived Pushpa and her parents did their utmost to make us feel comfortable and welcome. Nothing was too much trouble, whether it was special dietary requests, extra bedding or a bit of first aid. To cap it all they also prepared a delicious Indian meal for all the guests on our last night there. Pushpa also happens to be a mine of local information as regards the best shops, beaches, restaurants etc. besides which she made sure we always got a fair deal with the tuk tuk drivers to and from the guest house.

Hopefully you will be the next to discover the excellent hospitality that this place provides :-)

Room Tip: Room 3 was an excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krillou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in January 2013 at Clearwater Guesthouse. Pushpa and her parents are nice and really helpful. At Clearwater, act as you were at home (dixit Pushpa), you could get beverages in the fridge, seat on the sofa and watch TV at anytime, get in and out of this big beautiful house with your own set of keys... Rooms (base on #5) are big and clean. Breakfast is fine (either the best or worst that we had in Cambodia). This is 5min walk-distance away from Independence Beach, which is for us the best beach in Siahnouk with Otres beach (since Ochheuteal & Serendipity are noisy and crowded).

However, it is far away from downtown, and without motorcycle, we had to take a tuktuk every day to get to Golden Lions (where you will find restaurants, laundry, etc...). Add 6$ (return trip fee) per day to the room price. Note that, we had trips to Koh Rong and Koh Rong and none of both compagnies (Diving Center & Rith Mony) had pick up at Independence beach, so we had to get at meeting point by our own means. Anyway, this disadvantage has an advantage : the guesthouse is really quiet and calm, and we enjoyed this a lot.

We got our stuff stolen (with guesthouse keys), and Pushpa help us to get through all police process. She also paied all fees due to this theft without asking us to do so. She really were understanding and helpful to us in this hard time.

Despite what we had been through during our stay at Sihanouk we enjoyed stayed at Clearwater Guesthouse which offers an excellent service with lovely people, even if it a litle far away from downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kekrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwaterguesthouse, Owner at Clearwater Guest House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. However, it is important to stress that this theft took place away from the guest house, while you were out for the day and we would always help anyone returning to the property in great distress. We were happy to pay for the locks to be changed to protect yourselves and other guests, as your room keys and our business card, were in your bag. We hope that you will not let this insident, put you of returning to Cambodia and we can once again welcome you to Clearwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was the first time I have visited Sihanoukville so we chose to stay at Clearwater after it was recomended to us by a friend. Booking was really easy by email and I asked for a taxi to be arranged to collect us from the airport. We originally only intended to stay two nights but loved the guest house so much we stayed for the full two weeks. The hostess and her family were so welcoming and accomodating I was relieved to have someone to turn to for local advise and knowledge. There is a selection of rooms to chose from and everything was kept spotless.The surrounding gates are padlocked at night providing extra security as well as locked boxes and wardrobes in each room. Would definately recomend staying here, although the guest house it located near Independance Beach which is away from the main strip of beach and bars it is only a 5 or 10 minute drive. This was actually preferable to me as the beach was cleaner and quieter and we used the same tuk tuk driver throughout our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vicky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.3 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 74 in Sihanoukville
1,481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 74 in Sihanoukville
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#17 of 74 in Sihanoukville
118 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 74 in Sihanoukville
473 reviews
5.1 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#7 of 74 in Sihanoukville
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Guest House

Property: Clearwater Guest House
Address: 1 Off 19 Mithona St, Group | Village 1, Sangkat 3, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clearwater Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearwater Guesthouse is a family run Guesthouse with 7 well-appointed Double En-suite bedrooms maintained and managed to European standards.As your Hosts, (both English), we aim to provide all our guests with simple, clean and comfortable accommodation, so you may relax and have a pleasurable experience visiting Cambodia. Our house is set in a lovely peaceful location, with open countryside all around, very close to Independence beach between the 5 star resorts of The Independence Hotel and Holiday Palace Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clearwater Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing